"Once upon a time in Hong Kong"

39 48
Avatar for GarrethGrey07
2 years ago
Sponsors of GarrethGrey07
empty
empty
empty

January 2016 when my feet first landed in Hong Kong international airport. It was winter and the weather is foggy and cold. I travel alone, though I don't know about the place but because I grow independent I don't find it hard traveling by myself. Hong Kong international airport was wide and since it's my first time I just go with the flow. I silently observed the people around me. I don't understand them, unless if they talked in English, somehow there are also some Filipinos around me but they didn't try to approach me. But I understand as people thought that I'm Indonesian. Oh that's right! The moment my feet landed in airport my identity suddenly changed lol. I am a pure Filipina but people think that I'm Indonesian, because according to them my appearance is quite similar to them.

Anyway I work as a nanny in Hong Kong for 4 year's. I take care an 8 year old girl and the only child of my employer. It took me three days before I meet them, I firstly stayed in my agency when I arrive Hong Kong. Upon meeting them, they are nice specially their daughter. She's cute, sweet and such a nice girl. She's not that stubborn but as a kid there were really times that she will do what she wants to do.

Photos from my Facebook account

My work is to accompany her to school, fetch her from school and accompany her to her extra curricular activities. And since we were living in an island I have to woke up as early as 5:00 a.m to prepare them a light breakfast as they don't like heavy breakfast. A small sandwich with Sunnyside up eggs and milk or chocolate is enough. Both of my employer's are working, but they only like cereal and tea for breakfast, that's it. I cooked her a simple lunch, like fried rice, sometimes I prepare sushi, dumplings, spaghetti Bolognese etc. Those are easy to prepare, it only takes 30 minutes as long as you move quickly. I have to wake her up at 6:10 a.m and leave the house at 6:45 a.m as we have to take the 7:00 a.m ferry. We only take ferry to go to the other island and take a bus to go to her school. After I send her to her school, I go back home. And when I went back home, both of my employer's are already left the house for work. And it was funny as I get lost at my first day to fetch her in her school lol. I haven't discover the Google map that time yet πŸ˜‚. When I bring her in the morning I didn't get lost because she was with me but when I fetch her in the afternoon I'm alone and that's why I got lost πŸ˜‚.

I texted my madame in her phone as I really don't know where I am. Because when I tried to ask which way should I go to reach the school, I don't understand the people around me. πŸ˜‚ I asked them in English as I don't know how to speak Chinese, and they will answer me Chinese and I get crazy as I don't totally understand them πŸ˜‚. Luckily my madame immediately replied me, only to find out that I'm just near the school, I just have to walk for 2 minutes then I'll reached the school .

The whole year of 2016 goes smooth. My employer are a good payer as they always give my salary advance. Every holiday they went abroad for vacation and I'm staying alone at there house. I was just five months working with them when they first leave their house in my care. They trust me lol 🀣, they trust me because they are holding my passport πŸ˜‚. Actually it was against the rules of Hong Kong immigration as my passport is my important document and that was supposed to be keep by me. But since I have to deal with them, I just let them keep it for me. They don't actually trust their house under my care because they found me trustworthy, aside as they are holding my Passport, their house also have five CCTV's at home πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚. Imagine a 500 square meters house has a five CCTV's πŸ€£πŸ˜‚? The only rooms that has no CCTV was the kitchen, the masters bedroom and the bathroom. And since I am sharing with their daughter's room, our room has a CCTV too. But it don't bother me, because I know myself, I can prove them that I'm a trustworthy.

Bad thing about their absence is I don't have salary when they are on vacation. Another against the rules as it is not part in my contract. But I'm a first timer, and I don't wanna ruined my record in Hong Kong so I just agreed. But before they leave Hong Kong they will give me a part time job, so I can have earnings while they are having their vacation, and also they will leave me food allowance. Actually part time job in Hong Kong is also another violation, as I have signed a contract with one employer. But since we both agreed with the part time job, it is exceptional but not totally to be considered as.

This is fate, and I'm her nanny πŸ˜‚

I took care dogs while the dogs fur parents are also in vacation. They will leave their dogs under my care for one week and they will pay me $500 HKD($60 usd) for that one week. All I have to do is to feed her and her fur siblings, bring her out for walk and bring her back to their house for two times a day.

2017 has started, the first quarter of the year was smooth. But a really bad day came, where I thought my journey will end so soon.

It was Sunday morning and it's my day off. The time was just 5:50 a.m when my employer's woke up early as they will go fishing. And since it was my off, I don't bother to woke up early, I just let them prepare their things besides I already prepared the other things that they need to bring before I go to bed the last night. Until I heard my madame call me and tried to woke me up as she was looking for something and she cannot saw it by herself. She was looking for a jacket and since I just woke up and they have so many jackets I don't remember which one she was looking for. I told her that maybe it's inside her drawer, and she immediately went to the other room to look for it, but she still didn't find it so she again call me, that time she was already mad. I immediately get up and go to the other room to look for that jacket. She followed me there while nagging. She even called me stup**. I was so shocked of what I have heard from her, that even her own daughter can't believe that her mom was behaving like that. For over one year, that was the very first time she nagged me that way. I was hurt as I don't used to hear bad words while someone is pointing her fingers in front of my face. They left and I was left crying. They saw me crying but they don't bother.

I decided to go to my friends boarding house as I really needed someone to talk. Actually I don't have any plan to go out that day because I wanted to have a rest as I really felt tired the other day, but since I really feel bad I went outside. I forgot to bring my other phone, I don't know that my madame texted me. She texted me to say sorry and she didn't mean what she says but it was too late when I read it.

When I went back home at night they are already home, I went inside silently when she suddenly approach me with another nagged. She was mad, as she thought that I didn't accept her apology, because I didn't reply to her text. She scold me when I told her that I forgot to bring my phone, and that is why I haven't read her message yet. She was mad again and shouting at me again ,as she thought that I am being so stubborn and disrespectful. Her husband tried to calm her down but she's totally mad, and she shouted me to pack up my things and immediately leave the house that night. I was stunned but I didn't let them see my reaction, I tried to look at her emotionless as I don't know what am I going to do. It was already 9:00 in the evening and I don't know where am I going to go if I leave the house. She shouted me again and she even try to drag me so I could pack up my things right away. But....

To be continued........

Sorry guys as my story is getting longer, I will continue to write the second chapter of my journey tomorrow...

Thank you for your time..

November 25,2021 18:15

Lead image source was originally edited by me using logo maker app!

17
$ 3.48
$ 2.91 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Olasquare
$ 0.05 from @Ling01
+ 15
Avatar for GarrethGrey07
2 years ago

Comments

Woww i like dog and it feels like that it is my stress reliever when I am tired.. Hehehe yeahh take care of there sis wish I can visit in Hongkog hahaha

Im newbie here :) pls support

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, you have shown jud ate na independent jud ka na pagkatao tapos kabalo sad ka maghandle ug situations. πŸ’–

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala nag iba agad ugali ni madame mo. Ang sakit kya murahin sis at mapapaiyak ka pa. Gnda sna sa hongkong ksi malaki sahod don. Ang laki ng aso, dobberman ba yan sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What a big dog! They paid you well to take care of it. Although it's scary ahah πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…yeah, thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Impressive everything you went through friend during your stay in Hong Kong, I really hope you did not have to go so late at night helpless. I think that if there is a signed contract and you did not violate anything that was agreed upon, they have no right to do something like that to you. I look forward to your next article

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Employers has a power to terminate the contract, whenever they wanted.. thanks anyway 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I enjoyed reading this story. You were cool with them and that's human for you, sometimes people overreact to insignificant issues. You pass through this stage to become a better person. I felt pity for you reading this but thank God it's a past story. Waiting for the next...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Misunderstanding too, but it's totally normal. Anyway thank you 😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Waiting for the next second chapter!!!

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I'm also waiting for your article, thank you 😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Published Today

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't believe that they had 5 CCTV for 500 sq ft house, I guess you were as brave as now. I'm waiting for 2nd part , I hope it will end with a positive vibe.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah it's true, their house is only small but it has 5 CCTV's πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dream tour ko talaga ang Hongkong sis. Sana all talaga. Pero totoo ba talaga na strikto talaga jan?

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Pagdating sa tourist hindi nmn sis..need mo lang ng complete requirements para makapag tour, and show money.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What!? Grabe naman po yung employer nyo,nakaka gigil nakaka bitin din po yung story nyo hehe. waiting po ako sa part two.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…oo nga eh.. salamat sa pagbabasa..😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

5 cctv cams for a 500 sq ft house??? tell me this is a joke πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It's for real and those are totally working..πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I was reading the article with great enthusiasm. But you kept suspense. The first day, you went to bring the girl but you got forgotten the school. Haha. They trust you a lot as your passport was in their hand. Haha. Waiting for the remaining part.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes they trust me because they knew that I can't run away hahhahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You went to hong Kong!!!! Cool!!!!!!!!!!!! You worked as a nanny and got lost trying to get the kid back home???????? Really really funny!!!! Thank God for Google maps these days!!!! I really envy you coz you travel a lot...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's because of work...πŸ˜… Thanks anyway..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That’s too painful to read sis, parang ayaw ko ng part two😭 Ang tibay mo din sis at nakayanan mo kahit papano pero cge antayin ko ang part two.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Nakakastress sis.. hahhahaha salamat sisy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Garreth, how beautiful you were... πŸ˜πŸ‘Œ how upset I was that your job ended like that in that house, I was very upset by that lady's treatment of you, unfortunately some employers are very selfish, naughty and rude. Your story was very exciting, I look forward to the rest of your story. πŸ˜‰

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thank you so much my dear friend for always appreciating me..hahahaha your truly my friend.. thanks anyway

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hala nabitin ako sis hahaha, may ganoong ugali din pala sila , sige wait ang susunod na kabanata.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Oo sis Meron.. madami ang may ganyan..pag lumaban ka possible pang ma block list ka sa Hong Kong

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're so beautiful Sis, actually Indonesian beauty sobrang hawig lang natin. Pero na worry ako sa kwento mo Sis, yung nasa climax then biglang naputol:D

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Mahaba na kc sis..hehehhehe kaya pinutol ko muna,kanina ko pa yan sinusulat di lang agad natapos hehehheh anyway dati pa na picture yan sis haggard na ako ngaun..hahahaha, thanks anyway

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your luck is very good. You can travel to different countries. It is not in everyone's destiny. Nice to see your picture. And it was better to go around and see it.However, going to Hong Kong is my hobby.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow, have you been in Hong Kong too? Sounds great.. thanks anyway mate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Grabe naman sis. Nagulat ako. Meron talagang mga ganyan na tendency. One year kana pala sa kanila bat bigla na Lang siya nagbago at nakayanan kana niyang sigaw sigawan sis. Waiting ako sa part two parang nabitin ako sis. Sana naging okay kayo in part two sis. Waiting talaga ako.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga sisy,kaya sobrang nagulat ako sa inugali nya..ok pa nmn kami nun nung gabi tapos kinaumagahan naging dragon na.. heheheh salamat sis

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganun ba sis. Sana maging okay kayo sa part 2 sis. Naalala ko tuloy yung movie ni Kathryn. Di ba sa Hongkong din yun sis?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mabait naman siguro sila Ate, pero nagka misunderstanding lang kayo. Waiting for part two.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Parang ganun na nga bunso.. thank you..😊😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago