That meal (Abacha)

7 28
Avatar for Ezzyoj
Written by
3 years ago

I have not eaten abacha close to four (4) years now or more, so I decided to satisfy my craving of it this evening. I was enjoying a cool evening reading at the car park when it arrived, so I decided to eat it out here so nature can enjoy with me.

The story of how this abacha craving started for the Son of Nebu was something else.

During the lock down, a friend uploaded a picture on her WhatsApp status of a tasty homemade abacha she prepared for herself and her husband.

I couldn't get over the picture, so I sent her a message to please send some over to me since we were all in Lagos. She said it had finished, but promised to prepare one in the coming days and send over to me. This was around April.

Because I had a perfect picture of what she showed me, I just didn't want to buy it elsewhere. I wanted to taste her own. You know that feeling when you strongly believe for no particular reason that someone or something will offer you the best and nothing else can change your mind.

So I held on. Week after week, she kept giving me excuses and reasons. But she never stopped sending me other dishes she prepared. It was like she was punishing me for wanting to eat abacha. Chai! Fear Anambra ladies!

From April till November, she never came through. I am a really patient person. I love to make and share my life memories because they are stories I want to relish intermittently. I wanted to quench my years long abacha craving with a beautiful story of how my friend helped me out, but sadly, that never happened. I still wanted to tell this story, so I had to find an alternative.

I called up a very popular restaurant in Ikeja and requested them to prepare this special abacha for me. I sent Tosin to get the package for me this evening.

So ladies and gentlemen, here we are here. Come and enjoy with me. But I made sure to finish eating it before sharing this story, so nobody will rush down here to chop my fish. I love fish and turkey so much.

What's the lesson worth sharing with your friends and loved ones today?

Patience.

Because I believed it was worth it, I decided to wait for such long periods for my friend. And perhaps you should too when something means a lot to you. No time is too much to work hard towards what we truly want to get.

Sadly in my own case, I didn't get exactly what I wanted. But from the taste of this abacha, I think I must've gotten something much tastier and satisfying. I'm definitely sure about this.

Till we get to the Promised Land, I shall be waiting for when you will pass me a glass of water and thank God for the gift of grace for the race.

8
$ 0.58
$ 0.58 from @TheRandomRewarder
Avatar for Ezzyoj
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

This particular food is something I can eat for the whole year without getting tried

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Anytime i visit the east, that's my favorite

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is interesting to read about abacha meal.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am a fan of abacha when I was serving in abia state, I love it so much

$ 0.00
3 years ago

One of my favorite food from the east

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is my first time of hearing about abacha meal

$ 0.00
3 years ago