Boredom

5 23
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

"There are no uninteresting things, only uninterested people"

G.K. Chesterton

One of the most common yet least understood emotions is probably boredom. It is simple to identify examples of how boredom can result in other bad emotional states that frequently have unfavourable effects, but is this always the case? Could boredom have less visible effects as well?

A distinctive emotional condition is boredom. It's the feeling of being unsatisfied with the world and having no interest in the available activities, whether they be at work, in a book, or in a video game. And it's unsettling.

It's a sign that, for whatever reason, what we're doing right now isn't gratifying. It might not be engaging or feel pointless for some other reason, and that restless, unfocused feeling is our brain's way of telling us to look for new activities to satisfy that unmet need. Boredom is linked to risky behaviours including drug and alcohol usage, as well as cutting oneself.

Boredom will surface no matter how many things you schedule. There is still meaning and satisfaction to be found even if you can't see your friends and family right away, according to researchers, so take a deep breath. Instead of being frustrated or using that boredom as an excuse to justify reckless behaviour, researchers advise paying attention, identifying the reasons behind your brain's dissatisfaction, and using that information to guide your choices.

Here are some reasons why and instructions on how to properly use boredom to your advantage.

  • Being bored can foster creativity and problem-solving by allowing for daydreaming and mind wandering. You must enter your mind because there is no other way to obtain that stimulation. You might be surprised by the ideas that emerge from this process.

The benefits of boredom for mental health

  • Daydreaming can offer a temporary respite from daily life and be "quite a respite." But taking a break from computers, work, and other pressures for just long enough to become bored has its own benefits. Studies have shown, for instance, that social media, dating apps, and work emails may all affect mental health, so taking a break can be a great chance to recharge.

Paradoxically, our cultural dependence on our phones is both eradicating our capacity for boredom and preventing us from ever experiencing true entertainment.

While we are attempting to swipe and scroll away our boredom, we are actually making ourselves more prone to it since, every time we take out our phones, we are preventing our minds from wandering and finding solutions to our own boredom issues.

I have been bored lately this evening because I have things I am supposed to have done of not because I'm just recovering. It pisses me off till now because that's one of the things that makes me feel better, but here I am indoors all day eating and watching movies. I don't just want this boredom to get to me again though I know I will be fine. I'll definitely start with something to fight it tomorrow.

Thank you for reading.

@Gianna-B

Lead image taken from pixabay

3
$ 0.02
$ 0.02 from @Princessbusayo
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

I wanna experience this boredom again though cause I don't have time anymore to be bored.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

When I'm bored what I wanted to do is sleep eheheehh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Boredom always drive me crazy! After having daydreaming I get bored again hahahaha

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Boredom can cause a lot of things on the bad side for us if we continue to allow it but most times, I allow myself into daydreaming and the world of imagination and before I know it, I am inspired but this definitely doesn´t happen all the time. I mostly switch to watching movies, playing music or sleeping if possible.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's a perfect way to get rid of it my princess

$ 0.00
1 year ago