I Was Bitten by Rabbit (Oryctolagus cuniculus): How About The Rabies?

26 48
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
1 year ago

Animal bites are the most dangerous thing you could encounter from having and keeping animals in your home or farm. This could be threatening to life, and death would result if action wasn't implemented, seeking and finding the best thing. Prevention must be under the best control. This morning I was again dumbfounded and careless, for the action brought me discomfort; I was bitten. Angry rabbit might thinks I was a threat. Lesson learned, and this won't happen in the coming days.

They said rabbit is gentle, some giants and other miniature. They don't mind getting a pet touch, and what you do to them won't make them angry, but not the whole time for sure; others will have the wild instinct and just attack when they feel something menacing.

Let's talked about rabies; even though we don't formally define the virus, I think everyone knows about it. It was found in animal bites such as dogs, cats, and livestock. In the area, I belong. Farming study and career, I also look at some bitten by hugs and even sheep while pruning their wool. That was part of the job, especially in agriculture-related careers. We are also aware of mosquito bites that are crucial and could kill several people in all the bites diseases. Even human bites in dangerous, you know what I meant.

Animals sometimes bite the idea of making movies, where one was bitten by a spider he becomes Spiderman, some ant and becomes Antman, others bitten by a strange dog become a werewolf. And if you watched the movie "Morbius," where he researched the vampire bats, he becomes one. A lot of stories about bites, but the reality was so many animal bites are dangerous.

In many cases, people died because of animal bites; my neighbor lost their father because he was bitten by a small puppy; just that symptom of rabies was seen to come late.

I was bitten before by dogs; I tried to save him from hit and run. But I was so dumbfounded and eminently went to him, because of his shock he bites me and not just one nibble takes many marks and scar of it. Even though he was shot with an anti-rabies vaccine, I quickly sought medical help, and the jab was done.

Let's go back to our topic of the rabbits.

I was bitten after I had to clean her cage. I found that scattered straw was messy and wet for rainy days now. I just put my hands and got the damp rice straw, not knowing it was her nest. She was angry and bit me bravely. She was pregnant and about to deliver her first kit in the following days. Her story is that I got scammed by one of my neighbors, she cants take care of the rabbit anymore, and she told me the rabbit was male because she badly needed cash. I tried to look at the rabbit personally. I bargained the price, of course, that a male as she said. I had two males, so why do I need a lot of them.

I paid 400 pesos or $7, and she agreed, thinking it was a male. She said female is what she wanted to multiply it more, but they said it was male, not a female, then she believed it. As my wrongness, I never checked the gender before going home from them. Then I introduced the rabbit in the colony; I was shocked that the male rabbit mated him, and it was successful. I get consumed and think, are there gay rabbits? I look at the genitals, and it's a female, not a male.

I tried to talk to the previous owner, and I told her that the rabbit was female. I want to bring her back, for I had so many rabbits and just contributed to a lot of cages; she told me she can't feed her anymore. At first, O thought she wasn't pregnant until she showed the sign of near giving birth to her young.

I will update you; two of my females have given birth now. The first one had 6 babies. Everyone survived, and the second one was a challenge. She brings 9 babies, yet one of them didn't make it. Then comes the predator, a giant mouse that eats two of her babies. Now she only had 6 babies out of the nine. I fast reassembled her cage so the predator won't have prey again; for a start guy like me, losing two-three kits of rabbits is still a loss.

But I had two more chances. Two are still pregnant, and they will deliver it quickly at the end of the month.

The one with black colour bites me.

Oww, we had come so far, now rabies on the rabbit. Rabbit is ruminant, so rabbit teeth were clean with rabies virus. The teeth had continually grown, yet teeth are naturally shortening because of eating straw and grass. I had to clean the wounds with anti-bacterial soap and apply first aid to the infected wounds. And I am safe to go; there was no rabies in rabbits.

Thanks for reading…

14
$ 5.57
$ 5.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @mommykim
$ 0.05 from @BCHFarmGirl
+ 3
Sponsors of Eunoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

Thanks for sharing! I thought you had to go to a hospital and get injected of some anti-rabbies. Dami mo ngang rabbits hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow andami mo namang mga alagang Rabbit baka pwede manghingi? Isa lang yung rabbit namin eh.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

yung pamangkin ko nga na nakagat nang aso kahit kumpleto sa vaccine yung aso nag pa inject pa din nang anti rabbies kasi natatakot ang nanay kung ano mangyari sa bata

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo ako din, nagpa inject din ako. Mahirap na hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

i doubt meron silang rabies parang wala namn siguro. mas nakakatakot din ang sa daga may rabies din yun. keep safe friend

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tatanus malakas sa daga hehe may leptus pa. But rabbit and rodents are not same family hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Ay hala good to know at wala namang rabies pero grabe ah antaray at antapang talaga kahit animals pa sila basta talaga buntis. Anyways clean your wounds pa rin po kahit papano and take care buddy.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha, oo nanganak na siya kahapon, she gave me six kits as return to the bite lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

We should be careful in case of animal bite. Sometimes we encounter rabies and sometimes we save from this. Congrats your rabbit had given babies. Can I have one at least? I am kidding they are so cute.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha I had so much of them, hoping to have more. I need them for my experiments hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago

For which experiments you are using them?. I know they are lab animals.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Pede din ba sila saksakan ng anti rabbis?

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
1 year ago

Walang rabies and rabbits Mommy Yen and di anamn ganon din kalakas, healed na nga sugat niya eh hehe parang kalmot lang.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

People who takes care of animals are really trying, bites from these animals are poisonous and can kill if care isn't taken immediately.

I hope you have treated your wound immediately so as not to affect other areas. Sorry about that.

My grandma once took care of rabbits and the adult ones seem dangerous while the younger ones do not, in fact the small ones are always cool to carry around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I was just careless that time, she was protecting her nest and I just went cleaning her nest haha. She gave birth now, she gave me 6 huge babies as return of bitting me lol.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Butiiiii nalang wala nan rabies kung di gastusan nanamn nyan unless may free dyan sa inyo na anti rabies

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oo may free rabies naman dito sa RHU pero they dont give it to rabbit bite hehe. May fren din among vet and she said it's not really dangerous.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Rabies are very deadly and bites by animals should be taken very serious

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Exactly, rabies kills more and more todays scene.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Big misconception of people that rabbits are not dangerous haha. I had multiple experiences where rabbits scratches me.. Well, it was accidental so I understood it. Ingat sa susunod bro. Haha.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Haha oo grabe na din mega kuko nila need na din ma trim

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think I really lacked some knowledge, I really thought rabies can only get from dogs hahahha

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I disagree, your one of the brightest writer here for me hehe. Also within the cats and more animals hehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Hahaha thank you but no, seriously, I really thought only dogs has it đŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Do rabbits bite? Oh really surprised to see this. Get well soon, aameen. You must take good care and vaccination for this, we can't believe on animals they may have harmful bacterias or viruses.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

They bite when they feel stressed and anxious lol, thank you. It's my fault, actually for just destroying her territory hehe

$ 0.00
1 year ago