Eid Mubarak

10 32
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
1 year ago
Topics: Free writing

NB: if you don't like the killing of animals, this article is not meant for you.

So yesterday 9th of July, 2022 happen to be Eid Mubarak for the Muslims and is a very important and a big celebration for them. I don't think it's necessary for me to explain the reason behind the celebration cos it's no longer new to us all. Let me start to explain how I spent this year Eid Mubarak.

Yesterday will happen to be the first Eid Mubarak that I will be celebrating in my house ever since I have grown to differentiate from right to left. It's always a custom for me and my family to always travel to our hometown where we will celebrate it with our family members and do it as a get to together celebration ( that's one of the reasons for the celebration though).

But this year happen to be different because of the incident at hand. My sick dad could not allow everyone to travel cos no one will be with him if we do. My mom and my junior brother travelled but remain only me and my eldest brother with my dad. I just have to stay behind to take care of him cos my eldest brother won't have time to do that, he will be busy with work and also has an exam coming up for him.

So despite how I am at home, I still enjoy myself to some point even though I missed every activity that will be done over there. My neighbour killed a goat and I was there to assist and celebrate it with them. It was as if I was in my hometown but can't be fully the same. My neighbour was friendly and he allow us to eat meat as we like, from boiled to mouth and from fried to eat. I ate meat to some extent and I was tired of eating meat for the rest of the day.

Part of the goat being cut out

The goat was a big one, it wasn't small at all, it has a lot of meat in it and that was why it went round for everyone. Rain was falling all through the day but it couldn't stop us from not doing the necessary. After boiling the meat and frying, a great soup was prepared and was supported by a very hot black Amala with ewedu ( Nigerians will know this combo ). Everyone was served, I ate and my belly was filled that I couldn't eat anything even at night.

It was after I ate that I went to shower. After that, I pressed my Sunday clothes ahead for today and went to rest till night. The power holding company (PHCN) did well, they brought the light for hours and everyone was surprised. Well, we paid for it and they shouldn't deprive us of our rights even though they are fond of doing that. I miss the fact that I didn't go to my hometown to celebrate it but I give thanks to almighty God for witnessing another year of it. I believe next year will be great in good health, new levels and a lot of achievement.

That was how I spent yesterday and thank God for today. Church service was great today and was powerful, I enjoyed it. My mom and my junior brother will be back tomorrow with lot of meats, I can't wait 😋😋😋😋, I might decide to travel to where they are coming from to go and relax as per it's my turn to go enjoy too, lols.

To all my Muslim family and friends, I wish you all Happy Eid Mubarak once again, may we witness more of it on earth.

Thanks for reading, I really appreciate your time.

The lead image is the cow that was killed in my home town, my brother sent it to me.

Bye for now 🥰🥰🥰

5
$ 1.10
$ 0.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.03 from @Tomi-Ajax
+ 2
Sponsors of Gaftekloriginal
empty
empty
Avatar for Gaftekloriginal
1 year ago
Topics: Free writing

Comments

It's good that you were able to celebrate Eid with your family :)

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If I say I didn't salivate upon seeing the matcheted goat with imagination on how it'll taste when prepared, I'd be lying. You guys enjoyed, goat meat is my favourite and I can k!ll for it. Lol 🤣.

Una own good, here we don't see Hausa people killing goat

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They are not hausa ooo, they are yoruba ooo. And goat has a a different taste, e sweet die.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This man you chop life for this eid oh

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Abi na, you sef enjoy na with all those jollof rice.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes oh I enjoy

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Get well soon to your Dad, dear. And lol I remember my Papa. He asked for a goat for his birthday the last time and so I bought him one and he sends me photos from when it's alive till they cook it lol. Oh Happy Eid!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

😅😅😅😅, thank you ma. Amen to that prayer.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I pray your dad's health get better... Should I send address so we can eat the meat together? 😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Amen, thank you dear. Send address, mafo😅

$ 0.00
1 year ago