My Twin.

7 26
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Ever since I started blogging on this platform, I've always had the intention to write, one day about my twin brother. I'm a twin, my twin brother came out first and actually did come out, five hours before I did. Ever since then; we've always been together and you know, fought with each other and fought for eachother. If you've been following me up on my articles, you'll read on my second article on this platform "Say no to comparison." Now; that was one part I never liked or loved. The fact that I was compared negatively to him, all because he performed better than I did or ever could have imagined.

My twin and I were birthed on July 16th, we attended the same schools, ranging from nursery to higher institution, I've always had his backing, when I was in secondary school.

There are some things that are common in twins and even siblings, let me highlight and explain some of the issues we had.

  • Quarreling: Back in the days of yore, we always found ourselves quarreling about a thing or another, little disagreements that would lead into days of not talking to each other, it wasn't nice though, at some point, we'd even forget that we are quarreling and mistakenly ask eachother a question and from there, we'd be back on track.

  • Food: Now, food is one thing, my brother doesn't joke with, whenever he gets back from school or from teaching (after our secondary schooling, we taught for awhile before pursuing a degree in an higher institution) so whenever he got back from teaching, the first place he goes to; is the kitchen. Oh!, If he doesn't meet any meal inside the pot and there's no explanation for it, just know his twin sis has herself to blame.

  • Gist: My brother is someone who doesn't like too much talk about people, he'll always remove his ears whenever I start with the phrase "have you heard?" His nonchalant attitude towards this could really be somewhat depressing.

  • Wishing he was a female: Most times, during our arguments, you'll hear me shouting the "I wish you were a girl, why are you a boy self?(sucking teeth's) and he'll go on shouting "he also never liked the fact that I'm a girl, I should have been a boy."

We don't quarrel this much anymore though, we hardly even ever quarrel, you know the saying: "one gets wiser when one gets older" putting away childish things and all, but apart from the troubles aforementioned, my brother was also very loving and caring.

The positive things I loved about being his sister.

  • Gist partner: My brother is my gist partner, I tell him things easily, even things that are meant to be kept secret. He listens once it's not gossip.

  • Funny: My brother is one humorous kind of person, from the way he talks, his expression and all at some certain time can make you jeer into laughter. I remember those days when I would take his biscuits or his provisions. And he'll come back and be like: "who is that rat that took my garri?, Dorcas, do you know of any big rat in this house that takes my things without my permission?" And (chuckles) I'll be like: "no ooh, rat khe, I've not seen the rat ooh, we need to find that rat."

  • Protector: I must admit and say this, I enjoyed the fact that my brother and I were in the same school and class, especially during secondary section, the fear of his punches made most guys stay off my lane.

  • My twin is honestly awesome, he advices too, he teaches, he puts me through in maths and other subjects in which I'm just not familiar on, he's all the good things you can think of or imagine. Here's a poem I wrote for him, sometime ago:

Ooh dear brother,

Born from the same mother,

Sharing the same number.

Ooh dear brother,

Grown, under the same weather.

Before, you were shorter.

But now, taller.

Ooh dear brother.

Nurtured together

By the same father

Breast fed,

By the same mother.

Ooh dear brother,

Attended the same school together.

Shared the same class with each other.

Ooh dear brother

We've had our differences,

more than ever.

But it never stopped us from fighting for each other.

Ooh dear brother.

Now, we are no longer younger.

We are getting older.

Ooh dear brother,

Slowly departing from eachother..

We'll form a family with another.

Far from eachother.

Ooh dear brother.

I hope you don't forget your sister.

And to your sister,

I hope she doesn't forget her brother.

They shared, together,

The womb of their mother.

Ooh dear brother

This is a message from your sister.

©️ Ellawrites

Twin brother.

Appreciation: I want to use this medium to specially thank everyone who engages in my article, either by liking or commenting, shout-out to my sponsors and those who upvote my articles.

All images were gotten from my gallery.

8
$ 0.13
$ 0.05 from @Tomi-Ajax
$ 0.05 from @Unity
$ 0.02 from @Ipoperfect
+ 1
Sponsors of Ellawrites
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Ellawrites
2 years ago

Comments

You both are so cuteeee and your article is so niceee. I'm a twin too and I sincerely miss my brother.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Awwwwwn, thanks.

Wow! You're a twin! That's so cute to hear, I hope I see a write-up about you both; someday.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I actually won't happen 😌 I think they've spammed my account again so... lol

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwn he's cute!!! Ohhh sorry you both look cute. I wish I was a twin tho I have a fake twin that looks exactly like me You forgot to tell us his name...or I didn't see it?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awwwwwn, thanks dear, wow!, A twin that looks like you?. That's really awesome, would love to see her picture. Oh, yeah, I did forget. His name is Daniel.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Awesome nice meeting you dear . I really love you alot 😍you looks beautiful that makes you wonderful and special . It is really good for you to be thankful for having a wonderful twin brother . It good to know you are from Nigeria

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oh, thanks for reading. I really do appreciate.

$ 0.00
2 years ago