Remembering Cynthia

14 36
Avatar for Fyangzee24
2 years ago
Topics: Grief, Sadness, Death

September 18, 2021

June 24th year 2019. I went to a school I am never familiar with. I was just a fresh graduate with no experience of working at all, well except for the practice I encountered during internships. I was 19 and all I have with me is a small determination to become a teacher and follow my career. I was nervous and uncertain about the outcome but I bravely faced that I am no longer a student. I am now officially unemployed so I need to have work.

I remembered entering the red small gate carrying my handbag with my resumรฉ and other pertinent papers.

I memorized every wrinkled line on your face. Your skin snow as white and your hair as black as ebony because it's newly dyed. You age like a fine wine. I sensed the winter season in you.

You asked me questions I gladly answered. What shocked me was when you told me to demo impromptu. I chose the topic "The Nervous System" as it was my favorite topic in Science. You were the first person to correct me with my pronunciation of a word that has the letter "t". I realized you are strict when it comes to grammar and pronunciation. There I am silently praying that you will hire me because I believe I will grow a lot in you.

Then you asked me, " How much salary would you like if I will hire you?" This question that I can never ever forget. I answered you, "I heard private schools have a minimum salary but it's just fine. I wouldn't be here if I'm after a bigger fortune. I'm here to have experience. That's all that matters." I saw how your bright red lips shined with a smile. You immediately wrote HIRED in my resumรฉ. I was like, "Is that all ma'am?" You said, "Yes! Start on my Monday." I was flabbergasted. I was just like 3 weeks of being officially unemployed.

You were the first person to believe in me. I know I was not the diligent and hardworking person that you like your workers to be but you made me one. You literally, raised me. I was just a caterpillar when I came into your school, now I am confidently flying like a butterfly.

Time flies so fast I can't imagine I surpassed the year with you. Honestly, there were days, I want to leave your school because of you being so tight and rigid with us. I cannot forget the days you ran your mouth with foul words just because of a mistake that can be justifiable by ourselves. Your words are like knives that cut within and leave uncurable scars. But who would've thought that it will make us stronger and more developed human beings.

Two years was long enough to make the bond stronger. We were all fazed with the rapid increase of covid deaths. You always care for us and there was not a day that you will not remind us to keep on wearing our masks and face shields. We all follow because we knew how vulnerable you are with your age.

Online distance learning was introduced to us. You never left us even though you are not familiar with technology because of your age. You may not be able to guide us on how to use our LMS but you always guide us with pronunciation and grammar as you always do. That's why your school is the famous English school in town ๐Ÿ˜Š

We are full of hope in the years of us amidst this new normal. But who would've thought that you will leave without notice?

September 15, 2020, we rushed you to the hospital because you were attacked with your asthma. I was afraid at that time. I was with you in the hospital. I was your storyteller, your caregiver, and your masseuse. I can still feel the body pain I had that time because you were too heavy and you only have me as your support whenever you want to the washroom. It really is a struggle. All the stories you told me when you were young are still on my mind.

After 3 days you were sent to Tacloban for operation. I was not able to come because of Covid protocols. I was too confident that all will be fine because you've been through a lot and that makes you a very strong person.

September 19, 2020, the call I should've not answered as if, it could change things. You left this world, us, your friends, and your family. My system cannot process the whole thing as I was in so much shop. Like, we were just together the few days but now they said you're gone.

No, it's been a year since you went somewhere else. There are times I hear your voice amending us because of the wrong word we pronounced. I can still hear your lively laugh in the kitchen. Everything is just like yesterday. How can I forget you when you imparted a lot in me?

Ma'am Cynthia, wherever you are right now, I wanna say thank you as I was not given the chance to express my gratitude to you for everything. Thank you for believing in me. For all the discouragements that molded me right now, I cannot believe there would be someone as good as you that can turn discouragement into motivation and encouragement. I miss you a lot. Thank you for being a mother to me while I'm away from home. I will never forget you. Forever in my heart, you'll stay.

I'm very sorry for being so dramatic tonight. While making a draft on this, I can't stop myself from crying. It's been a year and it's still painful. She was our pillar and the strength of the whole institution. I am asking for your prayers for her eternal rest as we commemorate tomorrow her first death anniversary.

Thank you everyone ๐Ÿ’œ

8
$ 4.63
$ 4.38 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @FarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of Fyangzee24
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fyangzee24
2 years ago
Topics: Grief, Sadness, Death

Comments

It is a great thing to have someone to look up to. I am sorry about what had happened. Regardless, let's just offer prayers and she is in good hands now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much ๐Ÿ’ž

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No worries.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am so sorry to hear this. By just reading this, I could already sense how much she impacted your life and molded you as a stronger and braver human being. We always have someone who believes in us and never fails to encourage us in their own ways. I am sure that she is proud of you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. I hope she is. I've been trying to hold on to all of her teachings since she's not here anymore. There are times I break down because I can't get to the track she made for me but I always try to get back on it because she is with me. And I know it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your remembrance of her through your words and how you recall your time spent together is like a celebration of her life where you were a part of. Sorry to hear about her demise but her memory and lessons live on

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you ๐Ÿคง

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wako nagdahom jod baray na ma ani mo ka close ni mam kay maldita bja lge to. Hehe! Pero naguol ko nagbasa ani.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Mao lagi baray. Sigehan bja kog kasaba ato pud. Pero nagkasuod ra jud kadugajan ๐Ÿ˜ Grabi ka caring bja nas maam.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ay no? Mao diay close na mo pag ajo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awhhh, sorry to hear this. There is really one person na tatatak sa atin para mag iwan ng happiness and some aral to us, sadly she has to leave agad. But I'm sure she's happy now in there to wherever she is right now ๐Ÿ’™

$ 0.00
2 years ago

If only we have the ability to sense that they're leaving, para masabi natin ang gusto nating sabihin :(

$ 0.00
2 years ago

oh am sorry to hear about this.. we get to meet people in our lives to leave an impact.. she was one of them in your life... virtual hugs!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. I wish we could visit heaven and how are they doing up there.

$ 0.00
2 years ago