Bullying; a killer that must be taken down.

16 46
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

My concern with bullying is that not everyone that experiences it has been able to fight through it, the saddest part of it is that a lot of people's life has ended as a result of being a victim of bullying.

I really don't know what people derive from bullying others, some do it to earn respect, it is fun to some people, some use it to create fear in the mind of their victims, and so on. It doesn't make sense to me why a human would just want to hurt and make life inconvenient for another human, it is wrong. Many believe bullying is something we see among teens or youth only, it is true that we mostly see it among them but the truth is that even adults experience it in society, at work, and in other places.

It is rampant among teens and I will say some of them learned that violent acts from home, bullying have led to the loss of life globally. In some cases the victim had to end his or her life, while some lost their lives as a result of injuries sustained from bullying.

The case of the Nigerian teenager called Sylvester is an example of the results of bullying, the young boy lost his life to bullies. Too sad he gave his parent a hint by telling them he doesn't want to return to the same school where he was killed but they didn't pay attention to him.

I was a victim but not of a 1st degree bullying and had a taste of it in JSS 3, I had to join a new school due to a change of environment. We had some bad boys in class who took my quietness as a joke and took me as a target, they disturb the class and make life difficult for other students.


Whenever I get to school, my locker was always missing and it went on until I reported. They stopped and started picking fights with me, they will hide my bag at every chance they had, and the day I choose to fight them didn't end well because I faced one but ended up getting my ass kicked by six of them. I couldn't tell my mom because she will come and scatter the school the next day so I kept watching to get my revenge till we got into SS1.

On a Friday night, one of the older students in the commercial class came to a program in the church I was attending. He sighted me and we coincidentally played instruments together.

I got to school to continue a war against bullying on Monday, my chair was missing again. I went to meet those boys and they made a joke of me, I was so pissed but couldn't do anything. I was leaving the class to look for it when I found the guy we played instruments together at the vigil, he could figure out that something was wrong and asked me. I told him everything and he went with me because he was about 5 years older than us then, they were scared of him because he was a real bad boy too.

He warned them never to come near me again, I could have had to live with these guys which could have turned out to be something else for me. I left the school when another bullying case happened to a girl, my mom heard and withdrew me immediately from the school.

Many students weren't about to find a way out, I must say school and parents must be very observant with their kids. Sylvester had been experiencing torture before the last incident that led to his death, if only his parents took their time to ask why he didn't want to return to school.

It would be difficult for an individual especially a student to fight and get freedom from bullies, the school authorities must be involved. The case of bullying is beyond just flogging the culprits, the punishment should involve suspension and even law enforcement agencies if it is severe because cultism has found its way into junior school which has taken bullying to the next level.


A lot of schools have failed in tackling bullying because that's where it's been experienced most, they are more concerned about the money they make and turn a blind eye to bullying cases, some even go to the extent of covering things up because the parents of the culprits are influential and wealthy. I would have suggested that the government should have a body under the education system to take these cases up but I remembered that their purpose can be hijacked by the wealthy ones whose children are bully leaders.

Parents have a lot to do since the schools aren't of help these days, the best thing is for parents to dedicate time to their children. Be their best friends to the extent that they will be free to tell you everything they are going through, and always check up on them in school. It isn't about just paying school fees, we must be part of every inch of their lives.

We experience bullying in relationships today, in the social world, and even through social apps. It is a terrible thing and I hope it doesn't get terrible than what we have seen a few years back to date.


Lead image.

11
$ 3.95
$ 3.79 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 2
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
1 year ago

Comments

I've never experienced bullying before and I only watched it on dramas. It is saddening how this kind of situation still happen nowadays when in fact we're all just humans after all.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Some schools do see bullying as a way of learning to the kids but it's not, bullying is bad but they see it as students having fun and they don't usually interfere till gets out of hand.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's one of the things, they don't see it as a problem until it gets to the point life is lost.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Bullying is very bad, student in schools both in public and private schools are still doing it.This is really risky but teachers wouldn't see it as something that is bad. They need to look into such act and see how to stop it in most schools across the country.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The schools are the problems, many of them don't take the issues with bullying seriously.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I never experienced such in my time when I was young. Perhaps it would have been bad because I was this gentle girl in class but I was mocked because of my short stature, I never took it emotional because I wasn't the only one.

Bullying is everywhere and parents and teachers should be observant and take such a matter following up with strong measure.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Bullying can be easily conquered if parents combine effort with teachers to take it down.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The sad thing is that the society is making it sound okay. It's like a show of strength which shouldn't be. Schools are not taking adequate measures either since they are after the money. It's left for the parents to raise better children with good morals and make them understand it's never okay to bully and they can report bullying too.

$ 0.02
1 year ago

Since the educational system has indirectly backed bullying, the job is now in the hands of parents to teach their kids the right things to do.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Exactly. A lot rests on the parents now since the system has failed. Parents must not fail.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Because of the non-challant attitude of some parent their kids are experiencing danger at school everytime, children might not be able to talk but with their attitude you will know that something is wrong, parents should be more careful and vigilant as well..

$ 0.01
1 year ago

You are right about parents being vigilant, they should understand their kids even to the point of behavioral change.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I have this parents living quite close to our yard. Every day their child comes back from school, they will ask him if he was treated bad by either the teacher or another student. I just pity any teacher or student that will molest the boy, cos the parents are just ready to bring down the whole school. I was never bullied in school cos of the level of discipline we had in the school. So sad for Sylvester, his life was cut short by this set of humans.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

It is great when parents keep a good tab on their kids, having such a good relationship will give the kid the boldness and confidence to open up if anything ugly is happening in school. Everything is attached to discipline, schools are lacking that.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

The guy who played instrument alongside with you in the vigil, was the one who relieved you from the bullying for some period, because another one came up.

One thing about bullying is that, the victim of the act are not always speaking up, because if you speak up, those who bully you will think they have defeated you

$ 0.01
1 year ago

The reason why many victims do not talk is that they are seen as weakling so most times they choose to be quiet.

$ 0.00
1 year ago