Received a letter from myself in the future.

7 53
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago


Date: 19th of May 2027

(This event you are about to read happened in the future and it is fictional)


I got down from my car trying to caution my twin from slamming the door as usual, I could see Molly from afar jumping and wagging its tail. The best part of his day is seeing the family return home after the day's work, he is always very excited whenever I drive in.

We all moved in and settled only to discover that my wife wasn't back so I called her to know why she didn't fulfill her promise about getting home earlier since I had a lot to catch up online.

I could barely say hello after she picked up before she started apologizing, some customers came to her shop late but she is a few blocks away from home. We ended the call and I could hear her car horn a few minutes later.


The kids ran over to me shouting, "mom is back". I had to go open the gate again, being a family man can be stressful but there is so much happiness in it. I warned the kids before leaving the dining not to touch my device because they are always eager to play games, it is really funny how these kids find their way on smartphone.

I opened the gate and she drove in, I was closing the gate when a postman approached me. Good evening sir, is this no 14? He asked.

I answered yes and he said he had a letter for Mr. George, I told him I am the one. He handed the letter over to me and told me to sign to prove that I have collected it. He went his way and I kept staring at the letter, it looks like something I have seen before and having my name as the sender made me curious.


The date on it was the 18th of May 2022, I tried recollecting what happened that year but the memories weren't just coming up. I was lost in thought when my wife called me back to life, she approached me and asked if anything was wrong.

I told her I received a letter written by me five years ago, the postman said the letter was scheduled to be delivered 5 years after. How did they know your address?

"Please don't open it because it might be a letter bomb", my wife said. I started getting back the memories of how I wrote a letter to myself in the future for fun and a friend of mine then said we should take it to the post office and demanded they deliver it back in five years.

We submitted my friend's number then, they might have probably gotten my address from him but why didn't he inform me. I quickly called him and he was laughing during the call, he said he didn't believe five years is gone just like that. We teased each other and I decided to open the letter to see what I wrote since I didn't remember most of the things I wrote in there anymore.

I opened the letter and read it out.

Hello, future self.

I write this letter with the uncertainty of you receiving it, life at the moment of writing this is unpredictable but I don't know what it would look like in the future probably humans would have developed a device that can tell what's going to happen the next minute.

Receiving this letter means you are alive and you should be grateful to God for that, five years is a long time in the world talking about life and safety but it doesn't stop regardless of who is there or who isn't.

I hope you are having a good life? I want to believe things are working out as planned.

Life at the moment isn't what I thought it would be when I was younger, I want to believe that I had less influence on my future as a kid but as an adult, I am fully responsible to an extent for everything that would happen tomorrow. I am currently doing everything possible to make life better for you, I know it won't get easier because every growth in life comes with its challenges.

What I am struggling with today would be different from what you are trying to achieve but I am working hard on creating the foundation that would help you overcome every future challenge.

I hope you didn't forget the lessons life taught you, they have guided me to this level and I believe that they will further guide you as you continue to grow.

Don't forget to always guide your heart, love the people around you, spread happiness, and walk in the way of God. These things have always made me happy and I believe it would do the same for you, please don't stop learning and trying to improve yourself at cost.

I believe you ended up expanding the business and helping the kids in your community, it has always been a dream that must be accomplished. How is the family? The woman of my dream? Are you caring for them like I usually do? They are the most important people to me and mustn't be neglected.

I hope cooking still makes you happy? Remember your promise to always be the best father and husband in the world. I wish you happiness without measure, good health, and success in life.


My wife was emotional as I read to her, we embraced each other so tightly and the kids came to join us even though they didn't understand what was happening.

The letter brought back memories but I am happy I haven't stopped being myself, I have definitely made my younger self proud.


[Please note that the article was written by me and first appeared here as an entry to a contest].

Lead image

11
$ 6.98
$ 6.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Fexonice1
$ 0.05 from @Idksamad7869
+ 8
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

Probably , I believe all the goals will be achieved, life has not always been easy, we kick rocks at times, we stumble and we are bound to rise again.

The the future is always uncertain, but we have to think positively that there will be a great change, if we are ready to fight to the end.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Everything about life is uncertain and we must always stay hopeful as we work to make the future a better one.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The letter is such a lovely one, really it's great to making like this for your younger self.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

To make life easy for our future selves, we must work hard today.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nice letter buddy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Setting the goals 🤲🏾 This is indeed touching

$ 0.00
1 year ago

god bless you

$ 0.00
1 year ago