My version of what I've stopped believing.

2 19
Avatar for Eyesthewriter
1 year ago

Greetings everyone and our honorable sponsors. To those who're yet to visit my blog, my name's Israel Bassey.

Today, I'll be writing about @Theblackdoll contest about what I've stopped believing in. Here's her version https://read.cash/@Theblackdoll/used-to-not-anymore-a-prompt-idea-322e1015

Firstly, I'd say I've stopped believing in intimate relationships. Looking back through all these years, I remember waking one morning only to realize that my life was as good as death because I barely understood who I am, my purpose and dreams because I was up and down believing that I needed a girlfriend in order to be a happy man.

Although I hate to admit that we all need someone in our lives to hold, cuddle when times are cold like this and commune with but it's sad to say that everything have a time and season and until I realized that I needed to first hold, cuddle and commune with myself first, I was never going to find a worthy partner or dare to live happily.

Believe me, it was hard and frustrating to grasp the truth that until a man finds peace and solace around himself alone, he might never find it with someone else even with the person he loves.

Secondly, I stopped believing on religious activities and its schemes of hypocrisy. I used to be a very much church boy. I was born and raised in Deeper Life Bible Church and if you've heard about this church then you might probably understand what it means to be born within the four walls of such church in the nineties.

I remember always going to church, sweeping and even participating in various activities and please don't get me wrong, serving God is the most fruitful thing to do yet at a point in my life, I realized that I wasn't getting the desired blessings from God maybe because he could see from my heart that I was only doing those in order to hide my fears, sins and abstain from being judged.

Isn't it frustrating today why gen Z's avoid going to church because they're afraid of being judged?. Though tough and excruciating but as I grew older, I realized that true service to God is doing what you were born to do and not the other way round where you just do things for people to see and praise you.

I realized that although I was consistent with church services yet I was the greatest sinner within and without the congregation not because am a murderer or did some blashphamy but because I was a hypocrite and that, God hates alot.

Lastly, I used to believe that life is all about education, good houses and a permanent job but soon realized that most people with these that I've mentioned still wake today with a hole in their hearts. They seem to have it all yet live miserable because they're yet to clutch their soul and true being.

Now, am a graduate of computer science in the university of uyo and nothing feels different from when I was an undergraduate except for the fact that I've accumulated my thoughts and action chasing over the wrong things but wait a minute, there's nothing wrong with education when you know why and when you need it and my case was different.

I had chased education because it's every parents dream to have an educated child. It has been a socially acceptable vocation else be reprimanded as a fool and hopeless. I thank God for these years, I appreciate the little education I've gained but am most grateful to understand that life is about being who you were made to be, just as the bird was made to fly while the moon is made to shine but only I the night so I realized that we all have our own time and chances in different conditions and places so understanding who and what we are is the best education any man can give to himself and the best part of it all is that it isn't just free but also easy only if we listen to the voice inside of us telling us what it wants and the kind of life it wants to grow through our body.

I've realized that we aren't the circumstances of life but only a witness because life's the dancer while we're the dance.

Laconically, I will to add that for any one as a young or aged person to be happy with life, one must learn to accept the truth that everyone has different destinies thus will do things differently, live differently and see life differently so the greatest defeat anyone would give to himself is to compare his or her life with that of his friends or neighbor.

Thanks for reading this far and I hope you see the light else please comment where I got it wrong because am always ready to learn.

3
$ 0.07
$ 0.03 from @Theblackdoll
$ 0.03 from @Oikawa
$ 0.01 from @Tife.
Avatar for Eyesthewriter
1 year ago

Comments

These are some beautiful lessons you have learned though out this life which would definitely help to those are searching for answers in these areas too.. Thank you for participating!!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

My pleasure and trust me, I admire your writing skills.

$ 0.00
1 year ago