Black Feather: Assignment

25 54
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

I don't know if it's him alone, his spell, or just his smile—that makes my heart flutter, and my mind fly.

From Pixabay

It was a normal day at school. Students in the room are bickering, or maybe just talking about a new issue. Others are busy copying each other's homework. It is a little more than ten minutes before the literature class, and they are making every minute count before the professor arrives.

Erica was just busy scrolling through her phone. Browsing through food blogs and making herself suffer more because she was already hungry at this early time of the day. Two or three more students arrived while catching their breath. No one's late at class today. Two minutes later, Mrs. Cruz arrived.

Everybody were back to their seats, and the once chaotic classroom was now filled with the line voice of the professor, doing her thing, obviously, discussing about stuff. One interesting question made theboring atmosphere, somehow, a bit more alive.

"What do you know about flying creatures?"

The class remained silent, until the professor noticed Erica currently not focused.

"You seemed not focused since earlier, Ms. Erica. Do you have an idea about flying creatures?"

"Ahh.. T-They can fly?"

Of all students, why me? Erica muttered to herself. The whole class laughed at her ridiculous remark. Mrs. Cruz did not know how to react, because she could not comprehend whether the girl was trying to be funny, or was just plain stupid.

All attention landed on the class geek, Timothy, when the professor allowed him to speak.

"I envy them. They can go places. They can see the world around them. They can escape this cruel life." he answered.

A round of applause followed. As expected. What seemed to be a funny mood earlier was now filled with silence.

Everyone, including Erica, was in awe of the guy's remark that seemed sincere, except another student who's staring blankly at the window.

"James," The teacher called him, "Any inputs?"

The students did not expect him to respond. James has always been so silent and does not give a dang about almost everything, including this nonsense conversation.

If Timothy's cold, James is colder.

After heaving an exasperated sigh, and some cheering from his classmates (that might have helped or might have made everything worse), James lazily stood up and spoke.

"Being naturally able to fly isn't something I would want to possess. Oftentimes, it's somewhat a curse. We look up to these flying creatures, we expect much of them. That they can do anything. Wings don't really mean freedom, but rather a prison, restriction. Flying creatures are restricted by others' expectations of them."

James sat down as if nothing has happened. Everyone else became silent, maybe suddenly contemplating about what he said. Isn't it intersting to hear two completely opposite answers to a single question? Eyes were moving back and forth of James and Timothy, who are both busy either looking at the window, or reading a book.

Erica could not help but stare at James, her thoughts pondering.

"Wow, that's some witty stuff he said." she murmured.

The class finished with the professor leaving them with something to do: Identify whether people with wings do really exist or not.

Erica, including most of her classmates, secretly laughed on the inside.

"Obviously none. Why would I waste time to search for things such as these?"

Nevertheless, she went to the library to read some stuff about it. At least to have something to present, just for grades. When she found a spot to sit on, she saw Timothy across another seat, busy reading, as always.

"Handsome, honestly. But he looks so scary. I might not be shocked if I realize he can murder someone with that snob aura.." she joked silently.

"Care if I sit here?"

"Oh, Christian, hey! It's okay! Be comfortable."

Christian, her friend, sat in a seat in front of her. He brought some books with him and put them on the table, as he looked at Erica with a grin on his face.

"You seemed to take our assignment seriously, huh?" Christian asked her.

The girl appeared a bit immersed about some mythology stuff, relating to flying humans, or whatever it is that they're called.

"Hmmm.. Not really interested. I just wanted to get a good grade." was Erica's response.

"I personally believe they are somehow, real." he said, making the girl look at him in disbelief.

"You do? Seriously?"

"Yeah, and I hope I could prove this. Oh.. wait, I forgot something from the classroom. Be right back!"

"Okay, fine. Bye.."

Even with a bit of shock from Christian's words earlier, Erica continued gathering information.

"Long time ago, it was said that people used to see humans who have the ability to fly through their wings. These creatures are named as Allanos. Most of them are male.

"They have identical features as those of the human beings, except for their ability to have their black wings appear whenever they wish to fly.

"They are also believed to communicate, and somehow, live with people back then. Nevertheless, human abuse of their kindness separated the world between humans and Allanos.—"

"Urgh, why am I reading this boring sht.." she complained.

She was stopped by some noises made by Timothy, who was returning some of the books and preparing to go. For some reason, Erica watched him as he meticulously put back those books to the shelves where those belonged.

Upon walking on the way out though, Erica noticed something falling from one of Timothy's notebooks. She waited for the lad to be out of the library, before quickly walking to the spot, and picking up the thing that fell.

Upon seeing the familiar thing, the girl was filled with confusion.

"Black feather?" she whispered.

Erica wondered what suddenly got into her that she kept this feather into her bag and immediately went home to try and investigate it.

"What the... This ain't a normal feather, dude.."

The size of it is a lot bigger than the normal feather of a chicken or any other animals. It is definitely not a fake feather, one that is used as designs or a decorative piece or something. It seemed real and authentic. From what kind of animal though, she is not sure. All that she is aware of though, is that she had spent the remaining seven hours of her day, analyzing the feather.

"I will definitely use it well for the assignment, this research thing.. Why the heck does Timothy have something like this, though?"

Erica's curiosity suddenly awoke. She wants to investigate.

"This one week assignment isn't really a tedious thing to do, after all."

Oh, hey!

How was it? Were you interested? Please, please let me know.

This is a fictional story. I wrote this many years back, but this is a bit of an edited version, since this is originally written in a mixture of English, and my mother language, Filipino.

It is actually a fan fiction I used to write about, you guess.. Yes, BTS. BTS members. LOL! I can't believe I used to write silly stuff like this back then. To be honest, it has gotten to lots of chapters already, and is still unfinished until now. I guess, for three to four years already. Goodness. This was published first on Facebook, and I almost forgot I sill have an ongoing story there. Urgh.. I just finally decided to delete the post I did.on Facebook so as to make sure this one's not gonna come out as copied from anywhere else. I followed the advice of the people that commented. Thanks a lot. :)

I am still pondering whether I should try to continue the series here, or just let it end like this. Let us see, if I could.

I think I am having an eye strain again. This is bad. I will sleep earlier tonight. Or maybe wake up when I feel like I can LOL. I would love to see your feedback on this work of mine from ages ago, because I know in this field, I still had and have lots of rooms for improvements. Please leave some feedbacks below if you can. I will read them all.

Until Next Time!

Hello there! I am excited to see your name on my sponsor block. Thank you in advance!

Be a writer in this amazing platform right NOW! Register here:

https://read.cash/r/Ellehcim

Let's hang out on noise.cash! I also go by the name username. Find me here:

https://noise.cash/u/Ellehcim

To God be all the glory.

  • Lead Image from BTS' V Black Swan Concept Photo

  • I checked this through plagiarism detectors and it is not 100% plagiarism-free. Turns out, I plagiarized my own outro statement from my previous article, and some couple of common phrases obviously used in a normal speech. Duh, I have convo stuff in this story, so I understand the similarities. Rest assured though, that all of it is original. Here are some of 'em though, for peace of mind.

IDK about it. I clicked these highlighted words, and the supposed plagiarised sources are stuff with similar used phrases, like three to four words. Seriously?
"Ability to Fly.." plagiarized. I tweaked it a bit. "Being naturally able to fly.." still plagiarized. Oh come on!

There are still like two or four left here, but I am not including because I just want to point out that the similarities are not my fault. This long ending part is not meant to offend anyone, especially those who use these detectors religiously. It honestly took me longer to check this for plagiarism (and revising the claimed "plagiarised" parts) than writing the content. Bothersome, yes, but vital. Thanks for reading up to here. Love lots.

-Elle ♥️

10
$ 8.08
$ 7.57 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Princessbusayo
$ 0.05 from @Jane
+ 9
Sponsors of Ellehcim
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellehcim
2 years ago

Comments

I do not know if you have made a continuation of this but I would love to read it. 😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Actually, sa totoo may continuation to, pero taglish kasi. 😂 Timatamad pa akong iedit kaya hanggang dito nalang yata to. 🤧😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ipublish na din kahit taglish. 😉

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As I was reading, all I can think is Icarus. But then, there really is a flying man in her research and it is called Allanos. It's interesting. Next please.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Actually, I invented the word Allano. HAHA

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, so nice! Next po 😊

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks hehe.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Am hooked.. hehe next chapter na please...

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahahaha! Tingnan po natin kung may next..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Woah...interesting ung story 😊.. dapat may katuloy po para masaya.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ay hehe, tungnan natin kung masusundan

$ 0.00
2 years ago

CONTINUE IT PLEASE! Magawala ako pag hindi 🤧. I want to know the the real Timothy. He's hiding something for sure, those flying creatures exist and they are now living with humans. UwU, sana naman may Romancey romancey 🤩😍. WAITING.......

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Thanks for the feedback po! Susubukan kong sundan. Hehe. Let's see..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You Posted it on facebook before ? It makes it dangerous. Hopefully the bot won't misinterpret it.

Nice story by the way.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Don't worry, I have deleted the FB post already just to make sure. Thanks for reading! ♥️

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The story has caught me, so I think you should continue writing it. And I hope you post what comes next here ;)

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ahehehe thanks a lot! Let me see if I'd be able to continue this. :)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Goodnes! If I were Erica, I would totally be scared if that growing feather and throw it far. Oh my

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hahaha! In real life, I think i'd do the same. LOL. Char, not really sure. Curiosity is powerful. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh you're brave then. Haha! Takot talaga ako sa mga bagay2 na ganyan. Ewan ko lang.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di pa sure yan. May pagka-kabado din ako lagi eh . 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Of you have posted this first on FB. It will be flagged as plagiarized by the system

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Hello po! I actually checked it already and soon to delete the old post in FB.. tapos, halos tagalog naman po yung ild version so I think, okay lang naman po. Medyo nakakakaba nga kadi baka mamark talaga huhu. Anyway, I have clearly indicated naman po where I first published it, and as far as I know, it's okay basta may indication. 😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As long as hndi lalabas na copied. Okay lng

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Ayun buti naman po. ♥️😅

$ 0.00
2 years ago