My Equation of Freedom

28 71
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Story, Writing, Journey, Thoughts, ...

Who doesn't want freedom?

I agree, it seems to be a weird question, but we all have the same answer, I suppose.

I can bet my favorite brand of chips for this. We will never hear anyone be like "I don't like freedom. Why does it even exist?" Absolutely none.

Right now, I am munching Piattos, my all-time favorite junk foods. I have craved for it since last week, but I moderate my salt intake, as I know it ain't good for my health.

Anyway, going back to the subject, there are absolutely many ways to interpret freedom. Let me share to you one of those, while I enjoy my alone time here in our little home.

What it feels like to be me

My favorite chips are all gone now. I am just drinking a glass of water, to neutralize the salt I put in my body. I started to hear the singing of the crickets from outside, and I just stare at my cellphone, thinking of the right words to write.

Being an introvert, it is sometimes (or most of the times, to be exact,) difficult for me to express myself well. It pisses me off how I can't directly tell someone whenever I felt offended or insulted. Due to this, I find it hard to create a limit on how people should act around me. It's hard to tell people how I really feel because I am just.. not used to expressing it.

Deep inside, I want to be able to do this, too. The ability to say "No" when I don't really want something; the courage to tell people what I do and do not like.

Do you know those moments when people make you do something? Even when you don't really want to do it, ypu would not want to create more drama, so you just agree? Lol, I always relate.

Well, if you don't, I envy you.

I have struggled for many years because of this side of me. I was able to blend unto the world as an ordinary, extra character in this play called life. I got some good friends too, and gradually, I learned some ways to be more expressive, and become more confident.

However, I know I can never go to the level others have attained. Because it is me. I am a person who prefers dealing with things on my own, would rather enjoy my time alone, and only be vocal about how I am feeling when I have to.

I have realized that it is okay and normal to be a person like that. There would still be people who won't consider me "weird" and respect me for who I am. I ain't just the only one who is like this, and it's human. I am still a person, that breathes, that lives, and conquers. No one is superior nor inferior to the other one, and it makes the world more unique and beautiful.

Freedom to be me

I hope I didn't take too much time in brushing my teeth. I am so excited to tell you how I discovered the freedom that I know of. My eyes are getting sleepy, but my mind is still awake and willing to finish this sharing tonight. And so, even I brushed my teeth already, I stood up again, and made myself a cup of a hot chocolate drink. Just some sugar to give me energy for the night.

Let's continue.

Just like magic, writing came to me eventually. Like how a young love gently crept into an innocent girl's heart, writing slowly but surely let me into its world, and now, I have no plans of leaving.

Writing gave me the freedom that I couldn't find in many other things. It made me discover many hidden things about me, and helped me bring out the best in every bit of it.

I didn't imagine I can make myself a strong character that I have always wanted to be, with just the tip of a pen. I can have wings and even fly to other fascinating places, thanks to my imagination, and the pen and paper that help me document it.

You know what is a diary, right? This may sound petty and too childish for others, but it gave me a breath of fresh air. It became my release every end of the day; I openly talked about that day I saw my favorite person, or that moment I got really pissed off by my colleague, even to the times I just cry without any reasons.

Writing helped me release all the pent up emotions I couldn't say through words. Other people have different ways to express themselves. Break something when they're angry, pour their tears on their pillows when they are sad, or talk to a trusted friend when they feel confusedā€”you can think of a lot more.

But to me, just some writing materials are enough. After a few hours of filling some pages with various scribbles, I will just feel like a heavy burden has been lifted off my chest, and that feeling is so wonderful. I can't explain it much, but imagine finally letting go of a 50 kg worth of rice from your back, it feels so exhausting yet, gives a sense of relief.

I have never felt this feeling ever, and only writing gave me this. One day, I just realized one thing: Ah, so this is freedom.

When I write, I am able to describe how I feel, and what I want to say in detail, with no filter; and my pen never judges me for it. The paper is like a trusted comrade, all my secrets are safe with him. And if I would want to remember some funny or remarkable moments or days of my life, he will just tell me everything again, in detail.

I want to be someone who can travel to a lot of places, without any worries of the expenses nor people of languages I don't understand.

However, in my story, I am that girl who just enjoys a comfortable life, traveling around the world for fun, getting good memories. In my story, I am somehow a person who knows a lot of languages, and gains lots of friends from different nationalities.

Do you know understand how writing let me become as free as I could? You won't even be surprised if I told you right now that I even became the youngest woman president of my country, in my other story. (Haha!)

Writing and Freedom indeed Co-Exist

I know every introvert out there can very well agree with me on this. We prefer writing than talking. We feel like we could express better with written words than spoken ones.

It gives us ultimate control of what we want to say, without external aspects interrupting our train of thoughts.

As I sip the final drop of my chocolate drink, let me tell you an interesting historical fact that relates writing and freedom.

Dr. Jose P. Rizal, the Philippine National Hero, was known for his novels "Noli Me Tangere" and "El Filibusterismo". Rizal did not save the country by going to a war nor fighting with a sword. But what made him the National Hero?

His works ignited Filipino patriotism. He encouraged Filipino people to revolt against its colonizers by exposing its rotten system through his novels. He did not do anything brutal, nor used violence, but he was able to awaken the hidden desire for freedom by those who read his novels.

Of course he was killed because of this, but his death wasn't in vain, because we, Filipinos, owe a big part of this freedom, to him, along with a lot others.

This is where I insert this wonderful quote we must have heard at least once in our lives: Pen is mightier than the sword.

The time is so fast. I gently washed my cup, so I won't disturb my family members who are asleep right now. It is a calm night, and it has called unto me for a multiple times since nine.

A few more sentences, and I am really sleeping.


This is what freedom is to me.

Pen + Paper = Freedom

Or in short:

Writing = Freedom

I don't have to act like someone I am not when I write. I just woke up, but I want to write? It's okay. I don't have to pretend nor wear my mask on when I am immersed in this activity.

Whatever I think, I just write it down like there is no tomorrow, and let my mind take me to where it wants me to explore.

After all, in writing, there is no limit as who I can be. There is no rules as to how many words I should use. As long as I have my pen and my paper, the real, unedited version of myself, and that's it. I am good.

You, too, can find freedom in writing. Try it now, if you haven't yet. I assure you, you can be free like me. Free as the air that penetrates every single thing as it could, just goes wherever it wants, and will never stop, even if the time might do so.


Hey, friends!

This is what I managed to squeeze from my brain for the past few days of choosing among different ideas about freedom.

I think I have successfully participated to this fun writing challenge by @JonicaBradley . It is a new experience that really made me learn new things. Thank you so much.

A special mention too, for @Bjorn who encouraged me to this challenge. Feel free to join this fun activity and let's see how different people here define freedom personally.

Challenge Rules:

  1. Write about Freedom.

  2. Write 100% original content.

  3. Write at least 600 words.

  4. Tag @JonicaBradley .

  5. Have fun!

Tagging my fellow writers @noisytoothie, @Peter-Molnar, @wakeuplincs, @Princessbusayo , and to all that reads this. You may want to join the challenge too! And please mention me, so I can also read your works. :) If you have joined the challenge already, it's okay, just ignore my tags LOL.

Thanks for reading, until next time!

Come start writing and earning here, if you haven't yet!

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

I am also active on noise.cash. Same username, let me know and let's talk there!

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.


  • Lead Image Source

  • Please click pictures for sources. :)

11
$ 14.65
$ 14.37 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.07 from @noisytoothie
$ 0.05 from @leejhen
+ 4
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Story, Writing, Journey, Thoughts, ...

Comments

Oh, you participated. I never done that, haha. I just like my freedom of when to write and when to procrastinate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You can join too! Freely as you want, hahaha! Thanks a lot for coming by. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

But I'm not interested in contests. Maybe, next time. šŸ˜

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It is not actually a contest. But, it's okay :D

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I felt nice following your train of thoughts from Piattos to the glass of water to the chocolate drink. Yey! Freedom for all. I still can't understand till this day, why were Rizal's work written in spanish? If I were really trying to stir up my fellow, I would have written something that all of us could understand, our own language.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Spanish was the official language of the Philippine government. Here is part of the Wikipedia entry:

"Spanish was the official language of the Philippines from the beginning of Spanish rule in the late 16th century, through the conclusion of the Spanishā€“American War in 1898 and remained co-official, along with English, until 1987. It was at first re in 1973 by a constitutional change, but after a few months it was re-designated an official language by presidential decree and remained official until 1987, with the present Constitution re-designating it instead as an "optional and voluntary language".[3][4]

It was the language of the Philippine Revolution and the country's first official language, as proclaimed in the Malolos Constitution of the First Philippine Republic in 1899. It was the language of commerce, law, politics and the arts during the colonial period and well into the 20th century. It was the main language of many classical writers and Ilustrados such as JosĆ© Rizal, Antonio Luna and Marcelo del Pilar. It is regulated by the Academia Filipina de la Lengua EspaƱola, the main Spanish-language regulating body in the Philippines, and a member of the AsociaciĆ³n de Academias de la Lengua EspaƱola, the entity which regulates the Spanish language worldwide."

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hmmmm okaaay... that's why. It makes sense. Revolution starts if the big people were moved first. Nice. Thanks for this..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wow! Thanks for this, ma'am! I can't believe Filipinos spoke a foreign language for cebturies in their own country. I really appreciate your help. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahah because we don't have our "own" country then. We're conquered.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love history. There's only so much history in my country... Just a few hundred years of European history. Thousands of years of indigenous history.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ohh... When I think of it, too.. It's weird.. Maybe I will do some research on that. He must have a reason. Hahaha! I never realized this sooner because I am used to reading it in our language when I was in school..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha cool. Let me know what you find. I can't afford to look into this, because if I start to dig up these things, I might lose it and continue down the rabbit hole. Hahahhaa

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love rabbit holes. Well, actually, they love me.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey! Miss Jonica gave some answer already, read it in the replies.. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nice elle.. Keep it up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you so much! I will work harder. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Journaling, or as you call it, writing in a diary, is often used in psychological therapy. It really does release a lot of emotions. Sometimes good, sometimes bad. For me, writing is usually good. But every once in a while I trigger myself into a bad emotional state. The only solution for me is to write THROUGH it.

Keep writing!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We are the same. I can relate.. And yes , I will keep writing. Thanks a lot for your nice words. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehe! This is a challenge and I am accepting this too. I would make this my post for tomorrow. Thank you Indeed, writing is freedom. You can freely explain yourself in writing than any other thing.

We all need freedom to express ourselves and we want people to listen to us, so we can actually do what works best for us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can't wait to read yours! Don't forget to tag Miss Jonica Bradley and me. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just published mine now and tagged too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I will look into it as soon as I can! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Being expressive is hard for those introvert person just like me. When I was in high school, writing is my best buddy. If I can't express something, I just write it in my notebook.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same. I am so thankful we found home in writing. <3

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes, writing really helps us in expressing our thoughts.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Accepted! I'm glad you tagged me. Hihi. For Saturday's article. Will be about freedom.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am excited to read it! :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Haha will be mostly nonsense but worth reading. Maybe.. let's see

$ 0.00
2 years ago