A weekend well spent

2 16
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Hmmm! That was my exclamation of happiness when I stepped foot at my aunt's house. She has been expecting me and my cousin sis for a long time now but we haven't been making it up to her. Finally, on Friday evening, we visited as a surprise. She was so happy to see us as she embraced both of us together. I was like wow! How could she embrace two in one hug, could it be because we were slimmer and smaller in size? Maybe. She spread her arms and gave us a hug from her heart and we were so happy to be welcomed in such a way.

Cousin sis and I were to spend the weekend with her, she was super excited to hear that from us but questioned us about not informing her before coming. "We are here already and that is what matters" this was our answer. Auntie needed company because her husband travelled overseas for business last month. Her eldest child is just four years old and not older enough to help with house chores. Out of happiness, she hurriedly went into the kitchen to make some food for us. We weren't hungry though but it is like a tradition here not to reject food in times like this. We quickly joined her in the kitchen and in less than an hour, we were done cooking.

"Aw! So fast it is to have a helping hand(s) in the kitchen. I would cook alone for two to three hours every day. The kids disturb and distract my cooking most of the time, I can't believe it is possible to make food this fast after a long time" she said in surprise with her hands by the sides of her waist.

My cousin and I were laughing as she spoke but we understood her point. We know how stuffy it becomes when your kids are small and you have to cook everyday. Sometimes, it is really not easy for married women especially when they have kids and the husband is not around to help her with some little work. Now I understand fully her reason for inviting us for a long time.

Immediately after dinner, we heard a baby cry inside one of the rooms, it was my little angel who has been sleeping for a long time. She finally woke up with a cry that called the attention of everyone in the house. Cousin sis rushed straight away to get her from her cradle as she continued to cry, looking so tender and beautiful with her teething. I was so happy to see her for the third time since her birth. The last time I came around was with my mom. We came with some baby gifts and food. That day her dad was around and was so happy to welcome us. They prepared a delicious meal for us and we ate to our fill.

Now I am back with my cousin sister to see her teething for the first time. Congratulations to her! Our olde tradition says that a child's first teething is celebrated by the first person that saw it. Well, we weren't the first to see it, so we are not to officially celebrate that but would contribute any little thing in support of that. What an old tradition!

I have also heard that teething comes with a series of baby illnesses that vary among them. Some cause fever and high temperature while some cause dysentery symptoms. I don't know how true this is but I keep hearing it from adults and mothers. I quickly asked her mother; my aunt if she has done anything to prevent my little angel from suffering any teething illness which she said they are still visiting the doctor. Nice of them.

My little angel is so friendly and looks like her momma, unlike some kids that don't allow anyone except their mother to carry them, my little girl spreads her tender arms to everyone around her. That to me is a sign of gentleness. She doesn't even disturb so much or cry a lot and I love the fact that she feeds so well. We were so happy to see her and her little elder brother.

We spent the whole night gisting and talking about ourselves. After dinner, she noticed that my cousin and I didn't finish the food she served and was curious about it. She asked to know why but I told her that we already had our fill and she was like "nooo! Eat dear. You both have to finish this food, you have to eat so that you'll grow fat. Can't you see how slim you guys look? I know it is as a result of not eating enough food"

Here comes a general notion in my town. This is especially the women in my town, they have this believe that when a lady gets married, she should be growing fat as a sign that she's feeling and living well with her husband. If a married lady looks slim to the general eyes, it is assumed that her husband doesn't take good care of her and if care not taken, might cause a misunderstanding between the husband and other women.

This believe is still strange to me till today because I see things from a different level. I strictly don't agree with that because I believe that everyone isn't made to grow fat and therefore not compulsory that every married women should add to their size. There are still so many married women that are slim in my town and that doesn't disqualify them from being a wife. It is good to grow fat and accept your nature but to me, that doesn't define living well or not.

This was our topic all through till we slept off. She still take the side that every married lady should add to their flesh and grow fat but my cousin and I don't believe that. I do not know your opinion dear readers but it will be lovely to see your view in the comments section.

We had good times and beautiful moments with my aunt this weekend till my dad called is to come back home to help him make preparations for the visitors he is welcoming tomorrow morning. It was really a happy weekend and so lovely to see my little angel and her new teeth.

Unsplash image

Thanks for reading lovelies and have a beautiful August.

Copyright Šī¸ Gianna-B, 2022 and all rights reserved.

Lead image taken from unsplash.com

4
$ 0.56
$ 0.56 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Gianna-B
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gianna-B
1 year ago

Comments

Yey! you should enjoy and enjoy the moment with your Auntie

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yiee finally sis your aunt see you both.

$ 0.00
1 year ago