Being an overly emotional person.

0 24
Avatar for Eleonor
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Story, Experience, ...

I have dealt with being overly emotional pretty much my whole life. I used to care a lot about what people thought about me and always tried to make sure I please them, even though I was dying on the inside. Of course, I was neglecting my feelings and was always the one that ended up in pain.

Being an overly emotional person can cause you a lot of damage because there are a lot of people who do not care about your emotions at all and also, you cannot expect them to have the same heart as you do. Unfortunately, people like me don't always understand that and we end up classifying people as 'heartless', but once you grow up and go through certain situations.. being the one that always gives everything to others starts to make you feel tired.

I remember I used to cry so much about people who never thought about me, maybe not even once a day. I used to suffer for people that hurt me but manipulated me into thinking that I was the one who made the mistake, which was so wrong. In time, I've started to realize what was happening and found the courage to stop hurting myself for others. That's when things changed.

I was no longer being everybody's emotional wreck and became a little bit distant, which it was great. You can say it was more like a shield, protecting me from eventual heartbreaks. BUT.. if you are in the same situation as I used to be in and you want to become more cold, let's say, you have to be careful because it's a very thin line between becoming distant towards people and becoming numb to everything. Therefore, you have to pay attention to what you are feeling and make sure you do not slip on the other side because once you become emotionally numb, this might affect your every relationship, even the good ones you have, like family and friends.

In the end I would like to say that this is not a problem. Don't look at it as one and don't consider it something that pulls you down all the time. Being overly emotional means you are also very empathic, which can be great sometimes because I believe that people who are able to feel emotions so deeply can be really good human beings and they perceive this world much better than other. Do not try to shut down this trait at all, unless it's hurting you in some sort of way. Otherwise, this is something you should really be proud of and take good care of it because, believe me, people are drawn to it and not all of them are bad.

Love yourself, no matter what. Even if you're overly emotional. It makes your soul bloom.

PS : from an overly emotional person.

time : 10 minutes.

This was my first time doing it, hope it's good enough.

5
$ 0.06
$ 0.05 from @LykeLyca
$ 0.01 from @sh33la
Avatar for Eleonor
2 years ago
Topics: Life, Blog, Writing, Story, Experience, ...

Comments