A sleeping genius? (Flash Fiction Challenge)

11 55
Avatar for Eybyoung
3 years ago

Meet Aya, my mysterious classmate

The girl named Aya, she was my classmate. She is a silent type of person, she talks to us but not that much. We are not just a classmate but we are neighbors too, sometimes we will go home after class together by walking but oftentimes not because I got tired walking. She walks to school every day back n fort, she told me she doesn't have any budget for a trike fair.

Aya loves to sleep

During classes, I noticed Aya is yawning she is sleepy again. Sometimes she was caught by our teachers sleeping, the teacher scolds her a bit but she can find reasons "Sorry teacher my head hurts" just like that. During quizzes, I thought Aya will get a zero mark because she wasn't listening to our class discussion that much. To my surprise, she got higher marks than me. What is she? A sleeping genius?.

One afternoon, our most terror teacher came in. She was our Trigo teacher in Mathematics subject. She has given solving problems on the blackboard to let us solve, the topic was being discussed the other day. There are five equations, four equations were already solved by my other classmates. In the last equation, none of it answered, our teacher randomly calls name to solve the problem but nobody answer. So she calls Aya, she remembered Aya because Aya always got good score during pre exams or quizzes. Aya and I are seatmates and as usual, she was sleeping, I wake her up "Hey Aya, Maam Corpuz looks for you. Answer equation #5 at the board" She was surprised and tell me "What?! Why you did not wake me up? Okay, I will go". She is not visible much to see if she was sleeping because we are at the back portion. To my surprise again she answered the equation correctly.

On our way home

I was late going home that day because I have something to do. On my way home I saw Aya setting down beside the cliff, there was a riverbank on our way home. She was staring above the clouds. It was a gloomy afternoon, clouds are dark indicating that it will rain sooner or later.

Dark Clouds just like her eyes

Aya is brilliant but there is something in her. She has dark eyes, pertaining that there is something she is going through. Her eyes sometimes it's cloudy, and sometimes I caught her crying. I asked her what is her problems but she doesn't tell me, she is quiet and aloof. She does not play with us that much, all she does is sleeping in the class and walking home alone.

Aya, why are you so mysterious? While I call you a sleeping genius.

This is a flash fiction story, in participation with ongoing flash fiction contest hosted by @feebie and @Winona if you wish to participate check out the link.

https://read.cash/@feebie/the-flash-fiction-challenge-8fccee48

#Aya #FictionStory

16
$ 0.22
$ 0.22 from @TheRandomRewarder
Sponsors of Eybyoung
empty
empty
Avatar for Eybyoung
3 years ago

Comments

Wow amazing story you created.....I also like your flash fiction... Best wishes for you dear and i am waiting your another flash fiction

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thanks, dear same to you. Best of luck to you too..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I want to participate also

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Check out the link..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I already posted my entry hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Who knows Aya's reasons for sleeping🤔 Nice story. Thanks for your entry.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

It remains mysterious so readers will think why 😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Your title is really suit her🤣Talented girl Aya😮

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow nice story dear, thanks for sharing 😊😊

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I rather not participate. The contests many join are not having a positive influence on many users and this platform. 😕

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, I got a lesson learned from it. I will never participate anymore. And if I have to leave, then I will gladly accept it, I am held liable for my actions. Thank you for being one of my guides in here, best of luck 👍

$ 0.00
3 years ago