Some people have already forgotten November 1; read why.

29 58
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
2 years ago

Pandemic creates really massive changes in Filipino lives and cultures. Some people are too much busy that November one was not considered a holiday for they had a lot and tons of paper works to do, some are still confused about what will do, and some are busy for Halloween party yet they forget what was the real thing to celebrate.

This is Point of view. I never said that I am right for all the random things that I wrote. I just going with the flow of my thought.

When I was growing as a boy, I am always excited about November 1. I also see this as one of the kind happening in my life.

When I was young my cousin and aunt from other places comes and visit our place. So my mother will be prepared a portion of food for the entire family. November 1 was a non-working Holliday so we are always complete as a clan eating lunch and dinner with some sweets made from rice and others that were occasionally used.

My grandpa will always prepare his livestock for its alay for the lifeless. Well, I am not really on the scene where I could see some pictures of an idol and some offerings on the table with a candle on it. But I had just to respect what was the elders did.

I never get joined any practice where they are praying yet I could hear what are they talking about. It’s a religious ritual from Christianity and they are mentioning the names of the deads. I heard some familiar names but some I really did not. I asked who was they? They said that they are my relatives so I just ignored them and just hop in the flow.

On my father's side, I witnessed some incredible stuff that was happening. My grandfather will buy lots of candles and he will light out the house starting from 6 PM to 8 PM they will off the light and say we need to be silent.

We were just looking at the candle waiting for it to melt. Imagine the scene where we watching the light was incredible.

Some people had really not unto Halloween. They don’t like the idea where they are dressing like demons. Imagine that religion prohibited to had the idol for saints or Goddess yet they doing the same with some demonic characters.

I warned you last time that this was my point of view…

I also met someone whom the belief that the dead cant be visited. They are already dead and they must be not distracted anymore. They are now part of nature as spirits, not a ghost, or they have already been reincarnated.

Following the topic, still, I could observe that some forget what was November first is all about, people are gathering and drinking liquor for this day was proclaimed as a non-working holiday. People are having sessions at the round table with liquor and even rented some videoke for them to hang and sing. It's too much absurd that people get the time to remember and had the time to reminisce about those gone members of their family yet they just wanted to have a good time.

Had you also felt like November was changing? Well in the calendar it's not the day of the soul but in Christianity, it’s a day of the saints. I am not roman catholic thou still respect them.

Things become normal actually, and at some point, we also forget those businesses that bloomed in the time of November first. I just watched the news that flower farmers choices to leave and not cultivate flowers anymore because of the new normal they are not the priority or the commodity becomes forgotten.

Personally, in my experience, my grands and parent never brought a bouquet of flowers. It's too expensive and extravagant for us. When I was young, I always think that a cemetery with flowers are rich. That’s was inside me when I was a boy, seeing those colourful flowers and some bizarre candles with different colours.

Having some colour candle in my thinking when I was a boy was extravagant, well until now thou. I just preferred the normal white wax candle.

Maybe it's normal that November 1 was changing, the practice and the occasions become something. But what if we were in that position. We become the forgotten and what could we feel?. That’s was within me, so I just let the people around me do those things. I also gives some money to my Mother so she could be prepared something traditional rice cakes and kakanin that I am enjoying at the moment I wrote this.

Maybe it’s a nature that we were changing, and maybe it's fine. But we should not forget them, because even we don’t believe in such practice to honour the souls, they have been part of our lives and they are our family so let's give them the time they deserved and that is November 1 or 2. Depending on your choice.

This is just a runt article my friends, we were in the province so we're really busy at the moment haha. I just don’t want to blank the first day of November so I was forced to write. Forgive the grammar and crumpled thoughts. Happy Halloween or Happy all Saint nor soul day, enjoy the day. Thanks for reading…

14
$ 14.28
$ 13.43 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @Codename_Chikakiku
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 8
Sponsors of Eunoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
2 years ago

Comments

Oii legit to laki ng pagbabago grabee kahapon lang nagawa ko ng mga activities na iniwan ng mga prof namin kasi walang online meeting kasi nga nov 1 tapos almost mga kapitbahay namin nagpaparty sa labas namimiss ko na nga magbilog nung nga kandila na natunaw kaso iilan na lang din yung nag tirik ng candles then wala na kong nakitang nga nag rosary dati kasi meron.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also feel like november 1 is changing dati kasi may handaan na nagaganap tas minsan may videoke pa haha tapus yung iba naman nagpipicnic sa sementeryo sa may puntod ng nawala nilang mahal sa buhay but now cementery is closed....feeling ko nga wala nang undas ehh🤣

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Oo eh 2 years na ata or 3 na di pweding bumisita sa doon. Huwag naman sanang mawala

$ 0.00
2 years ago

In my mother's side of family, they don't visit their parent's tomb in the cemetery but we would always remember them when we are all together. We would retell funny and awesome experience we had when they were still alive so the stories will live on and be pass on to the younger generations.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

yeah, I also met people like them, they don't visit for they said it was part of the cycle now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Sobra ang pag babago pare hehehe lahat ata ng nakaka excite holiday onti² na nawawala ang tutuong essence niya. Hmmm

$ 0.02
2 years ago

kaya nga eh, napapalitan na ng halloween party eka. hayst

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt like it changed na nga. Same here, we used to prepare foods that we can share after we visit the cemetery. Most of the time nga nagdadala kami ng foods sa tomb ng relatives namin, kasi yun na yung nakasanayan. Sadly, it's been three years since I wasn't home and can't visit them.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

3 years? tagal na din pala no!. yeah kunting push pa makakabisita ka din hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

pero dito samin always exciting yung November first namin eh haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

May handaan ba? madaming handa? nakakaexcite nga hahaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same here, when I was a kid, I always look forward to this month. I love it when we visited our loved ones and offer food for them. And yes, there are changes but it's okay so long as the old tradition is not forgotten.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Tama, never forget for in reality the more we changes and not shown to younger baka makalimutan din tayu kapag tayu na nasa posisyon na yun LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ganun dn ako nung bata pa. Excited sa nov 1.. Si mama nagbebenta ng candles..tapus kmk namam pupunta sementeryo ilalahok yung candles at may suhol pagkatapus 🤣 sla lola naman magluluto ng ibat ibang foods.. Yun ang masaya haha.. Iwan ko lng ngayon. 4 yrs na ko hndi nkakadalaw sa sementeryo 😢

$ 0.02
2 years ago

tagal na din pala Ms Jane, dont worry baka sila naman dadalaw sayu this year hahaha. Kidding...

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everything is changing as the time goes by, the traditions that we had before had been replaced or combined by new traditions that Filipinos starts to adapt. There's a karaoke, foods that serve for the dead, prayers for them and many more. We can see that lots of things have change but i think there's nothing wrong about it as long as the old tradition didn't forget.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Uyyy na wrong send ka ata sa tip kapatid? 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Kami now magluluto ng biko and later mag titirik ng kandila, we shouldn't forget the essence of November first no matter how busy we are. It's once in a year

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Indeed, kami din natapos na ang celebrasyon hahaha,

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Noong wala pa pong pandemic, naalala ko na sinasamahan namin yung mga non-catholic relatives namin para dalawin namin yung lolo at tita namin na namayapa na. Ngayong November 1, ang dami kong requirements na kailangang tapusin bwhahahaha. Punong puno nb ko ng mga goals hahha tapos konti pa lang nagagawa ko

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Naku walang hollidays sa mudule whahaha.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I've never liked November as a kid growing up, it always seemed to go on forever making Christmas seem like a really long time...haha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha yeah, that will be the thing going, it's a Christmas season now after the Halloween for sure LOL. Lots of Christmas features will be seen around here.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We in our church didn't celebrate All saints day, but it is tradition most of all Filipinos to celebrate Undas. I respect your opinion and beliefs.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's my family belief thou, I'm not with them when practicing such thing. Thanks for that word. Yes let's respect each other belief for we just shared what was we seen.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Each one of us deserved to be respected on what we all believed. Respect begets respect!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Happy all saints day po.. nagtataka ako noon db ang dapat na dalaw sa cementeryo e nov.2 kasi all souls day pero nov. 1 ang talagang dalaw ng mga tao.. dati nkakainom pa ng alak sa cementeryo pero pinagbabawal na din kasi minsan nagkakaron ng gulo sa loob ng cementeryo. Tapos ngayon talagang ibang iba na ang november 1 talagang naging ordinayong araw nalang. Nice article po..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same bespreb. Dati iniisip ko mayaman yung mga may pa bouquet. Hihihi. Kami din nagluluto ng kakanin. Pero now nag order lang ako ng sweets. Di kasi ako marunong magluto 😅tas malayo si mader.

Tapos nagpa misa lang kami sa mother ng partner ko.

$ 0.00
2 years ago