Why is Giving; so hard for me?.

6 32
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago
Topics: Writings, Giving

Don't quote me wrong, giving is the best thing that could ever happen to a man...

Givers are the real asset, sharing is a necessity, blessing the lives of others is an opening for others to bless you also..

But...

Why does it seem so hard for me?

MFM international Headquarters (youth church) celebrated their 14th year anniversary this past Sunday... As a bonified MFM member, I did attend, it was fun, really interesting and inspiring, 14 questions were asked and there was a cash price for every winner, guess what? I couldn't answer any.

That aside, at the end of the service, we "the congregation" were all given a food pack, containing cooked jollof rice, mineral and a table water. Mheeeeeeen, my day was so made... I couldn't wait to devour my share... I'm a part-time student in Yabatech, so immediately after service, I was to quickly head back to school, I have three jolly friends, that I roll so well with: Vicky, Joyce and Esther by names. Heading to school, I couldn't wait to devour my jollofrice with them... But I guess, there was another plan.

On my way to school, a voice asked me a question; "what if someone asks you for your foodpack?" I kept mute, the nylon the food was packed in, made it so obvious that I was carrying a foodpack. Of a truth, I wanted to cry, just at the thought that someone would really request for my foodpack.

Aaah, I was almost close to entering the school gate, that was when this man came to meet me, requesting for food...

I nearly cried, I just couldn't let go, I couldn't imagine not eating that rice, drinking that mineral, and munching on that chicken...

I left him ooh, I entered the school, but throughout my walk back to school, my mind would let me have none of it.. it kept disturbing my peace, asking me questions like:

My mind: What if you weren't given that food in church today?

Me: Hello, but I was given either ways.

My mind: Go back and give that man the food.

Me: I can't walk back please, I'm already so close to entering the class.

My mind: Still go anyways, the lecturer isn't around yet, she's coming by 1pm, before or by that time, you should be back. If you don't see him there, come back.

Me: Ooh, arrggh, okay fine. Let me just remove the Chapman and put it in my bag.

My mind: No, don't remove it.

Me: Aaah, okay, my personal table water is almost exhausted, let me just remove this table water and put it in my bag.

My mind: No, give him everything, the exact way you were given.

Me: Ooh, arrrrgh, okay, fine...

That was how I went back outside the school premises to look for that man, praying deep down that I wouldn't find him but unfortunately for me, I actually did find him, and more unfortunately, he still came to meet me; asking for food... I just had to mount up courage as I painfully handed him my foodpack...

It was that hard, it was so hard...

Honestly, not just for that day but for all other days..

It's just so hard for me to give out and who knows, maybe that's why I hardly ever find... Maybe that's why I hardly ever receive God's blessing...

I prefer giving out to my friends, people I know, than giving out to complete strangers...

In all we do, let us remember that givers never lack and God blesses the givers than the receivers...

Giving might also be in services and goods, I didn't give that man money but I gave him goods(food). I cannot forget his prayer: "God bless you, no weapon fashion against you shall prosper" (chuckles)

  • Give your tithes, offerings, service to God..

  • Give your clothes, those good dresses that you've outgrown or you aren't using anymore.

  • Give out food and other resources to the needy.

Any chance you have to give, just give out.

Trust me, I'm also advising myself...

Any addition, subtraction, division and multiplication you have; as a contribution, please feel free to drop them in the comment section.

Appreciation: Honestly, this is a trying time for me, I'm really grateful to all those who reads my articles, comments on them and likes them. Shout-out to my sponsor and those who upvote my articles.

All images were gotten from unsplash.

Disclaimer: All the words used, minus the quotes are all mine, any similarity you see with my choice of words and others you might have seen before are all coincidences.

5
$ 0.11
$ 0.05 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Unity
$ 0.01 from @thelostadult95
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago
Topics: Writings, Giving

Comments

Omoooooor 🥺 I understand jare, I really can relate. I also find it difficult to give to total strangers and I never thought of it to be bad. But reading your article just now, I realised I haven't been doing well.

I only do give to my friends, family and people I know. (sighs).

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Wow! That makes us.

Thanks for reading dear, I'm glad you contributed

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're welcome 😊😌🤗🤗

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can feel what your feeling, you must be hungry too that time that's why you hesitated but your kindness prevailed in the end which matters. You will be blessed with more soon, keep the faith and spread kindness always.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awww, thanks for your contribution to this article... Amen, I'll do as said. Thanks for reading

$ 0.00
2 years ago

No problem author, the pleasure is mine to interact with such a nice piece about generosity.

$ 0.00
2 years ago