How Do I Rest When I Am Burn Out?

25 72
Avatar for Eybyoung
1 year ago

I've read an article from @Yen about what is a real form of resting for mothers like us and I must say there is none, in my opinion. Once a woman became a mom and a wife, she can't own her time anymore. No matter how much we like to distress ourselves in a way that can help us relax and lessen our worries, we can't do it. Why? We barely even have our "Me Time," how much more to fully have a rest?

We have an endless responsibility for our family, we are on call 24/7 with no day off. There are times when we go out, we can't still enjoy ourselves because our minds still revolve around the home, especially our kids. Ending we will go home as early as possible, not unless we become irresponsible.

How DO I Rest Whenever I Am Burn out?

With all the things I mention above, how would I rest then? Well, we can't rest at our own pace anymore that's for sure since motherhood is demanding but there are ways that can help us entertain ourselves without abandoning our duties and responsibilities.

Here's how I distress myself:

  • Not pressuring myself

  • Watch a series of movies that entertain my younger self.

  • Listen to music that helps me relax

  • Pamper me (food or going salon or unwinding)

  • Let my younger self dominate over me when I'm burnt out

Not Pressuring Myself

The ultimate stressor for a person is pressure. When there is the pressure we are forced to double time on achieving what we have set for ourselves. When we are forced to do something, we will never enjoy what we do and we don't have enough time to look out for ourselves.

I don't pressure myself too much thinking about the future. A man should enjoy the present but not neglect the future as well. I have so many things I want to achieve, especially since I am already 30 years old but I haven't achieved anything yet except becoming a mother, lol. I meant achieving something for self-accomplishment. But despite that, I don't pressure myself as I believe we all have our own time frame, If Kentucky is able to start his KFC at 70 years old why would I pressure myself too much then? As long as I won't stop learning, I can achieve what I want without too much pressure. Slow and steady wins the race.

Pressure is good as it will make us more productive but it is not good when it is too much to take on our side.

Watch a Series of Movies that Entertain My Younger Self.

You might wonder, why younger self? Well, I just realized recently that my younger self was never gone. It is still within me without recognizing it. I grow up but part of me will never be gone, they're just somewhere in the corner but don't dominate anymore as my current self does. If you remember our Psychology subject, whatever things we didn't experience in life according to stages we will do back subject on it, therefore my younger self was never gone.

I love watching series movies especially Chinese or Kdramas because it entertains my younger self. I do watch other movies but since I don't have a pleasant youth it seems that I am doing a back subject on it by watching dramas that have genres of school, youth, and romance. I am imagining as if I was the one in the story and it made me feel happy, inspire and satisfy after watching. I felt relaxed, even if I still do the same routine everyday.

Listen to Music That Helps Me Relax

Listening to music that will calm or soothe your soul can help you relax. Just enjoy the rhythm and it's lyrics. I'm I am troubled and wary I always listen to Christian songs. It helps me gain strength during my downtimes. Meditate and pray as well.

I also listen to OST of some series movies that I watched especially that got me hooked. It helps me feel lightly and inspired.

Pamper Me (food or going salon or unwinding)

I pamper myself when it's needed. I eat what I crave if there are extra budget. I went to salon to have my nails cleaned and colored. It helps me relax even if it's only a short period of time.

Unwinding is not so common with me though since I don't leave house frequently as I don't want to leave my daughter. But if there's a strong urge to do so, I'll do it for the sake of my mental health.

Let My Younger Self Dominate Over Me When I'm Burnt Out

I let my younger self dominate me in times of stress. Our younger self are carefree and does not worry too much on anything. Younger self always seek freedom and enjoyment without worrying.

I let her dominate in a way of fulfilling what she likes such as watching series movies that she likes. Do some stuff that makes her satisfy and etc. It helps me relax and forget adulting for a moment.

To Sum It Up

Being a mom is the most tiring job in the universe. It's not just all about our hard labors that we do everyday but our mental health sakes as things are changing from the way we used to.

But as long as you know when to recognize you need some pampering time and recognize what you really likes to alleviate your mood it can be helped.

Lead image: Abishek Subba via Unsplash

15
$ 2.81
$ 2.44 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @Coolmidwestguy
$ 0.05 from @Pantera
+ 6
Sponsors of Eybyoung
empty
empty
Avatar for Eybyoung
1 year ago

Comments

Let me add a little too... Get help too. Find someone who is a family and is great with kids that you can drop your baby with for a day or two or ask your husband to engage your baby for a day while you allow your younger self to dominate with movies and anything you want to do. It usually helps. We once took our baby to a family friend who have 3 kids. She actually stayed there for a week instead of the 2 days we initially planned because they wouldn't release her. We were the ones ending up missing her and wishing she can come back home again 🤣😂. Being a mother...being a parent... it can be exhausting.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha, she enjoyed her stay so much because she has company 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly... Find someone trustworthy like that. It makes life easier.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Now that i am a mom. I wonder when the time come n burn out ako noh kya gagawin . Kasi dati ngttravel ngaun kaya 🤔

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Makapag travel ka naman pero dalhin mo pa rin anak mo 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mahirap mgvgala pg baby p masyado 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

talagang di mababayaran ang naisasacrifice ng mga mothers...and fathers.. they just go together.. the father has to provide and the mother has to be the one managing the home.. sometimes, this can't be followed especially sa mga cases of single parent...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True pati din mga working mom para matulungan lang hubby kumita dahil di sapat..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

din mga working mom para matulungan l

yeah the reality of life...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mothers are very hardworking and are always busy with one thing or the other but it's very important to take a break once in a while. It's great that you have a couple of things that helps you relax whenever you're stressed, for me it's music, movies and video games, although I'm not a mother 😆 so I can't really relate with the amount of stress y'all pass through daily

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha yeah, you're a guy and not mom so you can't fully relate but we all do have our stress and burnt out moments though.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Marami at iba-iba din talaga tayo nga mga paraan para masolve kung ano man ang pinagdadaanan natin Maam ano?
Of course, napaka-importante talaga na hindi masyadong magpadala sa emotions natin, sometimes, sabayan lang ang agos ba. Hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, mahirap kasi when you worry a lot di rin talaga nakakatulong..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kaya nga. Hinay-hinay nalang din talaga sa sobrang pag-aalala..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakatulong nga yung manonood ng series ma'am eybyoung. Kahit ako ma'am na wala pang anak minsan stress din talaga kaya yan ginagawa ko. Manood, makinig ng music then foods.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo kasi di mo maisip probs mo kaya nakakatulong sya ma relieved mga stress natin.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Go with the flow lang talaga wag magpapa burn out. Nakakatanda

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True, nakakapagod nga.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ako tulog lng.then gala sa Sunday.. Minssn kaht butnt out work padn online 😂..jajay buhay

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Just like me in other to get rest I listen to music, which make me sleep at times, good to know what you do in other not to stress out

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Watching movies can be so relaxing, I have tried this a lot and it helps. I do sleep while watching it and it's the best for me.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nung time na stress na stress ako nuod din ako kdrama e . Now nagbabalak plng ako mag dl

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

"Pamper me" is the sweetest part, I like to find something exciting and just do that immediately... We do a lot daily and its good to ease with everything listed.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thats, great to know that even you are on call 24/7you have a little time for yourself..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Mother good is just not an easy job. Kuddos to all mothers out there for the job you do💖

$ 0.00
1 year ago

me too I don't pressure myself mao ng pag feel nako di ko ganahan magsuwat aw maglingaw2x labina ug naa ko sa work.I will watch short videos nga palamuot or mga good vibes nga vlogs. For now lisud najud kaayo mag ME time ky akong oras more on naa sa work then if inag uli nako Family time napud.

$ 0.00
1 year ago