What's the celebration for? 61 doesn't look good for us.

24 54
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

The year is going to an end already and I see lots of celebrations coming our way, various events would start coming up as we approach the Christmas period. A lot of people who love the season would understand what I mean but for 2 years now, the celebration has been the same due to lockdown, pandemic, restrictions, covid19, and other grammar that has come into existence in the last two years.

I remembered how I suspended my birthday celebration in 2019, it was meant to be my silver age celebration and I had great plans because I don't celebrate my birthday in the slightest form but that year meant a lot to me. The birthday is scheduled for the weekend since my job wouldn't allow me to mark it during the week and just as every preparation was set, the lockdown kicked in.

I had to use the money to ensure my family had enough because I didn't understand how terrible things would get with the virus. I felt really unhappy about it but something is just irreversible and when the moment is gone it can't be recovered.

Celebration for me means a lot and I feel there are lots of things we celebrate that don't deserve celebration while there are things we don't celebrate which deserve celebration.

I intentionally wrote this post to show my displeasure for the celebration of Nigeria Independence day but I don't want an article filled with hatred, the point is that 61 years of Independence doesn't look good on us.

Today, Nigeria celebrates her independence day and today is the 61st anniversary but what hurts is not having anything to show for the celebration. I was born many years ago into this country having lots of problems and till today we are struggling to get things in place and it has even become worse judging from the situation of the country.

Economy, security, health, the government, transportation, every sector isn't giving 30% of what's is been expected from them even after 60 years of patience. I say it over and over that, Nigerians are one of the best people in the world.

They are hardworking, intelligent, creative, and despite all these, the government has been a setback, they are doing nothing to help the citizens. About a year ago, we saw how Nigeria youths were murdered across the country for asking for their rights.

We were ban from using Twitter because we were exposing the government to the world.

The cryptocurrency was banned because they saw it as an opportunity for us to escape from the claws of poverty.

Kidnapping, youths who are meant to be exploring still depend on their parents, inflation here and there even our fiat is becoming valueless, it keeps getting worse day after day.

Every year, the government still spends millions on celebrating the freedom we never had, gone are the days of hoping it would get better because I see corruption in the government moving from one generation to the other. As a citizen of this great country, you must always prepare yourself for the worse.

Enough of the boring story...

There are lots of things worth celebrating this month and my mom's birthday is one of them, she is going to be a year older tomorrow 2nd of October.

She is not the celebrating type, she barely attends any form of ceremony. While we were younger, she do visit the orphanage home on her day and she will say she prefers making those kids happy than celebrating with people. A day is not enough to celebrate her kind of woman who has sacrificed a lot for not just her kids but for others as well.

She won't be home to mark her day with us, her children are used to that already but we do be having some merriment at home on her behalf. I felt bad when she said she wouldn't be back from her evangelism duty the last time we saw and I asked her for something she wanted as a gift.

She wanted a phone which I got for her that same day, I feel satisfied doing that but I wanted her around. I do be doing a small token as a surprise as well, thanks to readcash for making that happen because I am broke at the moment.


I would love you guys to say a prayer for her in your heart for my mom and Nigerian.

Thanks for reading.

What other celebration are you looking forward to before the end of the year???.

Lead image.

11
$ 7.85
$ 7.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pantera
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
+ 9
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Wow, that's a great woman and an evangelist. May God bless your mom new age.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday to your mom!

Felt sad to hear about your country my prayers are with your country and sooner or later it will rise.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday to your mom buddy:) long life and be an inspiration to all

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the wishes, I really appreciate it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Advance happy birthday to her George.
Praying for your mom and Nigeria.. I heard many things about your country..and I can say that we are much better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday to mummy in advance. 🥳 Nigeria matter en don tire me. But we can't just lose hope.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I will just channel the hope on something promising.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmm, a child of 61 still crawling on the floor, that's just the description of Nigeria. As a kid, all what I will always hear is " Nigeria go better" it will be better and it become more worse. An adage say "ogede n baje , a lo n pon" (a banana is getting spoilt, and we said it getting ripe) we all hoping that our country will be good one day, but we are all left with a blind hope.

Are leaders have make things worse for us, a country where white will be described as black,a country where the culprit will be set free and the just will be punished, a country where those who tries to speak the truth will be silence. A country where the freedom fighters are being sent to early grave and I could hear the innocent blood cry for freedom. A country where bribery and corruption has become the other of the day. We claim to be United, but we are all divided. I could not even see a bright future ahead because the future is blunt, Don't worth to be celebrated at all, what are celebrating, are we celebrating 61 years of living in bondage, living in pain , where everyone is suffering and smiling, this is so sad, if I should start writing, I will fill up a whole book about the bad story of Nigeria, not that I'm condemning my country.. but the atrocities is too much for majority to bear... I still love my country 😭, but felt bad with all the happening.

That aside.

Happy birthday to your mother, it's worth to be celebrated, let's put Nigeria aside for now, just tell me the location , then I will be on my way 🤣🤣

My prayers for her Mat she live to ear the fruit of her labour, and may she celebrate Many more of it in good health of mind and body and may all her heart desires be granted unto her. Live long Mama, I love you.❤️ Tell her that I love her for whom she is😃

$ 0.05
2 years ago

It is always the other way around for us here in Nigeria, we are moving backward at 2000km/hr while other countries are making progress. I am kukuma tired of the country and I wouldn't hesitate to leave the country if the opportunity comes.

Thanks for the wishes, I will tell my mummy about your wishes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone is tired of the country, if I have the opportunity to move out from the country, I will do that without wasting of time.

Ho! Can't wait to hear her response...lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy birthday to your mum, may her new age bring her all the best things in life. On the matter of what Nigeria has done with its independence, i give up.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Amen, thanks buddy. She will be very happy to see this

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha. Nigeria my country. I pledge to be loyal and honest.

Yeah it’s true we are facing a lot from the government but still we have to keep our strength together in unity and believe the country would become better.

There is no place like home.

And happy birthday to mum in advance

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Bro, it is better to use the strength to make things happen for yourself instead of using it on Nigeria.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sad to hear the conditions of Nigeria, poverty and salvation which citizens are facing due to the negligence of government. I pray for its better future. I am glad to know that your mother prefer to spend her special day at orphanage home.She is such a nice soul. She would be happy to see new phone.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

She got it already and she was excited about it. The government has failed and a better Nigeria won't be coming from them if it ever happens.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is nothing worth celebrating about Nigeria and I won't even waste my wishes. It's the same thing we have been dealing with and recycling every year with hopeful words yet here we are... No steps forward yet many steps backwards. It's sad.

Let me save my wishes for an amazing woman...a woman of timbre and calibre... A woman filled with sacrifice and an amazing smile. God will keep you mummy. You will live long to enjoy your labour over your children, in Jesus name. Keep shining...keep smiling mama.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks, brother, she use to say if she was born on the first of October she would change her birth date because that day isn't worth celebrating.

I hope you relax well after the burial stress.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahahaha I would do the same o... Mummy is so amazing and humourous.

I will surely have a long sleep tonight. Took some drugs too. Thanks a lot bro.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It was nice reading this article 👍. Firstly, Happy Independence Day. The young generation should take the politics in hand in order to form an excellent government. Happy Birthday to your mom. Here in India, tommorow is the birthday of Mahatma Gandhi, who was once behind the freedom of India.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

She shares a date with great people and I am happy she is a great woman too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes indeed.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nigeria really does not have much to celebrate today and the thought of it is really heartbreaking. Somehow those in power seem to be oblivious to these things and here I am wondering how .

Anyways happy birthday in arrears to your mum, may she grow old in health.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the big prayers, the government matter is something else. We can only count on God, Nigeria is a lost course.

$ 0.00
2 years ago