Must we agree to whatever we read?

13 79
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

No matter what our truth is, are we expected to go along with everything a writer says?

We all have our truth. It's okay, it's beautiful! But is it okay if we disagree with what someone writes? I have a tough time with that. My philosophy is writing for learning, but how can we do that when there is no one to show me where am going wrong?

The way I see it, there are two views with the advent of the internet. We are now able to share our thoughts with friends, family, acquaintances, total strangers, people who have similar interests or perspectives, all without leaving our house. And most importantly, we are being seen with these views. Most of us don't want to offend anyone nor do we want to be offended by someone else's views. And if you are on social media for any length of time, your person is out there in cyberspace for others to peruse. And they will.

The writer's "point of view"?

What is the writing from?

Is it factual, just, and true, based on real-life experience?

When you create a character, is it real? Are there "real people" in the image too?

Is it not okay for me to draw my conclusions?

I believe it's okay for me to tell everyone what I think, based on my own experience and understanding of the subject discussed. When I choose to read an article, is my decision to do so based on my interpretation of what the writer wrote? Or is my interpretation colored by personal bias?

I have noticed that we seem to always agree on a writer's point of view just about anything they posted. I have taken some time to think about this, why will a writer feel offended when someone gives a contrary view against what was written?

I feel as if we are held to a kind belief that we must agree with whatever we read to be acceptable by others. And this made us all look like a kind of a jerk in a circle.

The only difference I see is that I can never be upset with someone for not agreeing with me.

Why can't I be upset with someone who criticizes me? Am I a mind reader?

Is that what it is?

I don't think that anyone is truly above criticism.

I dislike reading negative comments on an article. It cheapens the author and anyone else who might have taken time to read it. It's like shoving a stinky piece of garbage in someone's face and having them put up with it. On the other hand, I have read some good constructive criticism, which can be very helpful.

I enjoy giving my two cents. It's a way to encourage. It's also a way for people to give quality feedback that can be of help to the author on that particular subject. I find that people get very defensive when I have to critique them.

Many times I find the same reason that so many authors have for doing the same thing. It's easier to just say, "it's okay", "I know", "you're right" and so on and so on.

Why not just give honest criticism?

I don't think any person who has anything to say is looking for a thank you or a pat on the back. I do hope that people who take the time to read this blog will realize that all criticism is not negative. It's helpful.

So while I'm not looking for agreement or disagreement, I would like for you to take to heart what I write. Whenever you post anything on social media, you're making a choice. You're choosing to produce content. Whether it's to sell something, to entertain, or to educate, the act of producing content is to express your opinion (even if it's just about food). And that's perfectly fine. Your opinion is valid as far as you are concerned, but to someone else, it may not. And I believe anyone has the right to say whatever he or she doesn't agree with on any piece of writing.

Yes, constructive criticism.

Without it, we may not ever have any books. A real honest critique that says you didn't give the right or correct information is okay.

There is no penalty for being wrong. But, there is a penalty for being uninformed or misinformed.

Unless we all read and pay attention to others, we may never know if we are doing right or wrong with our writing?

Do we owe each other an apology for constructive criticism? I wonder if all people who know anything about writing, have to read everyone's thoughts on how it's done?

Does anyone have to have the right to tell another what they are doing wrong?

Some people hate to be criticized. Most can't help themselves when they are being criticized for the information they shared. I guess we can only know who we are by putting ourselves out there.

We can only know for sure what kind of person we are if we dare to come out of our "insulation", to allow ourselves to be criticized and also be bold enough to give the same when necessary. I am not telling anyone to start finding faults in others' writing, but to be an eye for correction when so needed. I guess it boils down to being able to stand on your own two feet and knowing how to stand on someone else's.

A compromise is a red line for some.

Some are very hard to compromise with. Some people will never compromise. I know because I was one of them. I remember in my early days as a writer here, how often I have to deal with criticism, they were right, but I always feel hurt at the time. I later realize that these people were only helping me to be a better writer. I remember several times @wakeupkitty thrown some jabs on my writing, and also @Telesfor asking me to write about what I know best because what I was sharing was either half information or no information. Those criticism help me to learn the rope in the writing business. I would rather agree to disagree than to disagree to be mean.

There is a line to walk when you are in a creative field. Being in the creative field, you are, I believe, destined to receive criticism.

Yes, it comes with the territory.

You may become successful but to be truly successful you have to know how to deal with the constant criticism. You have to know how to adjust. You have to know how to take constructive criticism and how to give it. I guess it comes down to knowing who you are, what you want to write about, and what you are willing to compromise.

Don't take it personally because if you do you won't be able to survive. The problem comes when you allow the criticism to get to you and you start to think you are a lousy writer.

You aren't.

The person who wrote the criticism is only trying to help. They are just telling you the truth. If you can't see that, the feeling of being inadequate will keep you from writing.

You know how someone will tell you the moon is made of cheese, so are the stars, and it still won't stop them from believing it. I know we like to make fun with our writing, but there are subjects we can't do that with because people who read might want to verify the truth about what was written.

I think it will be right to leave room for criticism and be prepared to accept correction when necessary. That's the only way I think we can learn better.

23
$ 14.97
$ 14.46 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Eybyoung
$ 0.05 from @George_Dee
+ 14
Sponsors of Fexonice1
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Fexonice1
2 years ago

Comments

Constructive criticism is always welcomed on my side. We learn every day, and that comment could add more value to your content. Sometimes we make mistakes and it takes another person pointing it out for us to realize that. It helps us learn and become better writers.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're writing my thoughts, and most times when I read some comments in a post I will begin to wonder if they even made attempt to read, if you don't read and article properly, how will you know where the writter is getting it wrong??

I believe that everyone has their own perspectives , web understand things in different ways, but the right is not always right because no one knows it all.

If I'm making a mistake, correct me , why will one feel bad because you're been corrected? Taking to corrections will make you a better writter. Like me , I don't hesitate to make corrections when I'm supposed to, and sometimes I disagree with some writter..., Sound crazy πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ Thought it will be in a polite way , not in the way that the writter will feel offended, you can just say..... you're good in your writting, I love the pictures you used , but don't but the world is not circle , but a oval shape, you can actually make the proper research, maybe you made a mistake, Keep it up" Just like that, such a person should not feel bad with such a polite word.

Though some people make a blind corrections, knowing so well that you're correct, I will say, such people should be ignored... Hehehehe

Glad I came across your article.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

My position in all that has been said is that if a writer fears criticism, then the writer's potency with the pen πŸ–ŠοΈ is questionable. In writing, there will always be a new perspective to whatever has been written.

Criticism shouldn't lower our ego or confidence, it should rather help us build up a new level of growth or understanding in the direction of what had been constructively criticised.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

At the end of the day I view it this way. If the writer is offering a point of view, that writer should also be willing to accept that the point of view of someone else is different. I have opinions, perspectives, introspection, and I don't feel any shame in sharing those when the writer has sort of opened the door to hearing them by writing whatever he has written.

On my own posts, I prefer people to be open and honest. I don't mind dissent, and I don't mind debate. I like people to be real, to say what's on their mind, even if I wind up not liking or agreeing with what they have to say.

And sometimes I wind up having a new perspective or a new opinion based on a dissenting comment. I do not pretend to have all the answers, I do not pretend to be all knowing...

And of course when I write something I do not expect that everyone is going to like it. Either the content or the way I wrote it. Being overly sensitive is a recipe for disaster for a writer in my opinion. When you put anything out there before the public, you have to have a thicker skin.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

See everyone has different ways of understanding things sometimes when some people read they might not understand it but they want to comment and some truly agree to what you posted

Meanwhile it is not bad for someone to correct another person's article

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope all writers like it. And I hope they have such views as yours. Yes we could say we accept constructive criticism but deep inside we also know that we are hurt a bit or our confidence shaken. I myself accept constructive criticism because it help but I also know myself that I should prepare myself for it because I will be dealing some hard time to adjust. Yes, I am guilty of such act of agreeing. But it doesn't mean I don't want tell the writer what he/she need to improve it's because I always wanted to relate myself to what he/she writing and see to it that I could get what he/she mean. Therefore, I am not agreeing for the sake of wanting to have a good impression to the writer. I am writing a comment and find where I could find myself relating.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is a brilliant concept to write a post about... and I love constructive criticism... any other form of insulting criticism, I deal with Sarcasm 🀣🀣🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There is nothing bad in correcting someone. The way we go about it is what matters. Dropping ones view(whether against or in support) can be done by dropping a comment or if one have access to the person on other platform. You've message me different times to tell me one typo or the other or suggestions on how i should have written some things. The way we choose to correct a misconception or error will determine the effect it will have on the other. If someone writes an article in responds to what another wrote and invalidates each statement /points made, it makes the other feels he/she is being attacked. I'm sure sir Telesfor corrections came as a comment on a post and not as an article that everyone sees and read. I'm not against honest criticism. In fact, I'm open to it and love to interact with people when they disagree with whatever i write. I learn more from people who have other views. Than people who blows sirens "wow! Wow! Wow!". That being said, left to me if i see something I'm against or which is totally against the rule, the best thing i do is to ignore the post or just report it if it is violating any rule. Dropping one's opinion can be dangerous on this platform. I'm talking from experience 🀣. I'm sure you know the issue I'm talking about sir.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

What am dealing with in this article is not about a violation of platform rules but about the information that we read that we do not agree with and yet we just accept it to be true because we don't want the writer to take us in bad faith? There is nothing holding anyone back from saying his or her mind on any opinion, and the issue of thinking that you might be victimized shouldn't hold you back from saying your mind.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As i said, the way we go about letting the other person know matters.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I remember we always have some debates or our opinions does not coincide sometimes, but I like that we were still not hating each other. I think that's how we handle criticism, not to hate those who give honest opinions.

But there are some who pissed me always in a way that's it's not constructive criticism anymore it's like correcting me for my point of view and try to change it which I don't do, so I end up blocking them. I missed Kittywu, she was honest commenter and she doesn't hold back just to please the writer.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good one. Criticism most times are annoying but in the reality it’s prepares one for better. Only if we could take it as a point of correction to our mistake and ponder on them for better.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I like the concept of individual investigation of the truth and it applies here

$ 0.00
2 years ago