You should explore as a writer.

36 71
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

While I was reading articles from different authors yesterday, I came up with different topics and saved them in my notepad for me to develop them later and this morning, I just went in there and choose a topic to write about. I felt that's cool, there wouldn't be the usual racking my brain for a topic to write on.

I am sharing this because I felt, if it worked for me it can work for you as well. The crypto blogging world is indeed a big one and I observed that many of us are restricting ourselves to just one corner of that huge world.


Where is this coming from?

Before now, I have been on different platforms even though the likes of Uptrennd couldn't handle the growth on the platform. Steemit was the first platform I engaged with back in 2018 and it was the first platform that gave me an insight into what crypto blogging was but I wasn't doing great there despite all my efforts.

I had very little knowledge about blogging so everything I was doing then was just one way. Everything was about sport for me and I had a very small audience for my content, I hardly get engagement and it made me unhappy. At a point, I gave up and let go of trying to become a writer on crypto earning platforms. After some time, I got to know about Uptrennd and I decided to give a shot at it.

I started engaging and discovered that I have been doing things wrongly on the previous platform. It was all my fault because I restricted myself to just one niche when I could explore the world of writing. I was very good with sport content, I was always doing transfer talk, injuries, match previews, and reviews, I do put a lot of energy into that and you know how it feels when your best content is ignored by everyone.

On Uptrennd, I met lots of writers that inspired me a lot. I knew I could do what they were doing and even better than some, I took time to study what was wrong with me and I discovered that I was doing enough because I restricted myself to one thing.

I tried my first content outside the sports community because then we use to have different communities and I got lots of attention for the first time on my article, I was amazed and made up my mind to explore other communities and before I knew it I have posted and was still posting in about 19 communities which include parenting, health, inspiration talks, photography, nature, fiction stories, cooking, traveling and many others.

I made lots of friends and people who found my content worthy started following. At a point, I joined the University and I was able to learn more which includes vlogging. I made few videos and found them interesting because I was the shy type even in the face of the camera and editing requires making use of the best designs that would make your work great.

A writer's world is huge because of that, we must go wide with our thoughts and imagination. We must be able to see things from where others stopped, don't act surprised because those things are expected of you as a writer.

As a writer, exploring is one thing we should always be eager to do because it helps develop your writing ability more. During the time I made up my mind to explore, I forced myself into making research on things I don't know because I needed to write about them.

I remembered an article I wrote about the Oregon fire, it required me to do some digging and I was surprised about how much attention it got in few minutes.

Becoming successful as a writer requires you to do researches but many of us barely research because we write only things that were just too comfortable and easy for us.

Writing about one thing always is just like sitting in your comfort zone and becoming successful requires you to step out of your comfort zone.

I have come across numerous users on the platform and I observed that we are making the same mistake I made then. That made me came up with this article because it wouldn't make sense if I kept something helpful for everyone to myself.

Sometimes it has to do with the fear of making mistakes if we decide to step out of what we are best known for forgetting that those mistakes are what would make us better.

Challenge yourself today and try something different about your articles, just imagine if you are only writing about motivational talks and you come across an audience that needs something about fashion. Would back out because you are not familiar with fashion?

The choice is yours to make but remember that one decision you make in this world full of writers can bring you to the limelight.


After writing my article, I usually go through it again and ask myself.

Am I communicating?

I am not exempted from the mistake of going off point when writing my articles. We sometimes think we are communicating because we wrote stories in an article whereas, we haven't communicated with the audience.

What's new?

Come to think of it, are you the first person to write about that topic? It is rare to be the only one who has written about a topic except you are writing about something about the future.

As long as someone has written about that topic before, you must research to write something new that would make your readers stay glued to the end.


Lead image

17
$ 7.32
$ 6.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @kli4d
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
+ 7
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Hi Mr. George Dee, you're probably not expecting a comment on an old post but I came across something of interest which I'd like to talk about.

Here you said "I made few videos and found them interesting because I was the shy type even in the face of the camera and editing".

I'd like to know how it turned out, did you continue with making those videos or stopped somewhere along the way? What was your medium of publishing those videos and what exactly was the target audience? I'm really interested in knowing about these.

Truth is I appreciate creativity and will like an opportunity to learn more. I'd be glad to get a response.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

The videos weren't something too serious and it started with Uptrennd University. Making and editing the video was the task then, I didn't do much because the platform crashed and I wasn't motivated to continue.

Getting people to watch your video ain't easy and one might get discouraged when the view ain't increasing but consistency can get the job done.

I am considering taking up comedy videos lately but I still don't see myself prepared.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright, I completely understand. Thanks for your time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are very much welcome sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When you expire in your writing, people will find you at all cost. What many are expecting from you as a writer is to make your write up catchy and interesting so that anyone who comes across it will be happy.

It has happened to me as well when my write ups were not appreciated. This made me wanting to give up but I still summoned courage to make my writing skills better and wow, I became one off the best. I was able to make people to read my fine write ups which got me so excited.

Expiring I the best while writing.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad you didn't give up, you know that there are times we just need to blend and polish our passion more.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We called it comfort zone because this is where we feel at ease and dwelling for a long time in that comfort zone makes really hard for us to go out there because it is where we used to. But I agree we really need to step out from that comfort to discover more especially in writing. Humans tend to escape what's hard for him and go to the things that is easy to do and still waited for a good output even without putting good input. Just saying 😅

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the contribution, it means a lot to me.

Success in life requires us doing more than what we are best at.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am yes to reading variety... i am yet to incorporate variety with my writing specially even with those fiction that I come up with :D this is a good one George. Gotta explore

$ 0.04
2 years ago

Thanks for the compliment. I want you to not just read but also us give back by exploring, it would be great fun doing that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you sir for your suggestions on becoming a good writer and i agree with you that we need to research and get out on our comfort zones we need to interact with other writer, we don't need to restrict ourselves on one sided type of writing. Thanks for opening this so i may improve myself as a writer

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad you picked the points in the post, we are all work in progress and we must try as much as possible never to quit or give up on things we are passionate about.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for writing this article. It gives me an idea on how to write an article since Im just new here. Its really hard but as I finished reading it, I think I know how should I write. So again thank you :-)

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You are welcome and I am glad this was helpful, looking forward to see more content from you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you again:-)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely, George! Sometimes, listening to crypto news everyday bores me, nor telling everyone not to plagiarize lol etc. It's always great to have some variety :) God morning, my friend!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I love making a fun post in between my articles because there are times I do believe that I am too serious with my content.

It gets boring writing about one thing everyday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diversity, spontaneity, stretching and expanding your base... A writer needs this. You hit the nail on the head because when we, as writers stick to just a niche, we restrict ourselves and it is not a good sign for growth. In as much as it is good to be known for one thing, it is even more better to know a bit about everything so we can attract even more audience who might fall in love with an aspect that we write which they never knew they could like. They can also learn too which is a win win situation.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Knowing different niches allows a writer to get a larger audience because it would be easy for such a writer to write broadly and we must make sure we include reasonable points in our article so that our audience won't see our article as a waste if time.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Absolutely...there should always be something to learn for others when we write. What's writing without anything to learn? On point, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right. While a writer's got to develop his niche, it wouldn't hurt when he occasionally decides to venture outside his niche. An attempt to come up with diverse content types improves the dexterity of a writer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very beneficial for writers that can come up with something regardless of the niche. I called them super writers and you are one of them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this, it’s very informative and it’s a big help to me because I’m new here.. I have a lot of ideas what to write but I can’t compose because I hesitate if this will attract to the readers.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You can't be sure about your audience's reaction if you haven't given them what to read, should try to break out of that self-doubt.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

yeah thank you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good day! Thank you for this I learned a lot from your article and it was nice just like me a new writer here in readcash I am willing to learn more and to write more on my account. Something I got bothered me was of lack of topic then I don't know how to start .

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Topic comes to you in a lot of ways depending on what you have passion for but it requires you to open your mind to the things happening around you.

You can read other articles as well to get inspired.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

ThAnk you sir 🙏have a nice day😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hello, my dear friend George, thank you for this great article, which undoubtedly encourages, and leaves us great teaching, I think that in life we can not stay with a single subject, exclusively.

I see that you mentioned Uptrennd, I never agree with you, no doubt that was the first platform where I started, as Virtual Variety, when I thought of devoting myself to writing articles, I always proposed to vary, that is why this digital channel bears this name, never in life, I liked to stay stagnant, stay there hooked to a single topic, I think that in the variety is the taste, and when a writer only stays with a theme, at some point it will become boring, and that happens in life when we stay stagnant, unfortunately, we will remain in a vacuum, without any sense, greetings.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, it gets boring not just for the writers but for the readers as well. Your audience can reduce the attention they pay to your content if they start finding your content boring.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yesss that's what I'm trying not to right now. Changing topic to topic I'm trying to learn every writing style and become better on them all. There's no such person who can't write we just need to learn and practice

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's a great decision and how is it going with that, it might be tough from the start but the improvement it gradual and you will be at your best before you know what's up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I feel like writing is not for me because I can only write about 3 topics that concern me. My garden, my dogs and my work. So I have to stop this here now. :(

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You think so but that's not true. As a lady, you can write about fashion, cooking, beauty and many other things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remembered then on Uptrennd, I do visit your posts but they were all about sports. I will just give my upvotes and move away. Do I know anything about sports? 😅😅 Thank God you later shifted to other Articles which made you earn followers and People started turning up.

People want to read different thing. They want to learn more and if we only focus on one niche which doesn't interest others, it will be difficult to have people interact in your blog.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad I learned my lesson and didn't repeat such mistake on read.cash as well because I discovered I was getting the attention I wanted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago