Kimbap for Midnight Snack

23 55
Avatar for EvilWillow
3 years ago
Topics: Food

The first time I tried making Kimbap was 4 years back, I think? Now that my brother is home, we have the urge to impress him with home made cooking :)) I was slow to move so I finished making it for 2 hours but you can do it within an hour if you have fast hands. I also washed the dishes first so it took me longer time.

I started cooking the omelette while my brother helped in peeling the carrots. I scrambled 4 eggs and seasoned it with salt. I can't find the pepper so it's probably out of stock on the house.

I then cut it in strips and we're good to go πŸ˜‰ (it's my first time cooking omelette and I was amazed at my hidden skills lol.) Let me show you the whole part before I cut it.

That was the omelette at whole. I tried cooking tornado omelette and just plain egg with lots of onions, pepper, sometimes onion, or sometimes with chili powder but I never tried doing this because this serving is for 4 people while I only often cook for myself. But the result was satisfactory even if salt was the only thing I added :))

The next thing I did was cook the ham then chopped it for about half an inch. My recipes are mainly up to my taste so you can change it however you see fit. While browsing the net, I even saw someone used hotdog. Well, various tastes and various differences, we just have to do what we want and enjoy what we make. If you like seafoods, then add crabstick on it. If you're a vegan, then put vegetables as your main ingredients.

Next was to prepare all the ingredients :)) Carrots, ham, egg. As for the rice, you should use freshly cooked once. But for me, I just preheated the rice because I'm to lazy to cook another batch when we still have half of the rice left πŸ‘ŒβœŒοΈ The traditional recipe for kimbap includes sesame seeds but that is not famous in the Philippines so we don't buy it. That's how not so often we need it πŸ˜† They also usually add pickled radish but we also don't preserve that here in the Philippines. Or is it just my region? You can also add cucumber πŸ₯’ but I didn't add it because I'm not fond of it. But when I tried making Kimbap the first time, I added cucumber and it still taste fine. I guess I just don't bother looking for one when it's not available at the house ✌️

Those are my main ingredients :)) You can even see some white parts from the egg because I only beat it at the bare minimum.

This is the seaweed wrapper that I bought for 110 pesos. I would like to follow it's instructions but unfortunately, I don't understand korean language πŸ˜† The package has 10 pieces of wrapper, not a bad dealπŸ₯΄

Just a plain old seaweed wrapper waving at you πŸ₯΄ The chopping board that I used was wet after washing it so I used the cover of some tupperware for hygiene. Well, that's better instead of a wet surface.

This was my first trial, I noticed after rolling it that I put small amount of rice. If you could see the lines on the wrapper, the rice should occupy atleast 4 columns. Too much will make it overflow, and too little is kinda lacking. Trust your instincts and just go for it πŸ˜†

Then put the ingredients in, and roll it using any tools you have. Our mother threw away the wooden one used to roll kimbap so I used my magic hands instead. Well that's better than hoping for nothing. At first you'll be nervous but trust me, you'll get used to it in no time. I even doubted my self I'd I'm doing the right thing but all's well and ended well.

Be generous with the fillings, it's for the family so I overflows it with ham πŸ˜† I also realized too late that I should've beaten 6 ends because I ended up eating the egg strips while preparing lol. As I said, the more the merrier so the more fillings, the more delicious it was.

This was the epic version of my failure pyramid πŸ˜‚ As you can see, the once at the top are more full than those in the bottom so I rearranged them to make it more presentable for you guys haha. It definitely looked murdered 😜

Chop it, then it's ready to serve :))

I mentioned earlier that I only preheated the rice so it was not that hot, thus, I steamed it for a while to atleast heat it πŸ¦› make sure to wrap it in aluminum foil if you planned to steam it because if not, the water would sip into the wrapper and destroy it.

Present it for aesthetic and you're ready to serve :)) We used chopsticks πŸ₯’ to make the mood more korean ambiance and voila, our stomachs are full.

This serving is good for the family or for the barkadas. It's good for 13 people I think? Yeah, 10 pieces of kimbap for 13 people.

We (mother, brother, I, 2 younger sister) ate 5 pieces of kimbap while I called my 2 cousins and my other brother to have the other half. I planned to give it to our aunties on the neighborhood but I realized it was already midnight so we finished all of it with my cousins instead πŸ˜† You know naman na, the youngsters were awake till 3 am nowadays πŸ₯΄

Room's for improvement:

πŸ“Add more ingredients next time to make it more fabulous πŸ˜‰

πŸ“I steamed the other piece of kimbap without wrapping it in aluminum foil so the wrapper was (naburayrayan) ruined and the rice fell apart when I cut it

πŸ“Use the appropriate tool to fully compress the kimbap πŸ˜‰

πŸ“Last and always the thing I can't avoid, refrain from eating after 5 in the afternoon.

Writing with full stomach, EvilWillow πŸ˜‹

6
$ 4.26
$ 4.21 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Crizaah
Avatar for EvilWillow
3 years ago
Topics: Food

Comments

Thank you. Looks delicious. I'll try this.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm looking forward to you making an article about your journey of making kimbap hihiπŸ’›

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Crizaah, gawa na nak!

sana all nakakapag kmbap,,

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay nyarap yern titawap πŸ˜πŸ’› Abangan ko articles ng kimbap ni @crizaah yieee πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ˜πŸ’›

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hindi pako nakakatikim ng kimbap mamsh huhu

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Gawa ka na daw mamsh Sabi ni tita wahahahaha. Pramis madali lang yern πŸ˜πŸ’›πŸ’›

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeyyyyyy kimbap making. Gumagawa rin ako kimbap, masarap yan mamsh i-coat mo sa egg then fried 'til mag golden brown siya. Anyway, moreeeeeeeeeeeeee.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ay try ko yan maaaamsh! Cooking mama ka rin maamsh, para makita ko Naman recipe mo πŸ₯ΊπŸ₯Ί wahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Syaka mamsh igisa mo pala yung carrots mas lalabas yung lasa niya sa konting mantika lang naman tapos lagyan mo cucumber ganern hahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sige Sige HAHAHA. Raw trip Nila Dto e HAHAHAHA. I'll try next tymπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ang crunchy kasi kapag raw hahahaha pwede naman icook mo siya sa sesame oil or olive ganern

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sanaol may sesame HAHAHAHAHAH

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sila aladdin madami hahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Open sesame street HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahahahaha eto nanaman tayo sa chatbox

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HAHAHAHAHHAHAHA πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ahahahahaha di ako marunong mamsh bigay nalang ako ibang tips kapag nabasa ko article mo hahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Weeeh, d daw marunong tapos nagbigay tips. Niloloko mo ko mami HAHAHAHA

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Hahahaha di lang ako marunong gumawa food article mamsh pero kery ko magbigay tips hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yaneeeers HAHAHA. One-day mamsh gawa ka outage mo para combo mama tayoπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ako yung taga kain ikaw taga luto, perfect combo hahahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

HAHAHAHAH bad πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Atleast may uubos hahahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago