POETRY and other beautiful things

4 18

Poetry often comes with the word "CREATE". I have discovered my love for poetry when I was in high school, and I started with a very dark piece. During those times, I felt so isolated, I was lonely, and I thought I was ready to leave everything behind. It was as if I'm surrounded by complete darkness and absolute depression. There was a feeling of numbness and emptiness, but I felt so heavy and I was in pain. Everything was confusing.

My depression was an effect of peer pressure and mostly the grade standards of my parents. I tried too hard to belong in a group in a community. Of course, as a child of my parents, I felt obliged to make them happy and proud, and all I can say is that I failed. I saw myself the way my mother saw me: a frustration, a disappointment, and all other words similar to that. Until one day, I held a pen and things just happened; the lines of pure sadness, those rhyming words filled with anger, and stanzas of regrets came out like some masterpiece. And for once, I felt happy and alive. So, I wrote and scribbled almost every day, to the point it became one of my habits. More like breathing, really. I discovered several metaphors and I created some. Poetry helped me face my fears. It made me realize that, although I will probably reminisce, it does not mean that I should keep mourning about it. Poetry became my comfort zone. It made me travel to places I never knew existed. It made me reach the stars and touch the moon's surface. It helped me find myself.

Poetry is also about open-mindedness. At first, I wrote about healing, after that I talked about love. Sometimes I scribbled about lust and why is it not always a bad thing. Poems are works of art and art shall not always be taken literally. Some are abstract and vague. Others have crystal clear meanings. I may talk about the ocean and how I let myself drown. But I am not planning on killing myself. You might have read the phrase " the opening of the bud", and I'm telling you it is not about a real flower and how it blossomed. The thing is, poetry is deeper than how you thought it was. You might think you have fathomed the idea (maybe you did), but there will be always something more. There will be always something more than the stitches of a worn-out shirt. There is so much than the chaos in the fields and the peace among the labyrinth. Just like you. You are so much more than creation with a heartbeat. You have more purpose than you think you have. YOU ARE SO MORE.

Poetry is science. It might have more atoms than you have in your body. It might be the reason why there is gravity. It can also be the reason why you stay afloat. In poetry, there are no boundaries, no limitations, no margins. In writing, there will always be hope as much as there are formulas in physics. Metaphors can let you walk in the ocean, fly without wings, and fix the plate you shattered. Poetry is a never-ending universe. It is like putting unequal weights on a scale, and still gain balance. To write is to walk on an unfamiliar road without the fear of getting lost. To write is being blind but still having the ability to see. To write is to create a beautiful masterpiece using a thin paintbrush. To write is to be complete once again when you thought you can never be fixed.

Poetry is a good doctor. The one who made your sufferings stop. The one who sliced open your chest and broke your ribs only to make your heart beat once again. Poetry is a navigator. The one who guided you to withstand the storm. The one that gave you the right directions when you have almost given up walking back home. Poetry is many things.

And lastly, poetry is poetry itself. It might be flawed in its structure, but it will always speak perfectly to the few who believe. Because when I thought it was finally the time for my life to end, it helped me see and start a new beginning. Let poetry heal you like how it saved me. And if doesn't, then find something that can or someone can.

How about you? How did poetry make an impact on you? I love to see your comments ☺

Lead image from unsplash.

2
$ 0.87
$ 0.76 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Bloghound
$ 0.03 from @Marinov
+ 1
Sponsors of Fyangzee24
empty
empty
empty

Comments

I am in awe to those who can do poetry. Writing is already tough and to do poetry is more challenging.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Challenging it is. It will take you to the depth of your creativity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Poetry is my friend for I can share everything without receiving any judgement.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

100% true 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago