There's No Such Thing as a Free Lunch

21 27
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Free lunch

Are you the kind of person who always has an open hand or is very giving to other people, such as when you are with your workmates or colleagues, and they ask you to be the one to pay for the drinks or food you ordered since you have more money than them and you would just be okay about it? Perhaps, when your friends tease you to treat them a free lunch or snack because you have extra money and since you don't know how to say "No", you're just fine with spending your money even if you plan to save it.

I guess it is safe to assume that almost all of us have asked others to treat us to a free lunch or snack already, especially when we know that that person is rich or has a lot of money. When we bond with our friends, we would always poke fun at the one with better status in life to be the one to shoulder the food expenses.

Sometimes, those who love to make others treat them to a free lunch or snack would even back their request up with their favorite statement, "Share your blessings with others".

To be honest, I'm not the kind of person who would always be willing to treat others to a free lunch or snack every time they ask me to because I personally don't like asking others to treat me to one.

Yes, I would love to spend money on food or snack, especially during special occasions and when I'm the one who planned for the event, such as during get-togethers with my friends. Sometimes, I also like to treat them whenever I feel extra blessed or have extra money to share with them.

But it irritates me when other people would just randomly ask me to treat them to a snack or lunch, especially when I have no cash on hand, and when they become so repetitive with their requests after I already said "No" to them.

They would even say, "You're so selfish or stingy" when I decline their request. And I would just shake it off because I don't find it offensive anymore.

The main reason why I would decline the request of treating others, may they be my friends, classmates, or groupmates, to a free lunch is because there is no such thing as a free lunch.

When you ask me to treat you to a free lunch, it doesn't actually mean that it's free because I'll be spending money on it. And that money didn't just land in my wallet without me exerting time and effort to get it. I worked so hard to earn that money so it is just right for me to think wisely about how I'm going to spend it.

Sometimes, I would think that why would I spend an amount that is almost equivalent to 2 to 3 days of hard work on a person who doesn't even give a damn about my life and just loves to gossip about me. Why would I be treating you to a fast-food restaurant when I can just use that money to buy groceries at home. At least, I'll be able to help my parents with their expenses even if I won't get to satisfy your request.

You see. Money is so hard to earn these days that is why I put so much value on it and I wouldn't just spend it so easily on people who only know me when they want me to treat them to a free lunch or snack. I'd just gladly spend my hard-earned money on people whom I know will be there with me during my lowest times and toughest moments.

I don't care if you will see me as a selfish or stingy person for not treating you to a free lunch because what I care about now is making sure to treat those people who have been there with me when I needed them the most, and if you are not one of them, then don't expect such a free lunch because you won't have it. I know it sounds so selfish but that's how it is.

In short, huwag kang magpapalibre sakin dahil wala kang mapapala. πŸ˜‚πŸ€£

7
$ 2.00
$ 1.94 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
$ 0.03 from @Khairro
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Free lunch

Comments

Relate ako dito sis, before I don't know how to say No to my friends but after na na libre ko sila at they graduated using all my gadgets na sila pa naka sira pero ako ang nagpa ayos, l learned to say No na. Meron din among naging friend na panay pa libre pag siya ang meron ang damot niya. Kaya ngayon marunong na akong mag No kahit sa huli nakokonsensya akoπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ay. Grabe po mga friends mo ha. Hahaha! Huwag kang makonsensiya lalo na kung di naman talaga nila deserve malibre. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahaha may point ka sisπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Minsan kasi yung iba abusado eh 🀣 Yung tipong nalibre ng isang beses tapos gusto uulit ulitin kapag magkikita, akala mo naman may mga patagong pera sa bulsa

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga. Okay na sana ung isa o dalawang beses pero kung paulit-ulit na, tama na. Hindi ka bangko. Hahahaha! 🀧🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I just can't say NO to them, that is why. But I guess it's okay because if they have extras, they treat me too without me asking for it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww. Sana all may nanlilibre. Ako madalas tuksuhin na manlibre pero di nga ako nililibre kaya hindi ko din sila ililibre. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hey eonnie, same, I'm also the one who can't say no to people, like isususbo ko na lang ibibigay ko pa, pero my mom said it always good to be a helping hand to others but of course you should not be taken for granted you must know your limits, giving and sharing is great but always remember that there's a limit for everything.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

I agree that it's always good to help others but to some extent. Pero kung puro sila palibre, hindi na yan helping others eh. You're letting them take advantage of you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

And I am that kind of girl who mostly pays bills but don't know how to say no or to ask for contribution

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww. Learn to say no, dear. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I can relate to that,I don't want to treat people who were just treating me that seems I don't exist,just ignoring but when I have something ,they will say to buy something.I like to provide foods with people who are needy.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They only know you when they need something from you. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's really a toxic attitude that people should stop! Just because they are earning more or just because their finance is going well is not an indication that they should treat you. Those who earn more deserve probably deserve it because they work harder. They don't hustle hard just to libre. Though its hard, maybe we should learn how to say no, because these people will get used to libre and if you refuse you are the bad one, really sad to ponder about :(

$ 0.02
2 years ago

So trueee. People work hard so they can buy the things they need and want, hindi para may panlibre. Lols!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

a very good decision that's why financial management is needed to manage finances. This choice proves that you can use money for important things, maybe if you have an advantage, you will definitely do a treat.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Not really an advantage. If they deserve it, then I'll give it to them. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Indeed, treating someone is okay but if hindi close or di kaya wala namang ambag sa buhay natin, naku wag nalang

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Trueee. Ung iba, sila pa nagkakalat ng chismis tapos lakas magpalibre eh. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

To me it depends on the person asking for it, I go with the rule. Those who treat me , I treat them haha. It's a nice business, can taste lots of treats without much issues.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww. Same here. It's like what you do to me, I will also do it to you. So if you are nice, then I'm nice. But if not, then expect the worse from me. 🀣

$ 0.00
2 years ago