Love in the Moonlight Review

20 35
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: K-Drama
  1. True Beauty Takeaways: Love and Life Lessons


Love in the Moonlight is the second Korean drama series that I got to finish watching this year, which is one of the series that was included in the best gift I received on my birthday. This drama was released in the year 2016 and I only got to watch it this year. I actually have heard about this series before from my High School friends who were fond of watching Korean dramas.

I initially wanted to binge-watch the series because of the plot. And when I say the "plot", it's Park Bo Gum who is the main leading man of the drama. I mean, look at his face. He's like an angel sent from above to make every other girl's heart flutter. I watched him in Encounter with Song Hye Kyo before and I loved his character there so I wanted to watch another drama of his.

Then I learned that Bo Gum's leading lady in this drama was Kim Yoo Jung, and I also discovered that her role in this historical romance drama was her first leading role, and it got me even more interested to watch the series. I got to watch her first in Backstreet Rookie with Ji Chang Wook and I got hooked on her beauty and acting skills so I also wanted to see more of her dramas.

And I wasn't disappointed to start watching the series because after watching the first episode, it already got me interested in the story. A young woman who disguised herself as a man and gives relationship advice then, later on, became a political eunuch, partnered with a Crown Prince who fell in love with the eunuch gave a total rollercoaster feels because of how complicated their love story is. The overflowing chemistry of the two leads made the drama even more heartwarming and heartbreaking at the same time because of the storyline.

Aside from the story and the flow of events, I loved the cinematography where they showcased the beautiful scenery of the place, and the official soundtrack or the songs used in the drama gave me a "Last Song Syndrome" feels, especially the theme song Moonlight Drawn by Clouds. And after knowing that Park Bo Gum also sang one of the songs that were used, I appreciated the drama even more.

In every drama we watch, we tend to have our favorite character aside from the main leads and Kwak Dong Yeon's role as Kim Byung Yeon in Love in the Moonlight was my favorite. I liked how mysterious he seemed he was so I was interested in his background story and how his character would evolve. I also like the fact that he is the Crown Prince's most trusted friend and he is a loyal friend to him. His heartbreaking moment when he was about to die after threatening the Crown Prince's life was my favorite scene and it left me in tears. I thought he was really going to die that time so I let my emotions out but after a few minutes, it gave a sign that he was still alive so I felt relieved.

Just like the other dramas, Love in the Moonlight also gave a second leading man syndrome feels portrayed by Jung Jin Young as Kim Yoon Sung who was a charismatic scholar born to a powerful family. He knew about Hong Sam Nom's secret of being a woman disguised as a man from the start yet he pretended not to know and kept her secret to protect her. He also fell in love with Sam Nom, however, his feelings were not reciprocated. I also liked his character where he was brave enough to fight for what he thinks is right even if he is going against his family. His line, "I will live my life drawing my own pictures." is my favorite line of his. He didn't let anyone, even his own grandfather, decide for his life. However, I just don't like how his character had a tragic ending.

It's a historical and political drama so it also emphasized the injustice and corrupt doings of the greedy officials working in the palace. It gave an overview of how high and powerful people tend to not see the sufferings of the people below them because of their personal desire for money and power.

Just like how Hong Gyeong Nae put it, "The leader who works for the people are not made by the Heaven. The leader who works for the people is created by the hands of the people themselves." or what we now call and enjoy "Democracy".

Love in the Moonlight gave me rollercoaster emotions and the flow of the scenes was like a rollercoaster too. Sometimes, it's fast pacing, but sometimes it's also just slow, which made it even more interesting because you'd be eager to know the next scene.

Overall, I enjoyed watching the drama, and if I were to rate it from 1 to 10, I would give it a 9, and not 10 because I believe there is always room for improvement. γ…‹γ…‹γ…‹

It's something that I would want to watch again if I have more free time. So if you haven't watched the drama yet, I recommend watching it. It's worth it!

12
$ 4.10
$ 3.95 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @bbyblacksheep
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
+ 4
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: K-Drama

Comments

Parang gusto ko tuloy ulit to panoorin, hehehe.. Kilig much to eh.. Tapos after nito eh may video si Park bo gum na sumasayaw kasama yun mga guards at yun servant nya. Nakalimutan ko yun song eh, napanood mo na ba yun?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hindi ko po yan napanood. Masearch nga yan sa YouTube. Hahaha! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago
$ 0.00
2 years ago

Ang kyuttt. Hahaha! Thank you po. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

you're welcome beh,hehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is the kdrama that I watched when I was in Grade 9 tapos nung nasa last episode na ako, I forgot everthing that happened. Huhu. As in wala na akong maalala sa nangyayari. Tinapos ko na lang. Until now, yan lang yung kdrama na pinanood ko na parang wala akong maalala ni isang scenes. Hahaha. Ewan ko kung ano nangyari sakin that time.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Ganyan din ako minsan sa ibang K-dramas na napanood ko kaya napipilitan nalang tapusin. Hahaha! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Maganda nga yan sis, try mo rin yung mr. Queen sis maganda rin siya. ☺😊

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Napanood ko na po un. Un ung the best historical romcom sakin. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Diko muna babasahin ng buo to haha ano diko pa kasi napapanuod yang kdrama na yan waahhh

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Panoorin mo na. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

The storyline of this series is quite interesting will gonna watch it I'm also a fan of korean dramas nut didn't find a single series full on youtube ugh😁

$ 0.02
2 years ago

You should watch it.. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I love gender bender Kdramas. 😊 sa ABSCBN ko toh napanood pero ulitin ko ulit.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang ganda po noh? Haha! 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I watched it already langga. It's really a worth. I am fan of Park Bo Gum. He is the bestfriend of Song Jong Ki in real life. I love the Kdrama a lot. I love the girl too. She is really cute. She is really pretty.

You love Kdrama a lot langga. Me too I'm really addicted too. It gives me happiness. It gives me an enjoyment.❀️

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes po. K-drama is life. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes Langga and I love it so much.πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have not seen this drama series but by reading your article about this series. I think it will be interesting to watch the series. Emotions and feeling are main thing in every thing though it would be life or darama

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, it's a very good drama. Worth watching. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago