“Rondas” (Traditional Venezuelan Songs and Games)

10 35
Avatar for Frankmart
2 years ago

Some time ago I read @Pichi's article titled Tunes from Childhood Days, committing myself to publish this article, I hope you enjoy it.

The traditional games where chants are made are the Rondas, depending on the country and locality present several differences in the lyrics, among these are:

Rice pudding

It is a popular game where both girls and boys participate, making a wheel holding hands, leaving one in the center, which is pointing with his finger while singing, at the end of the song enters the boy or girl who points.

It is said that it has more than 100 years of creation, of unknown author, apparently it originated from a French song of the XIV century, but the lyrics were probably written in Spain at the beginning of the XX century.  This song is part of the Latin American Iberian folklore.

Lyrics:

Rice pudding,                                                                                                                  I want to marry                                                                                                        with a lady from the capital

who knows how to sew,                                                                                          who knows how to embroider                                                                                who sets the table in its holy place.

I am the widow, the King's daughter.                                                                          I want to get married and I can't find anyone to marry

So get married girl I'll give you                                                                                     shoes and coffee colored stockings

With you yes,                                                                                                               not with you,                                                                                                               with you my child I will marry you

Rice pudding is also a very tasty popular dessert.

You can see the recipe in the following link: Arroz con Leche

The Sea Viper

Is a game of Spanish origin, which spread throughout the Latin American continent.

In this game you must form a line, all holding each other.

Two other children should be holding hands but upwards, making an arc, previously have been put names of fruits.

Then the children in the line will sing without letting go passing under the hands of the two children, they lower their hands and catch one and ask which of the two fruits you like and is placed behind the corresponding one, passing all then pull from one side to the other.

Lyrics:

To the viper, the sea viper, of the sea they can pass this way, those in front run a long way and those behind will stay behind, behind, behind, behind, behind.

A Venezuelan woman who sold fruit plum, apricot, melon or watermelon. Verbena, verbena, verbena, matatena garden verbena, verbena, matatena garden.

These are my wonderful Sponsors, I invite you to review their articles, they are very good and fascinating, I am sure you will like them.

Sponsors of Frankmart
empty
empty
empty

In the following video is a contest of children's rounds, in it there are 3 songs. I didn't know that this kind of contests were made, until I saw it on the web.

The backyard of my house

Lyrics:

The backyard of my house is particular it gets wet and dries out like the others. Bend down and bend back down again. pretty girls know how to bend down.

Chocolate, grinder, chocolate, grinder, stretch, stretch, stretch the queen is going to pass by.

They say that I am, that I am lame and if I am, I'm a liar, since I was a little girl, I've been suffering from this foot suffering from this foot.

How Much Will You Give Me Sailor?

Lyrics:

How much will you give me sailor,
How much will you give me sailor,
To take you out of the water?
Yes, yes,
To take you out of the water?

I won't even give you one cent,
I won't even give you one cent
So that you'll get out of the water,*
Yes, yes,
So that you'll get out of the water.

If you don't give me one cent,
If you don't give me one cent,
At least give me a crouton,
Yes, yes, yes,
At least give me a crouton.

 

Mambru went to War

Lyrics:

Mambrú went to war, chiquitin chiquitin chibirim chin chin chin chin Mambrú went to war, maybe when will he come. ha ha ha ha ha ha ha ha Maybe when will he come

He will come for Easter, chiquitin chiquitin chiquitin chin chin chin He'll come for Easter Or for Trinity. ha ha ha ha ha ha. Or for Trinidad.

 Trinity is passed, chiquitin chiquitin chibirim chin chin chin chin. The Trinity is overdone. Mambrú doesn't come back anymore, ha ha ha ha ha ha Mambrú don't come back no more.

Could not show the video but this is the link if you want to see it, I also posted another similar video: Children's Games Competition

The Chickens in my Casserole

Lyrics:

The chickens in my casserole are not for me to eat, but for the widows who know how to cook them.

They are seasoned with chili and onion, bay leaves, they are taken out of the casserole when they are going to be eaten.

 Compose yourself, girl, compose yourself. Here comes your sailor, with that nice suit that looks like a butcher.

 I'm the one who breaks the bread, I'm the one who pours the wine, I'm the one who wiggles with that divine body.

 Last night I saw you, dancing the chiquichá, with your hands on your waist to go out dancing.

 Last night I saw you in Tulipán Park, with your hands on your hips param pan pin pon pin pom pan... Tararan!

Maria del Sol Peralta

These that I present have a lot of variation with the lyrics that we used, I did not want to modify them to give the authorship as it corresponds. We have many other songs that we used in the round games, I leave you the titles

María Moñitos

La Señorita

La Muñeca vestida de azul

A la rueda rueda

Matarilerileron

Alelimon Alelimon

La pájara pinta

Cocherito Leré

They were fun games, I hope you enjoyed them.

All content is original

The information obtained from the Web is indicated

The photos were taken by me

Thanks for visiting me, you can leave a comment and remember to Like and Follow me.

Special thanks to my sponsors for their great support, have a great October.

Thursday, October 07, 2021

References:

Photo Portada by: https://aprende.guatemala.com/cultura-guatemalteca/juego-infantil-campanita-de-oro-en-guatemala/

https://html.rincondelvago.com/juegos-tradicionales-y-recreativos-de-venezuela.html

https://cancioncitas.com/canciones-infantiles-famosas/arroz-con-leche/

https://es.wikipedia.org/wiki/La_v%C3%ADbora_de_la_mar_(juego)

https://www.letras.com/tatiana/634559/

https://www.mamalisa.com/?t=es&p=5690

https://www.letras.com/enrique-ana/1659899/

https://maguare.gov.co/los-pollos-de-mi-cazuela-2/

https://juguetesjuegosvene.wixsite.com/vzla/rondas

4
$ 0.70
$ 0.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Pichi28
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
+ 3
Sponsors of Frankmart
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Frankmart
2 years ago

Comments

I think I have played a game in my childhood similar to that video of the kids in a circle. Really brings a lot of fun memories!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It was the intention, to take us back to our childhood and remember pleasant moments. Thank you for visiting

$ 0.00
2 years ago

hahaha i enjoy reading and watching the videos and yes we do have some similar games only different songs used.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for visiting, glad you liked it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha, friend! You have triggered a lot of memories, and you made me smile! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It also happened to me, while I was looking for them, singing, dusting off that HD, we remembered a few, after I published the rest arrived. I still enjoy it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember all of them, but I especially used to love La Vibora de la mar.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh my gosh! Thank you Frank for sharing this one! Some games seem similar to what we have also but now you got me wondering where did we got it from !

It is also a curiosity to me that though these are for kids' games the first one talks about wanting to or looking for someone to marry .

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well I think they were very precocious children. It happens that many people got married when they were very young, in our culture it seems that they were encouraged to procreate when they were teenagers, maybe that is the reason why there are low income people with so many children. I had an uncle who procreated 26 children, 19 with his wife, the rest with the neighbor across the street.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

😲 wow! 26...! That is a lot!

$ 0.00
2 years ago