Battle for Ranking: Why do I hate Competition?

13 43
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
1 year ago

We can't change the fact that Competition happens all the time. Surviving who is the best is the one that must be seen, who will be the head and the last—competing for everything, power, love, and money. People loved competitions, which was why I wouldn't say I liked it.

I grew up as a child that hates competitions, maybe because I know so far that I am always behind others. That is why I became anxious when they said we need to compete for the grades ranking, so who will be the first honor and the last? But the disadvantage happens all the time.

This idea or topic had been in my head for quite a long time; my barber told me things when I do my grooming haircut. I have known him personally from a very young age until now, and I am more comfortable taking my hair cut with his scissors. I am still doubtful, on the other hand, and if they met my haircuts expectations, I don't want other barbers to do the job. Also, it was my help for his daughter was my old friend.

He did talk about what happened between his daughter and best friend, and he said when they saw each other, what happened six years ago still had not yet changed between the two. They were still not looking in the face.

What happened last year is still fresh in my mind, just one point the school salutatorian defeated. Just one particular from a ranking. It comes that there were issues and gossip in everything.

I knew the Salutatorian was competitive, yet she was pleasant, though she would focus on everything as a leader. She could manage to do her jobs.

Back to the presents, six years had passed, and we all graduated from college yet still like something.

That's one of the disadvantages of competitions, or should I say too much Competition.

Too much competition is toxic.

When people are too much looking for victory and what happened they don't, things become chaotic indeed. When they don't meet their expectations, they blame something on someone or themselves alone. This is one of the toxic cultures that happened at my age where parents are the ones who will show and teach their young to become more competitive in terms of academics and extracurricular.

I remember I felt jealous when I saw other classmates could be supported by their parents in the activities, especially in highlighting things such as best dresses or any decorates where they could spend more money just for the names and titles. Also, I witnessed that parents again is the one that becomes unhappy when their child gets doomed.

Toxic mentally when the child gets this kind of attitude toward their parents alone.

Competitive in a good way.

I don't want to be heard bias. There was a good side to being competitive. I also found myself on this side, where you must fight in the way of survival.

Becoming competitive in your career is a sad thing but also a must. You must show your talent and skill, impress the boss for your sake, and don't mind the people talking behind your back, for, in the end, they won't help you create your future.

Becomes competitive in your activities, such as the way people will look at you as the best figure you have.

Compete with life, struggle, and downfall.

Battle for Ranking: Why do I hate Competition?

Because sometimes, people forget the word "sportsmanship," where friendship lasted because of competing in a certain way, where people can't accept the defeats. What was a victory if there was no defeat at all?

Competition divides us and creates a barrier between the people and us; that's one of the tragedies of too much focus on competitors. People forget about their selves, for they want their victory.

Are you competitive? I don't say it's terrible to become competitive. That's the nature of human beings, but it's a way of hurting yourself and others at the end of competitors. I think it's not a good practice at all. 

Compete when you think you can accept winning and losing. There was no 100% victory in all competitions unless you cheated. Lol.

Thanks for reading...

14
$ 4.57
$ 4.42 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @gertu13
$ 0.02 from @Ayane-chan
+ 6
Sponsors of Eunoia
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Eunoia
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I agree with you Eunoia. Too much competition can ruin a relationship because it's toxic. You must do things for yourself but not compete with others. You are not always the best and you will never win in life always, you should accept defeats for you to learn.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I think that some competition is not that beneficial. People will be focusing on the end goal instead of the process of the work. Also, we have different race in life.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It's a good thing that you showcased both faces of competition.

Just lately, I and my friend discussed about competition at school. He asked me if is there still existing competitions at school nowadays. I told him, yes. He continued while talking about competition in college in specific. I responded that college life is more on survival, however, competition is a human condition. It may have caused it, developed, and someone may have used to it.

It some cases, some students are left with no choice by the parents, peers or society, but to compete with others and show that they are better than anyone else.

Viewing competition in general also involves considering what caused them to compete. However, I agree that too much competition is toxicity. I also adore how you pointed out that you hate competition.

Nice meeting you. Stay safe and see you around.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hate competitions, too. I got pressured and I don't like that. I like to do things that I can enjoy while learning and improving. I don't want forced.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like competitions, pero alam dapat ang word na sportsmanship at acceptance. Mas gusto ko ung process of competing than the result. Gusto ko lang mag enjoy while competing.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I hate competitions too because at an early age during my elementary days from grade 1 to 6, my auntie always compare my cousin with me. As if she's putting too much pressure on my cousin to compete with me when we never mind about it. Thus I decide to have distant from my cousin though we are okay.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I am competitive but not in a way na greedy and toxic na. I don't exprect too much on myself ganun hehehe.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I notice the competition in elementary level was toxic. It even involve the parents😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Lahat naman talaga ng too much ay toxic. Competition help me improve and andami din natututunan, pero pag sobra na pangit na mana yun

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I like competitions in a good way 'cause they are entertaining.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I agree too much competition is very toxic where it can cause more pressure.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Sometimes people don't realize that the other people is not their real competitor, instead it's their selves.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I feel you. It causes anxiety when you have to prove yourself to anyone and outsmart other people. Later on in life, I learned that competition is unavoidable and we compete unconsciously every day. So, l learned to adapt and participate in healthy competition.

$ 0.00
1 year ago