I'm Teaching My Child Chess #1

23 57
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Child, Chess, Game, Play, Teaching, ...

Part One: Engaging and Guiding

Before we start teaching the game of chess to our child, we will start with the motivation work. Children are always eager to play chess, as chess has a mysterious nature. The shapes of the chess pieces attract their attention because they resemble cartoon characters.

We will start with a home activity to get our child excited about playing chess. First, we will make a cardboard piggy bank with our child. We will keep the duration of this event as long as possible. For example, after the cardboard piggy bank is finished, we can decorate it by painting it.

But before we start making this piggy bank, we need to tell our child that we are going to buy a chess set with the money that will be saved in this piggy bank. We will throw the first coin into this piggy bank to reward its success in decorating the piggy bank. In the coming days, we can throw money into the piggy bank to reward the child's performance in matters such as tidying his room at home and eating regularly.

In order not to discourage our child, we will not continue this home activity for more than 6 days. For example, we might say that we will surprise him if he finishes all the food on his plate on the night of the fifth day or if he goes to bed on time. The child will likely take a positive approach to this. In this case, we can explain the surprise to the child. We can express to him that he has enough money in the piggy bank and that he can now own a chess set.

Since we will go to buy a chess set the next day, it would be more appropriate to make this day coincide with a holiday. It would be more correct to go out not only to buy chess sets, but also for holiday activities.

The next day, after opening the piggy bank and counting the money and giving it to the child, we will go to the store where we will buy the chess set. We can let him choose a chess set that matches the amount of money he has saved. If our child wants to buy a more expensive chess set, we can say that he can buy it when he saves enough money.

Our child will probably look forward to playing chess as he has bought his first set of chess. We can tell him that he needs to be patient by reminding him that we are planning to spend the holiday together having fun outside. We can also remind you that chess is a game that requires patience, and if one wants to be a good chess player, one must learn to be patient. Then we can motivate him to have fun by focusing on his holiday activities.

Our child may continue to be impatient until he opens the box of the chess set. On the way home, we have to set some conditions. For example, we can say that he can start playing chess if he brushes teeth and cleans hands and face at home.

Yes, I talked about what needs to be done before we start teaching our child chess. Now he is interested in the game of chess and can't wait to play. This was our first phase. I will talk about the other stages step by step.

What do you think about this?

Stay with love…

12
$ 2.41
$ 2.08 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.10 from @juanchozzz1974
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 6
Sponsors of ErdoV
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for ErdoV
Written by
2 years ago
Topics: Child, Chess, Game, Play, Teaching, ...

Comments

I really love chess. It is a strategical game and needs a good amount of thinking to be played. Great topic.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes you are right, this chess game is basically an IQ game which requires intelligence and good moves. I personally also love this game.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks man, chess lovers are finding each other somehow.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Chess is a beautiful game

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think it's a really great game

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The best choice to teach our children, chess is a strategy game that can be perfectly applicable to our daily lives.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can say that it helped me a lot in thinking multi-dimensionally.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I didn't know how to play chess but after reading your article I am curious to learn it from someone. It seems a interesting game

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm glad my post encouraged you

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Your a great father, I don't know much about chess just the basics but playing it seriously is isn't my thing, my husband teach also my son's playing that its a good strategic game. Hope you both enjoy 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is very enjoyable for me to both play and teach.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The fact that you are trying to teach your child chess and doing this in stages just shows how much you want your child to learn... You're a great parent!!!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm trying to teach my twin nieces. They're pretty excited about chess

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Seems you love this chess so much. That's good🙌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I absolutely love it

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good luck, children nowadays have extremely short attention spans, and they expect smart-tv type of entertainment and monumentalism from everything.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

chess helps them concentrate

$ 0.00
2 years ago

A mother is the best teacher for her kids always. 💗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, I agree with this thought. My mother was my best teacher. Of course, I must not forget my big sister.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love this. I look forward to reading your next articles about this topic. My son started showing interest in chess very early and now he knows the basic rules and loves to play. He thinks a lot when he plays and is very patient. He plays better than me. 😀

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Glad to hear that, Jeka! I know you have a 5 year old son and he likes to play chess. I hope my articles can contribute to the improvement of his chess. I greet the little prince :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago