Without it, Expect War

27 39
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

This is a long due challenge accepted from my fellow writer here, @noisytoothie. Hey there, I hope I am still not too late.

Respect is such a vast word that can be interpreted in endless ways. I know I will take forever if I try to discuss all possible meanings of it. Let's just do this: How do you define respect? What words come to your mind when you see or hear this word? Feel free to share it in the comment section.

They say every single one of us deserves respect. No one should be left out, it is an innate right we have. It is like acknowledging the worth of a person no matter how different your beliefs are. Respect is like that.

I just had some thinking, though. Does everyone really deserve respect? I guess it depends. This is where I insert additional words here. It is not 'Everyone deserves respect', then period. No. It's better this way:

"Everyone deserves respect, as long as they earn it."

I do not intend to sound cruel or savage here, but let me make it clear to you. What sense it is to respect someone who does not even respect you? Don't expect to be respected when you don't do it to others. As much as we deserve respect, we are also supposed to earn it, by giving it to others.

I am open to your disagreement, and I am willing to hear your side on this. Personally, respect is such a precious thing to me. It's not supposed to be given away thoughtlessly. That does not mean though that I am a disrespectful rascal, or something like that. I can still be courteous and nice to everyone without actually giving them high regards, well, unless they deserve it.

Since it is such a broad topic, I will just focus on one side I always experience people's lack of respect. I am talking about my music taste.

It is not a secret that I am a fan of Kpop music. Mostly songs by BTS and Tomorrow X Together, I also love to listen to K-Drama OSTs because those tracks are just so good and relaxing to listen to.

I am glad most people around me accept my preferences in music. However, I can't deny there are still people out there that are so quick to judge, have set many stigmatizing opinions about my music taste, which is, to me, just plain disrespectful.

Below are only three of the commons disrespectful remarks I always encounter as a Kpop fan.

  • You don't understand the lyrics, anyway. Why do you keep listening to those songs?

First of all, it's 2021 and we're still in this argument. There is internet accessible to me, I can always look for the translations online. To me, understanding a song is not just about literally knowing it word for word, but having it relate to my own experiences, learning from what it wants to express, and of course, one that would comfort me like how a real friend understands.

There are a lot of remarkable lyrics with amazing meanings I only got to hear through Korean lyrics. This makes me so proud. Let me show you some.

“Adults tell me that hardships are only momentary
To endure a little more, to do it later
Everybody say NO!
It can’t be any later
Don’t be trapped in someone else’s dream.”

These are lyrics from BTS' song, N.O. which strongly emphasizes how students are nothing different from robots that should just work hard, and achieve a lot, even at the expense of the essence of enjoying life, and following one's own dreams.

People nowadays have been living their lives they did not want to live, because of how the society defined success. Only those high-paying jobs can sustain you and give you ultimate happiness, which, in reality, is a pretentious thread of fallacies.

“I believe in myself;
My back hurts in order to let my wings sprout.”

These are from BTS' outro song: Wings. This track is a beautiful depiction of a hard path one has to endure to finally enjoy that beautiful future that waits ahead. Organic success roots from blood, sweat, and tears, along with passion and trust in one's self.

“If you can’t fly, then run.
Today we will survive.
If you can’t run, then walk.
Today we will survive.
If you can’t walk, then crawl.”

Success does not require us to have wings, nor have swift, able legs. Even we are weak, or even limping, there is no excuse to pursuing that dream we want to achieve. Even if it means crawling to the top of that mountain, victory does not reduce its value. What beautiful lyrics, again, from BTS' song, "Not Today."

“I still believe, even though it’s unbelievable:
To lose your path
Is the way to find that path.”

What sensible and interesting way to put things off. There are times we feel lost and like we don't know where we are headed. Those times of confusions, and self-doubts are meant to develop us the desire to be our own compass, being eager to find that flowery path meant for us. This song is a personal favorite of mine. Title is "Lost" by BTS.

Actually, there are a lot more memorable lyrics I could look for, but I might just make it a comprehensive compilation in a future article. (Not sure when. Haha.)

Just because Korean language isn't my first language does not mean I could not enjoy the beauty of the message Korean songs shares. English is not my first language, as well, and others maybe like me. But we manage to communicate today because we learn it gradually. This applies to all languages, not just English.

  • You support it more than your own.

This has to be the greatest joke I've seen today. That I prioritize foreign songs than the songs in my country. Do you think I only listen to Korean songs ever since I was born? No, I am not mad. I am actually laughing right now.

I know I am still a Filipino, and my country will still be my number 1. I just prefer listening more to KPop music. I mean, my ears, my choice. Use this argument card to me if you don't have any western songs in your playlist, okay?

The disrespectful part here is when we are deemed not patriotic and we support other country than our own. This is nothing but a one-sided judgment that has no proof. You don't own our minds to judge that easily. It's better to keep those conspiracy theories on your head.

  • You only like their music, because they are good-looking.

Hold up, it's not about music anymore?

I have been supporting BTS, for example, for almost eight years now. So you think, I've been with them just to listen to their faces?

Like any other music out there, Kpop music has amazing range of genres that caters my taste. For the long period I have been listening to Korean popular music, I have never been disappointed with how it developed to what it is now. We can't deny, it is slowly taking the world by storm, because it defines the word trend.

I just had to speak out on this one. This stereotypical view of us Kpop fans is so insulting and disrespectful. This seems like the music we don't listen to are owned by not good-looking artists you mean?

Everyone is entitled to have his own opinion. We are all different humans, with our own beliefs and preferences in all areas of our lives. No one should really be restricted from expressing his or her thoughts and ideas.

But there are specific times we should know to not speak. We should know better, we are humans. We have feelings that can be hurt or impacted by words alone. There are opinions that are not meant for announcing in the world, especially if it would just ignite fights and unnecessary drama.

Knowing when to share one opinions, and when to keep silent is a sign of being respectful to me. Like what I've mentioned, if you know your opinion may come out as insulting or does not help the situation, don't start trouble by keeping it to yourself.

You don't like Korean popular music? Okay, I respect you. I won't force you to like it. It's beautiful if it just ends like that. No need for additional commentaries that purposely attracts debates.

People that say the mentioned things above are examples of those that I have in my blacklist. If they don't accept me with just my music preferences alone, the tendency is he/she may disrespect my principles in other things.

There are billions of people in the world, built differently, with similar but not identical preferences and likes, but how do we manage to live each day without a war? It's because of respect. We respect one's privacy, one's gender, one's religious beliefs, one's customary food, one's traditions, and of course, one's music taste.

Respect is what made co-existence possible. Without respect, expect war.

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also active on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

10
$ 9.26
$ 7.99 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 1.00 from @wrabbiter
$ 0.06 from @meitanteikudo
+ 6
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

Hm.. how does respect manifest when it comes to action? How can one say another person respects another person just by looking at them... is it universal? Is it general ?

And also, "you only like their music because they are good looking." lol, that's just nonsense. I fell in love with Taylor Swift by ear only. I didn't even see her face after few months. LOL

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You always have a way to intrigue me with your random thoughts, huh. And yeah! Sucks to be Kpop fan sometimezs, honestly. It is sometimes hard pointing out that there are still people like us who are not in for the visuals. The stereotype is so strong that others are close minded from the truth that opposes to it.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yep, but I don't really mind it, the stereotyping of us, I don't even care. Whatever they say, it doesn't affect how much I like something or someone. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Good mindset! Practicing that attitude right now. ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah that's great!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you. :))

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You keep on listening what you want to listen to. Me I do as the Ramones sang "“Listen to My Heart”!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, yes, yes! Our ears, our choice! No judgment with regards to nationality nor age, even one own's beliefs! Thanks a lot for this! ;)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Respect indeed can be given in many ways. These came to my mind. Respect the elderly, the pregnants or someome who needs it, but it is not only can be given if someone needs it.

I am glad you came up with music. The type of music I like and that paricular band is the one that people don't listen or they say it is not good. They hate them to be harsh. Today it is not the case anymore, but it was in the 80's.

We who were and still are fans were hated because of what we liked. It is very sad. We had like enemies. It makes me so happy that I like a band that started in 1981 and they are still active today. Their fan base is massive worldwide and every stadium is full on their show, yet not many people know them and radios are not really playing their songs.

About the culture. I learned how to give respect to someone who has different culture. My partner is not from the same country as I am. We have diffetent cultures and we give respect to each other. Our cuisine for example is very different. My partner doesn't eat what I eat, but she gives respect to me and understands my culture.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for this. As a fan of foreign people, stereotypes are also strong and unavoidable in my case. Moreover, we hav gotten used to many haters, as if hating on our favorite artists, and the fans, is their main job.

I agree that different cultures can still come together, as long as respect is in between.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As a musician who's been playing in bands for many years, I agree that music is about personal preference and personal taste. I also agree that we just have to respect each other's choices on what feels good to our ears and what uplifts us emotionally.

The only thing I would like to express though, is that "I hope you Kpop fans would just be honest enough to admit that the main reason why you admire your idols is because of their good looks." There's nothing wrong with admiring music artists because of their visual appeal -- that's just the norm for the pop music scene these days. I just hope you will have the decency to admit that, since you are demanding respect from us, non-Kpop fans.

I admire you for courageously posting this. You are just defending your side and you explained your points well.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks a lot for your generous upvote, and your words. Maybe I really need to clear this one. Kpop is not the first music type I got to listen to, I used to like western music more. What got me into Kpop is, actually the trending music it offers. Well, maybe, other fans just went in for the looks, but I can confidently say I am not one of them. It maybe hard to believe, but I think I am not the only one who's like this.

Until now, there are Korean Artists I admire that still receives hate because of their looks not conforming to the beauty standards. But I still respect them and look up to them, because their music is amazing, and it's much more important than beauty that fades over time.

Again, thanks for your thoughts in this. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Let me ask you this, suppose you're only hearing Kpop songs on the radio, and you have no idea how they look, would you still love their music the way you do now? Chances are, you won't, please admit that.

There was a time when the likes of Freddie Aguilar, Asin, and Aretha Franklin were embraced by all because of their music. Even if people don't see their faces, they achieved great heights of fame because of one reason alone - great musical artistry.

There's nothing wrong with admitting to loving music artists for their looks first, and choosing to love them for their music later. That's just the evolutionary direction that music took... and sadly for us musicians, we can't do anything but just accept that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I don't think you are open to the idea that people like me exist. I will just respect that. :)

$ 0.50
2 years ago

I am very open to the idea that you do exist. Please visualize this in your head: You have no idea about Kpop, you have not seen any Kpop idol before, and you only heard of Kpop songs on the radio, while not seeing them at all. Then visit one of my posts, and post your arguments there. I don't mean to upset you.... I just wanna hear the truth.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, I am sorry if you thought I was upset. I am in no way offended, and I truly understand your side. But ain't it generalizing, sir, that vague idea of being into it due to visuals? What if I told you I got to like Psy because I first heard of his song "Gangnam Style" on the radio? Will that suffice? Psy used his music style to fame, and even he is not perfect, he stays true to his image, that is why he earned my respect.

$ 0.10
2 years ago

But do you like Psy first, before you admired those Kpop boybands? You admired those cute boys before you admired Psy, can you admit that? Please focus on my main question, "What if you only heard Kpop songs on the radio, and haven't seen them?" -Address that question.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of course, I did haha. Psy became famous before the boybands I mentioned. And to answer your question, which I thought I already did, Yes. Definitely. No doubt. I got into Kpop due to the curiousity about the music, so my ears are the very first, ultimate, realest judge.

$ 0.05
2 years ago

I will definitely check your posts.. Thanks a lot for your insights. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Respect begets respect as they say. It can be applied anywhere, at home, at school, at office, at the community and even here in read. Each of us has different cultures, beliefs, practices, likings and I say and agree with you that respect is important for us to have peace not war.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed true. Thanks for reading po .:)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You are welcome dear. take care.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Take care din po, always. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Respect is a sacred thing we must execute daily through out our existence. It's priceless and easy to execute. Sabi nga nila Respect begets respect.It doesn't matter who they are , where they come from, what is their color, what is their like or what is their status in life .Each and everyone of us deserves respect, even those who did bad things.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

May point naman. Very true and relatable. Thanks a lot for coming by. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

For me, the words that easily comes to my mind at the mention of "respect" is "honour" Respect is reciprocal likewise we give honour to whom it is due to.

There should be war indeed, if there's no respect. Because if you don't respect me, you shouldn't expect my respect either. Nice write-up 👌

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, wow, thanks for this. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago