Halloween celebration with my siblings...

31 84
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

There are lots of celebrations we don't observe in Africa, I will be specific about Nigeria because I don't know about most African country cultures and I wasn't" willing to check on them.

Halloween is one of those celebrations we don't observe and the closest I have been to the celebration is through a movie in which only crazy things happen in, it made me have this negative idea about the celebration. If we are to celebrate Halloween here, it would definitely be a day of masquerades. (Just kidding).

Africa masquerades.

I don't know why I haven't taken my time to read about the celebration, the origin and others but I was able to get a good knowledge of it about four days ago.

After a better understanding of what the celebration means, I and my siblings decided to celebrate Halloween in a simple way even though we don't have anything doing with it. My siblings just wanted an adventure, just a day outside our regular life because it's been a while we had that.


We are four in numbers and we are all male, I thought it was in-house stuff so I went out to get some things to make the day fun. I came back and prepared fried yam, plantain, and stew with the hope that they were going to enjoy it but they had something else in mind.

After the meal which was served as breakfast, they went into their rooms to pick up their bags and I was surprised.

"Where to?" I asked and the immediate brother said they wanted to go chill somewhere around nature.

"Like a garden?" I questioned further but he shook his head, the gesture meant no. I became curious," so where?".

Enitan answered this time, "we want to go hiking in the woods and we will be back in the evening"

That sounds fun but I wouldn't allow them to go alone so I packed my gears and we set out, I could see the excitement on their face as we locked the door.

Ayomide the youngest already ordered for Uber and I was surprised because we had never done it in his presence before, you know kids and the internet these days but he kept saying "big bro, you are paying the bills. I am saving up my allowances for something bigger", we all laughed because we knew he doesn't joke with his money.

The vehicle was waiting outside the gate already, we just got in and went off.


While we were in the vehicle, Tunde kept saying he wished he would be going somewhere scary and they all responded "same here". I didn't mind them because I was busy online reading about crypto.

I observed the driver was smiling and I asked if anything was wrong because we weren't saying anything funny and he wasn't talking or watching anything. He said nothing and he turned to Tunde who was sitting by his side.

He said to him, I can fulfill your wish if you request me to do so and he said yes just do anything. I quickly interfered, what do you mean by that? Just take us to our destination and drop us.

He smiled again and the next we saw was that we were off the road, he was going on a small path with thick bush on both sides. I ordered him to stop and return us to the road because I wasn't feeling cool anymore. He stopped and took permission to step out of the car for a few minutes and before we knew it, he was gone.


"Where did he go?", I asked them but they had no answer to my question. After five minutes of waiting, we got down and started screaming his name but he was nowhere to be found.

How would he do this to us? Is he trying to play a prank on us or something? Ayomide brought out his phone with the hope of contacting the customer support of the logistics company the driver works with but the network was gone, the network bar was empty.

He said, "there is no service". We reached for our phone to share his hotspot and it was the same with our phones.

"Is that a coincidence?", Tunde asked. We gave a chorus response, "I don't know" and we sat in the car again.

After waiting for the driver to show up for two hours, I got out of the car to look around. I spotted a mountain and suggested we go there.

we might be lucky to get reception there but the problem was that we had to go through a forest with tall trees that serve as a canopy so we broke huge branches from a nearby tree to use to clear our path and also defend ourselves in case anything dangerous attacked.

Ayomide had tears in his eyes already, he kept saying it was Tunde and Enitan's idea to go for the trip. Enitan was also pushing blame on him so I assured them they were going to be fine and peace reigned again.

We left the car and walked in the direction of the mountain, immediately we entered the forest everywhere was dark because the trees didn't allow the sunlight in except for some spots.

Our fear was triggered because we had no torches but we agreed to use one phone for light until its battery is drained and we marched in.

We were a few minutes into the forest when we started noticing some strange movement, it looked like we are not alone here so we stay closer and moved as fast as we can.

After an hour of walking, we didn't reach the mountain. The more we walked, the further the mountain get and I said to my siblings that it seems the forest is haunted and it made them scared.

Ayomide was in tears already and I held his hand tight since he was the youngest, we tried going in different directions but everything was futile.

I checked the time, it was 6 pm and the last phones were on the brink of going off. We decided to sit down and think of what to do, I was scared but had to be calm with the boy to avoid fueling their panic.

Tunde sat down first and he stretched his hand backward, he felt like something was beneath the fallen leaves. He tried pulling it out and it became a skull, unknowing to me that I was also standing on a skeleton.

Immediately, we all ran for our lives.

We finally stopped running and we were still at that spot, it became scarier. My phone was the only source of light now and it would go off any time so I decided to write this article in my diary and I hope someone eventually finds this if we don't survive getting out of here.


If you are reading this, it means someone eventually found my diary. My name is Patrick, I live on West Avenue Road and this was written on the 31st of October 2018.

Isn't that three years ago? Anyway, I found the diary in an Uber car that came for washing. I don't know if this is true or not, should I return the dairy or call the police?

Confused...


It is fictional but what would have done if you found the diary?

Click on the images to see the link.

A big shout out to @Theblackdoll for her generosity on the Halloween contest, , the result meant a lot to me.

Thanks for reading...

10
$ 5.00
$ 4.63 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @eommaZel
+ 8
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

Omg although it was fiction, but this was really scary, the behavior of driver was really strange. I can understand the condition of the four brothers. I could found out that diary I would definitely inform the police.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh! You sacred me , i was thinking it was an incidence you experience not knowing you're talking about someone diary and at the same time a fiction too! Well I give you kudos in writing fictional story, more ink to your pen.

Maybe you should give the diary to the police , that's if they will locate the owner, if not I will tell you to return it back from where you found it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Sorry about that, I am just learning to be suspenseful with my stories and I am glad I got your attention.

How are holding up???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nothing much, still pushing...., Thanks

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woahh I thought you were the one who's in the haunted forest, but turn out that its just a diary, woah I love the twist and you got some good narration about creepy story ha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I really don't have the heart to go into the woods alone, it actually started as my story but the twist came in because I was scared of such happening to me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The rumours are out... I heard you won. Congratulations, brother. You just know how to stay and keep winning. Super proud of you. This is the part where I famz you πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks man, I appreciate it. Things like this motivate me when the spirit is down and I love soft challenges.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

See how God came through after the nonsense that woman did. God is just amazing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

He works in wonderful ways bro.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations. I rejoice with you... Mine will come too o πŸ₯°πŸ₯°πŸ˜πŸ₯°πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen bro, I want more blessings too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Amen and we will both get them...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I was reading and doubting the realness of the article. "This can't be real experience in Nigeria" I pondered. To some extent I began to believe it's real story, my mind could not hold it anymore and I fastly scrolled down to the end to see the ending whether it's fiction or real. And my mind relaxed

You got me🧐

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I am glad you read to the end, I just had to make it read. Hope you enjoyed it and what would you do if found such diary.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow I love this it just like a surprise

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omo, you are really good at this Halloween writings ooo, I thought it was real at first. Well, if I am the one,I don't think I will inform anyone,I will just return the dairy jejely

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Jejely, you don't want any kind of trouble. I think curiosity would make me take action.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are right, I don't want any trouble for my life

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Omg. I thought it was real.. Even the diary isn't. πŸ˜….

$ 0.02
2 years ago

πŸ˜ƒ forgive me for that. Would you inform anyone about what you saw if it was real???

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maybe haha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If ever I find the diary, I would be in shock and tell the right people about it, hmm, call the police or anyone who could help. Hehe it was a nice read. I enjoyed it. ☺

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the compliment, glad you enjoyed it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I found the diary three years later. What do you expect me to do? I would think they are found already or perhaps are dead. Wetin concern me with three years matter? πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜… Such an interesting story anyway.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lolz, I get your point. It is better to let the sleeping lion rest, make see finish no go kill persin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my, another great post by you.. and this is exact reason why i have never trekked or camped in my life, not even once... I'm scared of the unpreparedness of humans about certain places and I always have this thought of getting stuck somewhere in the dense place. even the thought gives me chills...

You're most welcome, you did a great job

$ 0.03
2 years ago

I want to believe that you have a safer environment compared to what we have here.

Aside from scary stuff like this, one could run into the hands of bandit here will camping because they are now everywhere.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

exactly my point.. i do not fear spirits, I fear humans.. they are the worst

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If I have found the diary, I will surely look for the family of the boys and check if they are alright.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Smart choice, it is better to do that than raise a false alarm. It could be a story just like this, nothing but a fiction

$ 0.00
2 years ago