I was wrong, an event from a distance.

12 55
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

The City of Lagos is a beautiful place to be live but the everyday hustling and bustling can make you something else if you are not careful, it doesn't stop at physical stress because living in Lagos can be mentally exhausting.

Eyo Statue, one of the Lagos diety.

Yesterday, I went to some part of the mainland and everything I did to avoid getting stuck in the evening traffic failed. There is some part of Lagos that gets very busy after 4 pm, a 30 minutes journey can become 2hrs during that period because of the rush and impatience of many drivers and commuters. I hate traffic, I don't know if I am the only one that feels that way because it makes me exhausted mentally. The noise, dust, fumes from vehicles would make me break down and that's one of the reasons why I avoid trips that would make me sit in traffic, yesterday's traffic was unavoidable and something silly happened.

A shot from a part of Lagos.

It wasn't the first time I did silly things on the bus but yesterday's experience made me feel bad because people laughed for trying to be my brother's keeper.


Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty

Shout out to my incredible sponsors, I saw the notification of several sponsorship renewals and it made me happy. Are you willing to improve the quality of your articles? You should read their articles on daily basis and learn a lot.


Please don't read this if you are eating spicy food to avoid the meal running off your head.

The road was blocked at Mile12 yesterday and I got bored on the bus, I was looking around to keep myself alive. I wish I could use my phone but that's impossible because the slightest noise from the person sitting next to me can cause distraction and I am poor at handling it.

I had my eye fixed on some guys waiting for a bus at the other side of the road and I noticed that a guy was trying to remove something from another guy bag, I looked closely and observed that the guy he wanted to steal from didn't know what was happening so I became uncomfortable.

I started waving and screaming, but the guy didn't even blink. Finally, something was removed from the bag, and it looked like it was a phone. People on the bus were observing me but I wasn't aware and they joined me in screaming to tell the guy that the person behind him has taken his phone.

The guy turned back and started holding the people behind him, I thought he heard our noise and I felt good. Everything on my mind was that he could be lucky to get the phone back since the guy was there. If I had my way, I would have alighted from the bus just to help the guy but I was scared of losing the vehicle.


The vehicle moved a bit and I had to stretch my neck just to see how it ended, the guys were pushing each other. At that point, I felt it would lead to a big quarrel but something came up.

I noticed a guy was carrying a digital camera and recording them, he was going back and forth around the scene and I became curious again. In the end, those guys fighting started laughing and hugging each other, my curiosity got bigger.

What could be happening? The people on the bus also started looking in surprise, the lady sitting in front of me then said. "They are shooting a comedy skit", I wanted to say it is a lie but the scene looks like it was a skit. Everyone started laughing and I had to join them since I didn't want to look like a clown, I started asking myself why I raised the alarm when I wasn't even sure of what was happening.

Everyone talked about it even though I didn't find it funny anymore, I wish I could get to my destination and alight. It was an annoying experience yesterday but something to laugh about today, I shared it with my siblings and they said we could make a skit out of it but I am not in for that.

Night view of a part of Lagos.

Many of us come to conclusions on things we are seeing from afar, let me make a few instances.

You probably didn't hear from a family for a while and sometimes just assume they have forgotten us not knowing that the person is not in a good condition.

You might be seeking help from someone and the person is not turning up, we usually conclude that they are stingy not knowing they are facing some financial crisis and it is preventing them from helping.

Many years ago, someone bear witness to something he saw from a far distance and it almost led to the death of an innocent guy if not for God's intervention.

It is normal for our heads to build up stories about events we aren't sure about and it is left to us to caution ourselves from saying the wrong words or taking the wrong action.

I hope you all had a great weekend? Mine wasn't but I am grateful for being alive, it is an opportunity we all got by grace.

Thanks for reading.

Please note: All the images used in the article belong to me.

16
$ 6.93
$ 6.03 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 11
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Is that comedy skit for a blog? I can relate with traffic ,.same here in our country. The travel time going to another place usually doubled.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That comedy skit incident was funny sha 🤣 And I can totally relate to it coz I have done the same thing before, but luckily I saw the cameras and quickly concluded that it's a skit before I could rile up crowd and chase down the "culprit" 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love the message of your article 🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And when someone ignored us, we thought they don't like us 😢. I felt that many times. Haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Lol...it was just a comedy drama which they were recording but you mistook as a real one. But the good thing is that you even thought to help him without any means.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, you got fake by the situation, but atleast you were so alert and concern with the man

$ 0.00
2 years ago

i learnt a lot from the writeup bro, i learnt one should be know or confirm a situation before pasiing a judgement. my days was good and hectic at the same time

$ 0.00
2 years ago

😅😅😅 so it was a skit, whereas you have shouted to the top of your voice hahaha. Lagos is always a busy day anyway anytime unless on some public holidays

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I couldn´t stop laughing 🤣 This skit of a thing made me remember one that happened in my school last semester. Some students were just coming out of the exam hall while I was sitting under a tree outside, actually, I was waiting for my supervisor. There were two guys, one was filming while the other guy carried an empty calabash. I already knew it was a prank and a skit too. The guy would hide the calabash at his back, approach a student and would stylishly bring out the calabash. The students screamed and thought he was a ritualist. It wasn´t funny at all but other students later knew he was making a skit for his instagram page. Who wants to die? 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehe, could not stop laughing at that scene , but you all acted that way because you did not know it was a skit , if I were the one , I might act the same way too.

That's why we have to to move closer to things and know why it happening before we conclude , somethings are never the way we see them , not until we move close, it teaches that we should not be too fast to judge..

Hope the Journey was not stressful? I know how the traffic in Lagos can be , those people living there are trying, especially those workers who will have to wake up early in the morning just to get to work on time, not easy at all.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The way they act skits now these days, it will look real like is not a skit, until you see the camera guy and others.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Is Lagos truelly this bad in traffics, I have never been to Lagos and this year I want to go there to serve but I'm already feeling how pissed I'll be when I accidentally get stick in traffic like that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago