Human decision

9 44
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago
Topics: Lesson, Growth, Wisdom, Life

There was a time when I woke up and decided to give up on my dream. That was a huge mistake, one that I would regret for the rest of my life.

I decided to quit school, I wasn’t enjoying it; so I thought. But this wasn’t about me, it was about my parents and how disappointed they would be in me. I didn’t want to fail so I decided to quit before I did.

One day, I decided to move back home after being in Port Harcourt for some time. This decision came as a result of not getting a job in my area of work and the advice of my parents. Again another mistake, leaving Port Harcourt where I could have gotten more experience and exposure was a wrong move. My father had won a contract in Port Harcourt where he was working at the time but had later lost it due to an accident and was offered a contract in Lagos instead which he grabbed and so moved back home to Lagos while I stayed back in Port Harcourt hoping the job would still be there when I am done with my studies.

He explained his position to me and how he did not want anything bad to happen to me, but this is when I should have stood up for myself. It was when I should have told him what I wanted (which was to get experience) and that if something bad happens to me, then it’s out of my hands because there is nothing like living your dream or dying without knowing what you should have accomplished in your life.

I will give you a perfect example of what I am saying. Some time ago I was in elementary school, maths class and we were asked this question. Which is more important and give you a chance to get a good job and make money or be a good person and save lives. We were then asked to stand by the choice we made, you raise your hand if you wanted to make money or do something nice for people.

Be careful in life what you decide when you are in the middle of doing something. I am warning you, sometimes you can make the right decisions at the wrong times.

Let me give you an example?

I was in a hurry to register for my theory test, I knew it will be hot that day and I need to take my car to be washed that morning and I still want to go to school without getting late. So, instead of taking my car for a wash, I decided to drive it with a dirty windscreen and dust on the body of the car, with all this dust I decided to drive it recklessly, ignoring red lights and stop signs as well. All this recklessness led me to get into a road accident. Before we go any further, let us define what decision is:

Definition of decision-making is: making a judgment or choice immediately, especially without lengthy discussion or prior deliberation.

The decision we make at the time is vital. If a person decides to take a different way in life, it could alter the course for a lot of things that could be missed in an event. It might look good to many people, but the person may not be ready for it or it could affect the future. When we decide on something, we must know what is coming ahead, many times we do not have a picture of the whole thing and that can alter the perspective of the decision we make. The decision we make should not be just3 because of what others may want us to do but it should come from within ourselves. We have to make sure our decision is properly paid attention to. For example, many times when a person wants to make a serious decision, they should take time and think about it, maybe even talk to another on what they think about the situation. There are so many things that can go wrong and so many things that can go right that could be missed if proper time isn't given to it.

What we decide when we are in the middle of something can go a long way in our life. We have to be careful with what we decide most times, proper needs to pay to it.

For example:

Let's say you decided to make money online, but you're not working on it every day, or you are doing it part-time, then you're not trying to make it happen. You have to take action and make the time for it as if you were going to work, or you're making money online would be your job.

Not even a job is paying you weekly, monthly or yearly for what you're doing so don't be making online money without following some rules

Make sure it is real to you and you will stand behind everything you do. Make sure your decisions are pure and made from the heart.

What you decide to do when you are doing something can go a long way in your life. You have to be careful with what you decide most times, proper attention needs to be paid to it.

Not many people realize this but our decisions can determine our destiny.

Do you know that some of the most successful people just get to where they are now because of their decision making?

Indeed, psychologists have found that the majority of our decisions are made at the spur of the moment. A great example is deciding our meal. How many of us go to a restaurant and look at a menu. We read each item, we ask ourselves if we like it, if we’ll purchase it and if we do, will it be satisfying. We picture the plate when it is delivered, how it’s presented, can we taste each flavour and of course the amount of food on the plate.

Sometimes we decide on something and it, later on, becomes a burden for us. What I'm saying is that in life we have to be careful about what we decide because the decision we choose might affect us at the end of the day. Be careful with what you decide on, it can make or break your day.

It is not surprising that you hear people say, "I want to do this, but my mind keeps telling me that I should do that." Well, let me tell you a true story about what can go on when we make a decision.

On the first day of school, I had to ride the bus. It was not my choice. I wanted to walk to school. The bus stop was right in front of our house. Once on the bus, some kids continuously called me "stupid head"; they even threw things at me while riding the bus. I was hurt by their words and actions, but I kept my head down (the worst thing I could have ever done). Nobody knew what was going on in my head; except for me.

We were getting off the bus for gym class when one of the guys started calling me names again. This time, I decided to fight back by saying, "Why are you picking on me? Is it because I am Indian or is it because you have nothing better to do?" That guy jumped right in my face and said, "No man, it is because you are stupid." Then he hit me on my shoulder and told me to come back at him.

I remember when I was in school, there were times I was always on my phone. Always on Facebook, on Twitter, and my friends would always tell me to put down the phone and focus. But just for this one time, I decided to do something else and it got better.

The next day in class, I was writing a report when my friend called me, he wanted to know why I did not come to play football as we agreed. I told him that I had a lot of homework and he said that was no excuse because he was always on the phone, but still managed to come to play. He was right, so instead of doing something else, I focused on my work and completed it that same day.

I decided to focus on what I'm doing right now. That's why I decided to come back home and do my work. That one decision changed everything in my life and now I'm telling you about it so you can learn from it as well.

When you are writing, talking, doing anything and you realize that you don't want to be doing what you are doing, that's when you should stop doing it. Because if you don't stop at that moment, you might never be able to. You might continue doing something that you hate and end up being miserable with your life.

At any point in your life, you can make a decision that will change your life…and it all happens in the blink of an eye. Your decisions determine how you spend your time, who you spend it with, and how much effort you put into trying to achieve your goals.

The right decisions can guide you to the best possible outcome. A wrong decision might lead you to a path of destruction and a lot of heartaches.

If you are ever to succeed in a career that you may have chosen or are currently pursuing, We need to do well with these Three Decisions every time we encounter them…

1. Be Decisive

2. Be Determined

3. Be Direct

4. Be Disciplined

Thanks for reading and God bless.



15
$ 2.76
$ 2.51 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.04 from @King_Gozie
$ 0.04 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 7
Sponsors of Gaftekloriginal
empty
empty
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
2 years ago
Topics: Lesson, Growth, Wisdom, Life

Comments

Decisions are hard to make especially the heavy ones. We should decide when we are ready. We should be considering factors too that might affected your decisions.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

When we make decisions we are not expected to make decisions that would affect others

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You are right, our decision shouldn't affect others badly at all

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow this is a great article about decisions making. Sometimes it is the smallest decision that can change ones life forever so we have to be very careful and direct when we make decisions.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks friend, a thorough carefulness need to be done when making decision

$ 0.00
2 years ago

All these time, I never knew you are Indian and also never knew you've been bullied before, it must have been a terrible experience but I know you are over it. Yes, in all we do, we should follow our mind, what we actually want, our decision.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😅😅😅 I am a Nigerian ooo. Well, all these stories aren't my experience, just a formulated one. Our decision really matters to our future.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aaaah 😂 now this got me. I actually thought it was your experience. Lol, the imagery was actually great.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😅😅😅, thanks dear

$ 0.00
2 years ago