Reacting on impulse.

6 38
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

I've always wanted to write about this; my feelings, my emotions, it seems like most people just don't understand me; and no, I'm not claiming rights. I'm also doing my very best to turn a new leaf.

What impulse is all about:

Impulse is basically doing something without deep thoughts about it or critical thinking. It's more like buying on impulse (you have $2.00 and you are probably planning to save it or get something, and while walking on the road, you see or perceive the aroma of something edible. Without thinking about it or planning towards it. You dip your hands into your pockets; removing the $2.00, you put it out to purchase the junk. You end up munching on it and after the excitement, you realize you should have controlled yourself and spent the money wisely.)

Funny enough; some of us don't even feel bad after spending extravagantly. Instead we comfort ourselves by saying: "more will still come by."

Impulse behavior:

For someone who has an impulse behavior, he or she bears no thoughts of the consequences of one's action, no control, no deep or critical thought. One acts quickly with no thought of the consequences. Most times one regrets after the deed has been done, while some refuses to see and admit their wrong doings. When most people react on impulse, there's nothing on their mind beyond that exact moment. This is one bad attribute of mine. I have reacted so many times on impulse and I end up regretting; once the words have been uttered. So many occasions to buttress on this, but I'll mention a few.

My impulse behavior.

I am someone who reacts so quickly, I don't sit down to analyze issues and occurrences before concluding and worst still, after the conclusion have been made and the rude words have been uttered, the truth dawns on me, it suddenly makes me realize my wrong doings, but then again; it's too late to take back the already uttered words.

Source: Unsplash.

There was a team I was in; it was a singing team, they sang songs and also composed songs. It was a team of two male vocalist and three female vocalist, I joined them in the late months of last year and I've been singing and attending rehearsals with them. It was all a mixture of happiness and stress, the stress was quite terrible, but I had to make that sacrifice; especially because I've always wanted to be in a choir of singers.

Something happened.

This year; a month back to be precise, the leader of the team messaged me directly on WhatsApp; stating his decision to make his team an all male choir of singers. In plain words; he was writing all the girls off. I took this new setup warmly; I had always had this gut feeling that one day, something like this would occur, so I wasn't surprised.

But,

Few days after the information was given, I viewed his status and saw on it that at the last rehearsals, some girls were present. Guess what?. I flared up, I started ranting into the voice note; I was extremely rude and intolerable.

Me: (speaking or rather I say; shouting into the WhatsApp voice note) if you wanted to remove me from the team, you should have done it without lying!, There was no need for you to tell lies about removing all the girls from the team, after all the stress I went through; attending vigil rehearsals, paying for costumes, being in traffic for hours, the least you could have done was to remove me respectfully and not by lying!!!. Anyways; I wish you the best, do have a nice day ahead. Good riddance!!!.

Few minutes later, I sat down to actually analyze some questions:

  • Why would he lie?

  • What could have been his reason, or what would make someone like him tell lies just to remove me from his team?.

  • Was there any motive?.

After all these analysis; I realized I was wrong to have concluded so fast. It was then, I remembered they were all scoring a song composed by them, late last year. It was then, I realized that the girls were only present at the rehearsals because of that particular song. It was then it dawned on me. But; it was too late. The voice note had been sent and he had listened to it already and you could bet he didn't take it likely with me.

This and many more occasions, I've come to realize that "no one would understand you, they'll only understand the words you've said to them and those words cuts deep scars into their skin; 'they are hardly ever forgotten.' it's just up to us to find ways to conquer our impulse behaviors, be it in spending or reacting to something on impulse.

What are the ways?.

A friend of mine has always told me to learn to calm down when I'm upset, he has told me to always learn to keep quiet and just not utter a word till the anger dies down before I finally speak.

Anger is an emotion, it's not bad; everyone gets angry from time to time and that's normal, but where the opposite of normal troops in is when, we are not able to control our anger.

  • Be still, don't speak, think more and speak less.

  • Walk away: Sometimes when something happens and you find it so uneasy to control your anger, just walk away and come back to the issue once your mind is settled.

  • Choose to ignore: if you know you can't handle the matter politely and ask questions politely, just ignore and if after this, you come back to the right frame of mind; you could walk back to ask questions.

Thanks for reading, I'll be delighted to see you all contributions to this. You could add in; more ways you feel "reacting on impulse" can be controlled.

Special Appreciation: I'm grateful and deeply honored to have an huge sponsorship from a famous person on this platform; I hope I don't let you down. Thanks for trusting me enough to sponsor me, @Talecharm a big shout-out to her, her articles are top-notch. You should go; subscribe to her page.

I'm also grateful to @Tomi-Ajax for renewing his sponsorship with me. Thanks alot, I deeply and sincerely appreciate.

Final Appreciation: To my readers, subscribers, commenters, sponsors, likers and upvoters, thank you all for this gesture. I'll see you again in my next article.

Apologies: Recently, (Monday) I've not been able to post an article, I didn't post one in the last two days and that was because of my exams. I squeezed through time to post this article today. Can't wait for the final wrap up of the exams on Saturday. I've not also been reading most of your beautiful articles save some which I read. I'll make it all up and read them all; once my exams are over.

Thanks alot for your support.

6
$ 0.87
$ 0.69 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.06 from @Unity
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 3
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Comments

We need impulsive reactions and efforts to save someone or ourselves from an accidental situation.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I appreciate your contribution, exactly! We need it. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

somehow, anger isnt bad at all. weith all due the respect to other people. We must not just conclude about their great hatred maybe they just get angry because someone make a bad things to them. let us understand that everyone gets angry. we must also responsible and control our emotions.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly. Everyone gets angry, but we need to be responsible to control our emotions. Thanks for stopping by.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Everyone of us tends to get angry at times, especially when we encounter some unpleasant occurrences. We just have to be calming down. I wish you success in your examinations.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes, that's just the truth. We need to calm down a little and speak with maturity later on.

Thanks for your wishes, I've missed this platform too. I'll read and cover up everyone's articles, after I've wrapped it all up.

$ 0.00
2 years ago