Cream or Peanut Butter

13 26
Avatar for Frankmart
2 years ago
Topics: Sweet, Recipe, Spanish, Diary, True life, ...

Happy day Read.cash Community, I hope you are all well, following with the promotion of #SweetWeek of @ArteFM, my article today is about Peanut Butter or Peanut Cream. According to my criteria the term Peanut Butter is misused, due to the fact that butter is obtained from milk, so from now on I will call it Peanut Cream.

If you have read my previous articles, first I do a little research about the history of the gastronomic preparations I have made at home.

The peanut is an oilseed from South America, where it was consumed preparing a chicha, about 5000 years ago it arrived in Mexico, where the natives prepared a cream by crushing its seeds, this paste was offered mainly to the gods.

The most recent history of peanut cream, very different from the one prepared by the Incas and Aztecs, is from the end of the 19th century that began its commercialization, which had a great demand after the civil war.

These are my wonderful Sponsors, I invite you to review their articles, they are very good and fascinating, I am sure you will like them.

Sponsors of Frankmart
empty
empty
empty

It is not really clear which was the beginning of the Crema de Mani,

Eleanor Rosakranse (historian), says that Rose Davis (New York), in the 1840's started its preparation, because her eldest son informed her that he saw women in Cuba crushing peanut seeds into paste and spreading it on bread.

Others affirm that it was Marcellus Gilmore Edson, Canadian chemist who was granted the first patent in the USA, calling it "Penaut Candy", there is no evidence that he commercialized the product, the product was described from roasted peanuts passing it through a mill to obtain a product with a consistency similar to lard.

A St. Louis businessman by the name of George Bayle was marketing peanut butter. In the 1920's he claimed to be the original factory.

The National Peanut Board says that Dr. John Kellogg received a patent in 1896 for a technique to produce peanut butter. Dr. Kellogg promoted the consumption of peanut butter, which he also prescribed to his patients who needed to consume protein because they did not eat meat due to lack of teeth. John Lambert, who worked for Dr. Kellogg, opened a company to manufacture machinery for industrial peanut processing.

In 1903, Ambrose Straub obtained a patent for developing a peanut butter manufacturing company.

In 1904, peanut butter was introduced as an industrialized product at the St. Louis World's Fair, using a machine manufactured by Ambrose Straub.

Today we have many brands of peanut butter, but the most famous are Skippy and Jif.

How to make Peanut Cream at Home

A few years ago I was investigating how to make peanut butter for commercialization, the first challenge was how to roast and shell the peanuts, I was preparing about 10 kg of peanut cream. Many people told me that you have to mix it with sand and put it on the fire in a big pan, then shelling it by hand, this took me to google, I found a video making a shelling machine with a bicycle, I made mine a little rustic but functional, when I can buy peanuts I make an article showing what is the process of shelling and roasting, I also learned how to roast it in the oven.

Now comes the challenge of how to make the cream? It was complicated because what appeared in google were Colloidal Machines for the preparation, I always told myself there must be another way, finally I got a video preparing it in a blender.

My first preparation was in a blender, but I don't recommend it because it overheats a lot and wears out the carbons of the motor, besides it can burn it, if there is no other option you should add very little roasted peanuts.

Then I used a small chopper, but I damaged it, I needed something more powerful, so I bought a bigger processor, which is the one I use nowadays.

TELL ME HOW TO PREPARE THE CREAM, ENOUGH OF SO MUCH WORD .......

A little patience please, I have to do it without haste.

UTENSILS

Food Processor or Chop everything, otherwise Blender.

INGREDIENTS

Roasted Peanuts

Sugar to taste

Salt to taste

Vegetable oil (optional)

Variants

Chocolate Cream

Almond cream

PREPARATION

Normally I only use salt, but I had clients who liked it with sugar, in some occasions I added oil because the peanuts did not have enough fat, but the amount of oil is very small, for 1 Kg of roasted peanuts I used 1 teaspoon of oil if necessary.

Add the roasted peanuts in the processor, add salt, sugar and grind the peanuts, at the beginning it will create a mass, which will form a cream, you can leave some chopped peanuts to the mixture, or let the cream alone.

The peanut cream is ready to eat, you can use the variants to mix the creams, they are delicious.

These are some of the presentations marketed, roasted peanuts with shell, without shell, Peanut Cream (200 g), Peanut Cream with Chocolate Ganache (200 g).

If you would like to participate in #SweetWeek.

The rules are simple

  • Have fun

  • Participate whenever you want

  • Post #SweetWeek

  • Tag @ArteFM

All content is original

The information obtained from the Web is indicated

The photos were taken by me

Thanks for visiting me, you can leave a comment and remember to Like and Follow me.

November 14, 2021

REFERENCES:

COVER PHOTO : https://cubiro.com/como-hacer-mantequilla-de-mani/

https://us.leskanaris.com/6442-who-invented-peanut-butter.html

7
$ 5.75
$ 5.48 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @gertu13
+ 5
Sponsors of Frankmart
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Frankmart
2 years ago
Topics: Sweet, Recipe, Spanish, Diary, True life, ...

Comments

When we were kids, my mom would roast peanuts in a wok adding oil, salt and sugar. Stirring it every so often until she thought it was roasted enough. We would then place that in a container and let it cool then bring that to the market to process it into peanut butter or peanut cream as you called it. Calling it peanut cream makes sense :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I roast it in the oven on a tray, checking it every 5 minutes, until it is golden brown, then I process it into cream. Today I bought peanuts, to do the shelling process for the next article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do know how to make peanut butter, we used to have a small peanut butter business. Just so tedious roasting the peanut.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I toast it in the oven, I put it in trays of 180 to 200 degrees, I turn it every 5 minutes for approximately 20 to 25 minutes, and I keep tasting it until it is toasted to my liking. Thank you for reading

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do like peanut butter or peanut cream, I think the smooth would be cream and the rough be butter. You made it, that is really cool! I can imagine you would need a powerful motor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is important that the motor has power, because as the peanuts are crushed, it becomes a heavy paste to work with, until it becomes creamy. If it is going to be made in a blender, very little peanuts should be added, so as not to damage the motor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes not many peanuts or you will burn out the motor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like peanut butter. I don't have a procrser but I've always wanted one.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I had no intention of buying a processor, when I started to prepare the peanut cream, I looked for alternatives and that was the best, the incredible thing was that I bought it used in the free market super cheap, but only the box was missing, practically new, I bought it with distrust, in the first sale I took out the cost.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

How nice. I like enterprising people

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love peanut butter or it might be peanut cream, I am not sure. Haha. i have been creating certain fillings when the quarantine started and I think that making peanut butter/cream is my absolute favorite.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is a delight, I have not prepared it for a long time, but when I buy peanuts these days for the next article I will prepare it. Thank you for your visit, happy day

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are most welcome and I can't wait for your next one. Happy day as well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago