Sunday's Sermon

8 40
Avatar for Gaiom
Written by
1 year ago

It is a new day, a new month and a new week Ramadan Kareem to all the Muslim faithfuls reading this. I expect sales of consumed goods to go back to normal after the fall that comes with Ramadan. I feel sleep deprived at the moment and that I believe is majorly because I haven't had a good sleep in over 24 hours now.

Anyway, today was quite the day. It felt good starting the new month in the house of good wherein everyone seemed to be in a jolly mood. I have always found something aesthetic about watching religious people gather to worship. Well, when I say religious people, I speak only of Christians and Muslims, as those are the religions I am familiar with. For the Muslim faithfuls, I enjoy them going up and down in unison, offering prayers to the almighty. While it is always a pleasure watching Christians sing and dance as they praise the lord.

The sermon in church today gave me an idea of what to write about. I really enjoyed as the pastor preached. Perhaps because I agreed with what he said. He had mentioned that he often wonders why people will have all sort of cars in their compounds and more wristwatches and shoes than they can wear when there are poor people suffering out in the street. Couldn't all these excess and unnecessary spending of money be used for something else?

Let me categorically say that this is my opinion and why I strongly believe that everyone can choose to spend their money in whichever way or manner they want to, after all, it is their money. The matter here is amassing so much wealth to last three lifetimes and spending it all to yourself, spending them on material things you don't really need, just because. Perhaps this stems from the fact that I am not a reckless spender, that is not to say that there are not times I go on a spree and spend on whatever my impulses tell me. I often buy things because I need them and not because I can afford them.

I believe it gets to a point where ones wealth becomes 'infinite' and by this I mean it is near impossible for said person to ever go poor. Said person with so much wealth I believe can make the lives of others better. By others, I mean people who really need it. One of the best legacy one can leave behind is making a positive impact in the lives of others, at least, that is what I believe. I often ask myself what is it that I would be remembered for if I passed on?

I remember when I was in secondary school and learnt about many scientist and was marveled at how important their work is that it is taught in schools all over the world decades after they have died and even many decades after that. I remember a time I was so interested in every thing Albert Einstein that I even watched an autobiography (Genius Season 1) and that exposed me to a lot about his life.

Of course there are different ways one can impact life, it isn't necessarily through wealth. We can all make a difference by doing something that solves a problem in the society irrespective of whether or not your are wealthy,

Lest I forget, I want to wish you all a happy new month. I have seen a lot of articles talking about April and all the plans for may. I don't think I published up to ten articles last month so I don't think I'll be setting any goals here for May. But, I will try to do better than last month for sure. That is not to say you shouldn't set goals for yourself, as it will help you work harder to achieve them.

That would be all for now, see you on my next article.

9
$ 1.35
$ 1.26 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @FarmGirl
$ 0.03 from @HappyBoy
+ 2
Sponsors of Gaiom
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Gaiom
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

It's nice that you enjoyed Sunday's sermon. I wish you the best this May and beyond!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

You are right dear, but spending ones funds shouldn't be an issue to others, rather work hard to make yours.. Happy new month dear

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's true. Merely talking about helping others though

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Happy new month to you too....I'm glad you enjoyed church and listened to the preaching...I hope may treats you well.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Hope it treats you well too

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ramadan Kareem is month of peace and it's all about performing religious activities ❤️thanks for spreading love huge respect

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Thank you for your comment

$ 0.00
1 year ago