Immunization: Fear Of The Unknown

3 22
Avatar for FashTioluwa
2 years ago

Firstly what is immunization, according Merriam –Webster dictionary, immunization is the act of making someone or something immune: or the act or result of immunizing something. It is also a treatment (as by vaccination) for the purpose of making an organism immune to disease or pathogenic agent.

I was opportune to work as a field agent for the immunization of kids against polio disease which happen every year, it’s one of the program the federal or state government do to assist parent help to build their kids immune system.

Image taken by me

Many are sacred of the vaccines probably because of what they have heard about vaccine, the word “VACCINE” has been generalized to the covid-19 vaccine, the immunization vaccination require no form of injecting, the kids just have to open their mouth and a drop of vaccine is drop in and that’s all, like I said, it is to fight against polio in kids, even some parent don’t understand what POLIO is about.

What is POLIO?

A virus that may cause paralysis and is easily preventable by the polio vaccine.

Polio is transmitted through contaminated water or food, or contact with an infected person.

You can read more about it on any search engine you have on your device, I and my team did our best to convince some people on the importance, but some remain adamant on the intake of the vaccine for their kids.

One of the nice experience was, I and my team got to a house and we were welcome like they have been expecting us, the vaccination is for just kids from a day old to five years of age, and the smallest in the house is 2years old which made the work more easy for us, we did the necessary vaccination, on our way out, a certain lady called us and said we should please visit her home so we can vaccinate her kids before moving on, and I was happy some people know the importance without having to explain it myself, the opposite was the case in other place, after we had a long walk from place to place we got to a place with many kids playing outside the house and we called for the attention of the eldest to get their parent, immediately the mother came out, she gave this “DON’T TOUCH MY KIDS” look, I tried to bring out the best smile I had on me left, the conversation went like this,

Me: good afternoon ma, we mean no harm, we are on a task to vaccinate all kids from age 5 and below, please ma, and how old are your kids

Weird woman: aahhhh, we don’t have corona virus here o

Me: ma, it not for corona virus, it’s against polio disease……(before I could finish)

Weird woman: it doesn’t concern me, that’s how you people us to do, you won’t bring money, you will be bring drugs like we are sick, did I call to tell you my children are sick

Me: ma, it’s nothing like that, please calm down, this vaccine is.. ( cut me short again)

Weird woman: *calls out her children name* better go inside before they kidnap you (in yoruba language)

At that moment, I knew she wasn’t at fault, she was just ignorant about us, and was not ready to learn from us, we could have been her life saver, I did my possible best to try calling her out, but It was looking like a bother now so I had to back off.

Since today is Sunday, we decided to go to some churches and mosques thinking it would make the job faster and less stressful, but to my disappointment, some religion leaders weren’t ready to give us listening ear, I don’t know if it the ignorance that’s affecting them or what they have heard, many thought it was covid-19 vaccine, and with the rumor about the covid-19 vaccine, it made some people reject it, yet many churches and mosques also were accommodating, even while vaccinating the kids, some churches got us light refreshment which made the job enjoyable.

The point here is that, yes, it Is not good to jump into conclusion about things you don’t know, but always remain calm to get information, educate yourself daily about things you don’t know, no knowledge is a waste, there is a popular saying “what you don’t know, you fear, what you fear, you hate, and what you hate, you seek to destroy it” so before we give-in into that destructive side of ourselves, let’s do some research about those things we don’t know, less we destroy those things that can be of great help to us

Thanks for reading.. Lead image and all other image source are all from me, I love you all😇💯💖

4
$ 0.12
$ 0.10 from @Kristofferquincy
$ 0.02 from @jasglaybam
Sponsors of FashTioluwa
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for FashTioluwa
2 years ago

Comments

The part where she mentions her children were about to be kidnapped is really funny.. 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Exactly . we just had to move immediately

$ 0.00
2 years ago

🤣🤣🤣.. I laugh in Spanish.

$ 0.00
2 years ago