Charged for the weekend.

29 51
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Sometimes, I feel I am not doing enough when it comes to writing. I usually ask myself, are my audience really flowing with me or we are just doing the norms of visiting a certain number of posts daily just to boost our engagement on the platform?

I didn't write this specifically to anyone, please understand that it is just a random thought from a curious mind. All these thoughts drive me to do more and there are times I get worried because I can't restrict my thoughts to some limited number of words but the fear of people scrolling past lengthy articles puts me in a tight spot. I know how stressful it because I usually skip lengthy articles as well when I was new to blogging but I eventually cultivated the habit of reading regardless of the number of words.

The rule of writing 500 or more words is one of the things that makes me engage here because I find it difficult to compress my thoughts and idea into smaller lines but I am finally learning to avoid shifting my audience into boredom. Recently, I discovered I was having so much interest in fictional stories but it is hard to cut the story short and I appreciate those who got the message in the article

If you have read at least five of my article, I would love you to give me honest feedback on what you think about my write-ups and ways I can become a better writer.

Enough of that...

The weekend is here and my spirit is high, @olawalium would know why because we usually have some things in common for the weekend and the first three people who guess this thing right in the comment section will get a small token.

As usual, I woke up with a body that always feel too lazy to get out of bed. The laziness is coming as a result of sleeping late, it is usually a wasted time for but I am cultivating the habit of making that time productive. I try to engage, write an article, watch a movie or play my online football leagues, I have been able to introduce one of the things mentioned in my night before I eventually sleep off.

After praying I decided to check my profile across various platforms and I saw something that made me happy.

screenshot from hive profile.

Link to the article.

I joined a writing challenge on Hive, my entry went at the last minute of the deadline because I saw the contest late but I was named among the five winners of the contest.

Screenshot of the announcement on hive.

Confirm claims here.

I was like "hey, George. You still got some good in you". I valued the reward but it wasn't just about it, the post was screened by a particular project called Dreemport and that was what made me feel great. The stuff made me feel relevant when it comes to writing and I appreciate God for that.

The excitement made me jump out of bed to get my day started and everything went pretty normal. In preparation for the weekend, I did some things I might find difficult to do tomorrow.


Wrote an extra post.

For some weekends, I failed to write an article because I got too busy with something else. It is always difficult combining two things I love doing pretty well so to avoid cheating between my passion, I write an extra article on Friday and share it on Saturday.

I thought it would be stressful initially but it wasn't, it made me remember the days when I do write three articles daily on Uptrennd. We had the opportunity to post three times daily but not all articles are usually lengthy.

I and many trenndians ensure we wrote three articles daily, the better the engagement, the bigger the reward.


Did my weekend chores on Friday.

I usually wash my clothes on weekends because it is a tradition in Nigeria, almost everyone does that but I stopped that for about two weeks now. Why? Engaging with other fun activities prevent me from washing on weekend so instead of waiting till Monday, I did it before the weekend.

I did some cleaning as well, everywhere has to be clean. Don't mind me, I was trained like that since we didn't have a female child we could shift the chores to while growing.

It caused a lot of quarrels when I was in school, my roommates were too dirty and whenever I complain, it leads to quarrels. I love seeing everywhere tidy, it is one of the things that must be observed to have a healthy lifestyle.


Groceries

I went to the market at noon to get groceries, it would have been great if my fiance was around. She would have covered that part for me but I am used to doing that, I got everything I would be needing as well and I am having a feeling that mom might be coming home.

I have to replace everything that I have exhausted to avoid running around when I am busy with the real weekend task.


Prepare my Fantasy team for the weekend.

A few weeks ago, it was my brother who reminded few minutes to kickoff. The changes I made ended useless because I rushed doing it and the team did below expectations.

As I speak, my team is set for the weekend and we are ready to roll. I had to replace some of my players who have failed to help the team, I don't like seeing myself at the bottom and there should be an upgrade today.

If you haven't done the needful to your team, the time is now.


Booking a bet

I haven't done this but I will surely be doing it later tonight, It's been a while I won a bet and I am having a feeling that this weekend might be a lucky one for me.

If there are punters on the platform, kindly share your thoughts about the weekend games.


I believe that I have done enough for the weekend, I can't for the fun to begin. Pardon my boring stories, I guess you stating how you intend to spend your weekend might make the article fun.

Let relax with this for now.

Let's relax and enjoy the weekend, have a beautiful Friday.

Thanks for reading.

14
$ 7.92
$ 7.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
+ 4
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

I read your articles because your way of conveying things is so good. I am glad that you were among five winners on hive.This shows how intelligent you are. Best of luck for weekend.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the compliment. I am nowhere near someone that could be called an intelligent person, I just give and put my best into anything I am doing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations on being among the winners in hive challenge, I used to write for hive but I gave that up to focus on readcash because it's a lot easier here.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Lolz, hive is kind of difficult but it worth trying.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, I will go back to it later after I have built my reputation on this platform

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The choices are yours, have fun doing what you love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You weekend was really occupied with different kind of schedule and after everything you balanced the whole equation with a predator drink, even though you did not call me to come and join you, I'm still expecting my own drink anyways...lol

According to your mode of writing, I don't think there's is anything wrong with it, it always okay for me to read and I don't see a big deal in reading a lengthy post, I'm used to that already , but the major problem is that people are feeling lazy to read a lengthy post, they see it as a waste of time , and probably they skip it and move to a short post.

Even when you write a lengthy post, it's always interested, no dull moments while reading your posts , because of the little stories you always chip in and I'm trying to inculcate that habit too. Just that writers have their different way of writing, you're good in the way you write.

Talk about improving more?? Oh my Gwad! You're nothing but a good writer, don't think there's any lapses, just in my own view , in other people's view it might be different, just like my meat your poison.

@Olawalium what did you and @George_Dee use to have in common? Come and say it to my earπŸ‘‚, my mind is telling that you always have fun time together , like playing a game or having a chat with each other on how the weekend will be....? Seems I'm getting 0/100% in this.. kikikikiki 🀣🀣

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Thanks for the feedback, I believe everything you have said and I am happy about it.

Inserting a story in my article is something I love doing because I believe that it brings my point closer to the readers. About the thing we have in common, you have to keep guessing because there is a price for that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad to see you happy, you've trulymade an impact , it's always a good way to follow....

Heeee, I guess wrong, you always call each other!!! Or maybe football match ...

Oops I'm tired of guessing, maybe you should tell me 🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually feel that same way sometimes but you know reading through a 7min and a 3min content is quite different so I sort of save it to come back to it....and it helps a lot, then I have loads of time to go through and enjoy it.

Happy weekend to you, right now I am still busy with house chores.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You have a point bro, there are times we are too occupied to engage with long articles. Saving them for a less busy time is a fair one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww it's only weekend am Chance to do all my cleanup, going to the market and laundry so am always busy during the weekend so it makes me less active online

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I do those things before the weekend. Else I won't be able to do them on weekends.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I wish I had a roommate like you then lol! Congrats on your entry! Weekends are sometimes the usual time for laundry here as well but when monsoon season arrives, we had to adjust and do our laundry when we feel like the weather is going to be great.

Cheers for the weekend!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks for the congratulations message. Lol, I can be your room mate for 2BCH every month.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations on winning! that is surely a boost!! You have a happy weekend!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

thanks a lot, wishing you a great weekend as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I'm still having a hard time here on what to write for this weekend 🀣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A genius like you would definitely come up with something great, I am sure of that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha I look for the first three that would get it too. I am excited that the weekend is here and the week has been fun too in that regard.

In all honesty, I always relate to your post. It's relatable and real life. It's real, deep and full of lessons. You allow your readers to stretch their imaginations while also learning valuable lessons.

I am always wary of lengthy posts too and I try to cut mine down to at least 5 minutes read. The one I posted two days ago was about 7 minutes read and even that of yesterday but I can tell you most people skipped some vital things I expected them to mention in the comment section.

I noticed I get just few comments when I post about football too πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.05
2 years ago

Who will be tired of those doses you gave to me, a dose to heal a boredom moments...lol

Majority of people don't like football, but I love it small Sha 🀣🀣

Yes @George_Dee is saying something about you and him, come and leak the secret to my ear, George must not see this πŸƒπŸƒπŸƒπŸƒ

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The length of the post gives me concern and when my post is been ignored, the first that comes to my mind is that I didn't do well.

Football post doesn't get attention here, it was what I really wanted to choose as my niche but it didn't work out.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I totally understand you but trust me it is not about the fact that your post isn't nice because your posts are always nice and it's more about people trying to engage posts before they sleep so as to clear their notifications after a busy day.

Like today now, I am highlighting those I am commenting on and there are few people I just upvoted without giving a comment because I would rather not give a comment than just read half way because I want to give a comment. Busy days sometimes contribute to people not giving comments. Your posts are always nice.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's true brother, there are times are get too tired even read. We all have one or two things to do outside the platform, that's very much understandable.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We will be fine and we will strike a balance between it. Well done, brother.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's weekend and the games are here again, would it be Ronaldo you cheers for or Messi. I guess you are a United fan right now or have you headed to Paris already?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha he is a Liverpool fan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May he not walk alone this weekend.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha they have been doing well recently. Let's hope so too haha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago