Tales of Nigeria parenting

6 24
Avatar for Ezzyoj
Written by
3 years ago

"I want to be a policeman!!!' he said gleefully"

"Eh! Ha! Policeman ke? Yeh! Mo daran!" "You had better shut your mouth there, before I shut it for you !"

Let's call him Sean.

"Jesu! Ori awon ota mi buru" 🙆 Sean ki lon so lenu e yi" ( Jesus!, my enemies must suffer, Sean what are you saying from your mouth?)

"Can't you hear all the things your mate's are saying?? Doctor, lawyer, engineer, chef, e.t.c"

Other onlookers were looking at the mother's drama and were laughing.

I even heard one saying "slap sense enter this im big head jare, he no serious"

I was there smiling, mixed feelings. The Nigerian in me said a big fat NO, not with the situation on ground anyways.

But the teacher in me, wanted to know why. I was full of admiration for the 4 year old.

I didn't want to interfer, I wasn't the questioner.

"Why would you like to be a police man of all professions in the world?"

I heard the man asked the little boy again.

Young man was already confused with Mama's drama. He didn't know what to expect from her when he speaks again.

"Talk na! Of all jobs in the world , Tori oloun ! "( Of all jobs in the world for God's sake) Omoyi ma pa mi ( this child don't kill me) He kept mute. Couldn't talk.

I was interested now.

His self esteem have been tampered with and I won't take it

That's not right ! I went closer, squat to his level so that I could see his face and he could see mine. I put my right hand on his shoulder and told him that's it's ok to speak up. I nodded again and urged him on.

He did. He smiled, looked up at the questioner and I heard the most wonderful thing from s four year old! "I want to be a police man so that I can stop crimes and make everywhere a better place".

I was dumbfounded, didn't know when I started clapping!! Others joined in the clap and you could see the joy on his face when he felt accepted!

I wowed! No, I won't talk about how parents and our society sometimes force thier wills on thier kids. Not today.

I only want you to see how at this little age, this young man could define his purpose!

He knew what he wants and Why he wants it. He could have changed his mind after seeing his mother's and every onlookers reaction. But he believes that whatever he has to say as to why he wants to become a policeman, is valid. Yes , his dream is valid and that is what matters most to him! Dear onlooker, what defines you? To what purpose are you on earth??

Why do you wake up every morning?? Is there any drive??

Don't just be a "stroller" on earth!

Define your day and allow God lead you!

6
$ 0.00
Avatar for Ezzyoj
Written by
3 years ago

Comments

Is very amazing and in fact you have done well for bringing this article , well-done

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice Article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Entertaining and inspiring. Thanks

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice aticle, quite entertaining

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Interesting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What you need to understand is that Nigerian culture is different from west and that is what you need to understand. As for me seeing Nigeria parent behaving this way just shows you that its our culture and nothing more. What would say about American parent that can't even discipline their child (beat their child) no matter what the child does, compare to Nigeria where when the child does something wrong, he/she will be serious drill (serious beaten ) to know that what he/she does is wrong. To me I prefer Nigeria way of parenting compare to the western world (America and europe) but anyway I love your article

$ 0.00
3 years ago