My one-eyed Mom

16 38

My mom had only one eye. I hated her. For me, she's an embarrassment. I hated every time she goes to my school to cook for the kids at school and teachers at the canteen to support the family.

One day, mom passed by our classroom after delivering the food ordered by one of the teachers. She stop by and said hello to me. I was so embarrassed that I wanted to vanish that instant. How dare she do this to me? I already told her many times at home to never approach me or talk to me. I ignored her and threw her a look full of contempt and disdain, and I ran out.

The next day at school as I entered the classroom, I heard my classmates talking about me having a one-eyed mom. "Sherwin, that was your mom yesterday, right? Your mom has only one eye!" and the room is filled with laughter. I wanted to bury myself alive. I am very much embarrassed and the only I could think of is for my mom to disappear.

As soon as I got home, I went directly to the back portion of the house where I found her doing the laundry. I confronted her and said, "If you're only going to make me a laughing stock, why don't you just die?" She did not respond. I didn't feel any guilt and I didn't even stop to think for a second about what I had said, because I was full of anger. I was oblivious to her feelings.

I wanted out of the house and be out of the embarrassment she was bringing into my life. So, I studied real hard and got a chance to study abroad with the help of the scholarship I applied for at school.

Years passed, and I became successful, got married, bought a house, and had kids of my own. This is the happiest moment of my life. I am happy with my wife, my kids, and my comfortable life.

I never thought of her anymore but one day, my mother came to visit me. She hadn't seen me in years and hadn't seen her grandchildren yet.

When she stood by the door, my children laughed at her. I yelled at her for coming over uninvited. "How dare you come to my house and scare my children! Get out of here! Now!" And to this, she quietly answered, "Oh, I'm sorry. I may have gotten the wrong address," and she disappeared out of sight.

One day, I received a letter inviting me to our school reunion. I decided to go but I lied to my wife that I was going on a business trip. After the reunion, I went to the old shack, just out of curiosity.

The people nearby said that she died. I did not shed a single tear upon hearing it. She is dead to me a long time ago. Someone handed me a letter that was from my mother that she wanted me to have.

My dearest son,

I think of you all the time. I'm sorry that I came to your house and scared your children.

I was so glad when I heard you were coming for the reunion. But I may not be able to even get out of bed to see you. I'm sorry that I was a constant embarrassment to you when you were growing up.

You see, when you were very little, you got into an accident, and lost your eye. As a mother, I couldn't stand watching you having to grow up with one eye. So I gave you mine.

I was so proud of my son who was seeing a whole new world for me, in my place with that eye.

With all my love to you,

Your mother

Lead image from Google.

Thank you <3

8
$ 10.42
$ 10.23 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Ruffa
$ 0.05 from @foryoubtc09
+ 5
Sponsors of Fyangzee24
empty
empty
empty

Comments

A successful and impressive fictional story. Sacrifices always pay a price. Maternal sacrifice can't be scaled with anything I guess.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you. Truly is that nothing can be compared to a mother's Love.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hate you so munch 🥺 you just made me teary eyed right now. Napaka 🤬🤬🤬 ng anak na ganito. Gigil ako ee. But she's a mother so she will still do anything for her kids to the point of giving her own eyes to her kid 😿😿

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Napaka forgiving lang ng mega magulang talaga. Nakakainis yung mga anak na walang utang na loob 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sad, why there are kids who neglect and shame of thier parents

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Probably, they cannot accept their status in life and are hypocrites to act like they do not know their parents because they are poor and uneducated. Poor mindset of people.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think my heart scrambled into pieces while reading. Kudos to the parents who sacrifice for they children.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

They deserve to be given praise for being sacrificial and loving to their children.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

People with noble hearts are always oppressed in the world,,, This really heartbreaking story has given me a lot of trouble...

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oh, I am very sorry if this gave you a lot of trouble ☺

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Parents especially mother's can really sacrifice anything for her child but unfortunately not all son/daughter appreciate that sacirfice🥺

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Blind enough to not see the sacrifices and efforts of the parents. Yet, parents' love is unconditional and unchangeable.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sometimes there were someone like this who was shy about their parents. Why does some people are like this.😥

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I know a few also who are not proud of their parents. Shame on them.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your mother's story made me sad. You try to stay away from your mother at school because your mother has one eye. Even though your mother gave you that eye. Parents are no less than a blessing. When they leave, the veil of truth is lifted. You will be happy to know that our parents are highly respected here which is their right. God bless you!

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That is a story inspired by a story I heard from a friend. Mothers are angels sent to God to guide us here on earth.

$ 0.01
2 years ago