An Interview With George Dee.

35 84
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

I gave up on writing an article for today because of the stress I went through today, it was unplanned stuff and it affected my plans for today.

What happened exactly was that a fellow fish farmer asked if I would join him to go and get some animal waste. (Animal fat, throat, intestine, and others are good sources of protein for fishes, it helps them grow well.)

We went on his bike to an abattoir but we couldn't get anything from there because some people came earlier. We went through different meat markets but all efforts failed so I suggested we try poultry where they sell chicken.

Fortunately for us, we got enough for the fish and we were charged $5, I was shocked and asked why they would sell waste for that much and the woman answered me that the country is hard, I asked myself "what does the waste have to do with the country situation ?"

If we didn't come for it, they will thrash it so why are they charging so much for it. We bargained and ended up at $3, it looks ridiculous to me because I would never sell waste to someone for any reason.

I got home stressed and decided to reply few comments on my article before crashing for a nap but seeing @Princessbusayo article gave me the hope of sharing something here. The country is hard, we are going through difficult times but does that mean we have to be so cruel to others?

That's not the case, let save this for another day. Talking about Nigeria is not something I enjoy doing because the country's situation does not hurt my feelings.

I will be giving responses to the interview questions in the @Princessbusayo post and you can check them out here.


HOW WAS NIGERIA BACK THEN VS. NOW?


The country has never been in a good shape so I will just say it has gone from bad to worse.

The situation of the country keeps deteriorating every day and my fear is for the generations to come because I fear what the future hold for them if we are going through this much. The fear of what our parents had then is what we the kids are going through now, I guess we would only be passing nothing but the country's debt to coming generations.

There are times I even ask if we truly have the resources we claim to have because countries that don't possess what we have are doing great while we are still crawling. The truth is that the country is worse now than then, our case is like not caring for an infected tooth and the bacteria gradually spread, and now the whole teeth are bad.


WHAT WAS YOUR FIRST MONEY EXPERIENCE?


I really can't remember but I think kids have their first experience with people offering them money.

I was a very understanding kid and I do give to my mom whatever is been offered to me by a stranger, she gives some part back to me and I end up keeping it because I wasn't fond of eating sweets as a kid.


WHEN WAS THE FIRST TIME YOU EARNED MONEY?


My first earned money was in junior school, we had this very rich neighbor with spoilt kids. The man had two cars then and he would go out with the cars one after the other until everything gets dirty and his kids were too lazy even though they were younger than me.

On that faithful Saturday, I went to fetch water from their compound and decided to wash the car since he helps us with water and also gives us a lift when going to school. I did it without the intention of earning but it turned out to be my first earning if I am not mistaken.

He gave me $1, it was huge for me and I gave it to my mom but she wasn't happy I had to do such work. He loved the washing and took me as his car washer. I washed for him every weekend, I was ashamed at the beginning because my classmates do see me when passing but I later ignored the shame and he increased my money to $1.5 and gradually to before I stopped. Been able to support my mom was what gave me the strength I needed to do the job even though I am tired.


HOW HAS THE VALUE OF MONEY CHANGED OVER TIME?


Nigeria's fiat, Naira has lost so much value in recent years.

Naira use to be very valuable even before I was born, my mom never gets tired of telling me how she paid $0.007 (4 Naira) for school fees in higher institutions but today students pay as much as $200 for tuition fees.

The annoying thing is that the government ain't considering the people, the minimum wage is $70 in a country where just a single person would spend $20 on feeding weekly.

When I was younger, we spend smaller denominations but today, those denominations are no more in existence. You can't even get anything for those denominations again, it is has become ugly talking about naira value.


WHAT WAS THE FIRST THING YOU SAVED FOR?


The first thing I saved for was a phone, I got it for $5 then. I saved the money from the cars I was washing then and I was really happy I could afford such.

It was great pouring my mind into this article, I believe you can sense stress in my article. Wishing you all a great night rest.

Lead image.

24
$ 8.41
$ 7.84 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.09 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 12
Sponsors of George_Dee
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for George_Dee
2 years ago

Comments

That's the major reason why prices of food and other products is constantly rising. People just don't consider how hard the lives of other people could be due to a single action they make. They just want to make money no matter what. Disregarding other people's wellbeing.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Once people notice something that is thrash to them is valuable to you, they will put a price tag on it. I have seen people selling poultry faeces to agricultural students in my school because they know it's valuable for their farms. Sh*t now have value. Don't be surprised when they charge you at the abattoir, even if they don't do it immediately, they will when they notice you regularly come for the waste.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope you feel better now after you let your feelings out. It is quite frustrating indeed knowing how your country is faring nowadays compared to before. It is good platforms like readcash exist and we can earn some :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good to know more about you, your country struggles.

Well first thing i saved my money was to buy a cycle in childhood and i still know how hard was to control and to not waste money

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Do you mean a bicycle right? I never had the opportunity to own one as a kid.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah bruh! Sad bruh i wish you'll make your dreams fulfil very soon and than you'll look for other kids to buy them a bicycle!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am sad to hear that conditions of Nigeria turned from bad to worse, I pray for better changings there. No matter what we do but its better to earn with hardwork instead of asking from others, and I am glad you earned your first money by washing cars and later also bought a Mobile phone with these savings.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just hope our generation won't meet more worse Experience than this. Those innocent ones will come but I will pray they do not go through the same stress we are into now. Thank God you were able to help your mom even though she wasn't happy. What can you buy with #5 denomination now unlike then when we would buy ice water (5) for #5 Thanks for participating.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We are solo bread for five naira, groundnut 2naira and sugar. Those things can't happen anymore, our coins are extincted.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The first time I save money is when I was a kid..I said this in the princess's article.. But I save not for my phone, but for just buying food 🤣 of course when I grew up. It was for a new phone already

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I believe that you have a better economy because I see a lot of things your government do here unlike our government who are lost and only plan to enrich themselves.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I gave up on talking about Nigeria because I won't talk about it without getting angry, so let me just pass jejely hahaha.

That's what they do regarding the waste. I noticed most people sell them now because they know fish farmers need them. Even dead poultry birds are getting sold cheaply now for #500 naira or so. It's crazy... Anything and everything is sellable these days. The country is hard but we sometimes make it difficult for our fellow humans.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Catfish price has increased from 750 to 950 in the last one year because of the increase in feed price, what we don't get is that this things would always tell on the people. A fish farmer will get that money he paid for the waste back when those who sold it wants to have the fish too

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's so true... The effect would always be felt...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nigeria would have been a better place to live, if we have good governments that are going into power for the interest of the citizens and not in the other way round.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

A good government would have at least solved 60% of our problems but that's not happening, they even complicate issues.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm not surprised at all. We buy corn waste (eri ogi) this shaft that they pour away when making pap. At first we got it for free but when they realised it's in high demand they started charging $1 per paint bucket. Something they do pour away on a normal day. And my dad need it to mix the turkey feed. My Dad do tell me that during Idiagbon's era, 1 naira was bigger than $1 before Babangida came in and turned everything upside down.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know corn shaft, I think we aren't helping ourselves as citizens with this selling of waste habit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People will say life is civilizing but I say life is getting more worse because of the way things is getting too expensive

$ 0.02
2 years ago

We are battling one form of inflation to another, terrible way of life given to us by the government.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Me too , I'm stressed out today, trying to make a post tonight too, but will be going for the challenge too tomorrow.

The case of Nigeria is nothing to write home about , everything has turned upside down, I just wish thing will go back to as it is before.

Washing a car to earn your first money..!!! Wow, that means you're been and hardworking person right from onset, you're amazing man!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Those days were fun, I did everything with the joy of helping my mother. Sorry about the stress, have you relaxed very well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah I've relaxed and I decided to do somethings here before going to bed.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I will just call it a day because my eyes are falling already

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Alright good night, have a lovely night rest.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As declining as the country's state of being may sound, I guess we just have to be somewhat optimistic and try to make things better. Though this seems impossible!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It doesn't seem impossible, it is impossible except our leaders are completely wiped out.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The situation of this country is gradually becoming hopeless

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Only God can intervene, we can be hopeful though

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Blind hope??? I don't hope for a better Nigeria again, my hope is lost already, nothing can revive it again

$ 0.01
2 years ago

The best thing you can do is planning for yourself and generations to come.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're on point, as far as you can do that, one is good to go and we should stop depending on this country that has nothing to offer us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahaha. I am also in for this. I just accepted the challenge.

What a country. Imagine buying a phone for $5 then. And even now we can’t even buy a memory card worth $5 again.

I pray God help us all in this country.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Bro things have gone really worse, I really don't know who Nigeria offended but the person really want to deal with us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We pray for better days ahead my brother

$ 0.00
2 years ago