Rejections are a Learning Experience

24 43
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

Are you the type of person who doesn't like to be rejected or turned down? How do you feel whenever you receive "No" for an answer?

When we get rejected, whether when we are confessing our feelings to a special person, when we are proposing a research topic, or when we are applying for a job, we often feel down and demotivated as if it's already the end of the world for us.

A wise speaker once said, "Everything is a learning experience." That means, we also get to learn a thing or two from countless rejections and failures that we have encountered and will face in the future. There is always something to learn from our mistakes so we don't have to regret anything about them.

As I have written before in my "Pressured to Look for Work" article, I have shared that I am currently looking and applying for online jobs related to Freelance Writing as this is the field where I feel like I have already gained enough experience and knowledge from blogging and through my previous freelance writing job.

But since I am aware that I only have a few backgrounds that may lead me to get a full-time writing job, I already prepared myself that I will definitely encounter many rejections, and my applications would not even be considered. Plus, the fact that there are a lot of promising and talented writers out there who are also always on the lookout for available writing positions made me lose my confidence in my writing skills and abilities.

However, this did not become a hindrance for me to try my luck in applying for a writing job. Instead, I was motivated to send my applications to those posted job ads on a Facebook group as I believe that rejections are a learning experience that may become a stepping stone for me to find work in the future.

And after sending about a dozen of applications, I was delighted that there were a few who responded. This gave me hope that these employers somehow see potential in my writing abilities. But just like a usual job hiring process, the employer still has to test the abilities of the applicants and they have to prove if they are capable of the job they're applying to. So I did all the tests required.

However, not being equipped with enough knowledge of the writing positions I applied to, I failed the required writing tests, which led me to not get hired for the job.

But just like what Ms. Lyqa of Team Lyqa said in one of her videos,

"Everything is a learning experience."

Although my applications were turned down and I failed in those writing tests, it's still a learning experience for me as I gained additional knowledge that I can take advantage of whenever I will be applying for the same position again when another opportunity comes. It also serves as a way for me to enhance my writing capabilities.

I know there will be more rejections to come as I keep on looking for a full-time writing job but I won't be bothered and I will just keep on searching until I could find a job where I can use my skills.

Rejections are a part of life and it doesn't mean that you are not good enough. Perhaps, you are just redirected for something better. So it doesn't matter how many times you get rejected and turned down. What matters is you keep on trying and getting back up.

9
$ 4.51
$ 4.33 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Meyzee
$ 0.05 from @TheGuy
+ 2
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

Comments

Experience is the best teacher of all, kaya yun nga we must to learn in every mistake we did, I mean we must to accept rejections but we must to learn from it. Normal namn talaga ma reject.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True. We should apply the learnings we gained para hindi sayang ung pagkakareject. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hahahah kaya nga baka pag di naaply nakoo ma rereject ulit for the 2nd time oh baka ma ulit2 pa hahah marupok na talaga 🤣

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rejections are hard, true, but I think they help to shape character. You or your skills won't be for everyone, accepting that and accepting that it doesn't take away from who you are or what you are worth is important.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yes, they make you a better person, or worse depending on how you take it. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

how many times have you been rejected? if the answer is a lot, it means you are great because you can rise from rejection. Your article is very logical my friend and I also think this is true and worth discussing. how smart my beautiful friend is

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Not that much. Ehe! Thanks for reading. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

True, it will make you evaluate yourself na bka u need to improve more lalo na pag maarte ung mga pinag-aplayan mo ng writing job. And yes, bka may mas magandang naghihintay sau, parang a blessing in disguise ung getting rejected

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Tsaka clueless din kasi ako sa mga inapplyan ko po. 😂

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Getting rejected is indeed not a good feeling. Our first few rejections surely hits different. Humiliating and embarrassing but with that we also learn and see it as just another step through our goal.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I agree with that.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We always learn something new from our mistakes. Mistakes make us more compatible every day for any time to work and risk

I wish you get a full time writing job soon best wishes from myside

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true. Thank you.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Been rejected a month ago and I'm in the process of being better now. I've learned from it also.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

We become better when we get rejected. Ehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I know how it feels to be rejected,it happens to me for so many times already, just learned from it,there will be more opportunities to come for you,just keep going.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I hope so po. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I hope so po. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rejection is a chance for other door to open sis. Okay lang mareject. It's part of learning din.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It just demotivates for an hour or so, but it doesn't affect me much. I'm not an expert, I'm in a learning phase and if I won't fail or get rejected I won't know what I'm lacking.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

That's true. We become better when we experience failures or rejections.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Rejection should drive us more to do better not to feel demotivated because the perfect timing and opportunity will come as long as we are already ready as we gained more experiences through various rejections.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Well said.

$ 0.00
2 years ago