It's Okay to Talk Behind People's Backs

30 49
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

A philosopher once said,

"You should talk behind people's backs to relieve your stress."

This is one of the iconic lines of Ko Mun Yeong (portrayed by Seo Yea Ji) in the popular psychological Korean drama series titled "It's Okay to Not Be Okay".

I have been watching this series for almost a week now and I'm glad that I was able to finish watching this series last Saturday. I find this series a little creepy since it involves murder, death, and Mun Yeong's haunted mansion. After watching the first episode, I already got goosebumps because of the thrilling effect of the episode. But after seeing the complete episodes, I am glad that I watched this series because the story taught so many lessons again. And just like what I have done with the previous Korean dramas I have watched, I note down some of the impactful lines and life lessons I learned from the characters in the drama and this is one of them.

So going back to the topic, Mun Yeong said that "You should talk behind people's backs to relieve your stress." She said this after hearing the Art Director at SangsangESang Publishing Company, Yoo Seung Jae, talking bad about her for being too bossy and irritating most of the time.

If not all, perhaps most of us have tried talking behind other people's backs already, especially if that person just keeps getting into your nerves and keeps giving you a negative vibe. This is one of our ways to withstand the stress and negativity that person is putting on us.

Meanwhile, there are also some people who just love to talk behind other people's backs even if it's no longer necessary. They just really love to gossip about other people's lives as if they don't have their own life to deal with. They become walking CCTVs who love to watch your every action and decision and always give negative thoughts about them. They are what we call "Marites" here in the Philippines and they have their own group whom they gossip with.

To be honest, I do talk behind other people's backs sometimes, especially if they are already getting into my nerves and make me feel stressed too because I don't want them to build up inside my heart that will only become like a bomb once I'm already tired of holding them in. However, I'm not the kind of person who would talk about him or her with another person (although I get to this point sometimes, when I'm with my friends and they started the conversation. Lols)

I prefer to just talk about them alone than share my thoughts with someone else. Perhaps, it's because of having trust issues that sometimes, I would think that the person I am entrusting my thoughts to will backstab me in the future when we have misunderstandings and tell them to the person I was about talking about.

Personally, I really find it relieving when you just say your complaints and criticisms about another person if you don't have the courage to tell it to the person's face, but I don't like it when you spread them to another person and share it with others because it will not make any positive effect. It will only make you look like you are just seeking allies and convincing others to think the same about that specific person.

What I'm trying to point out here is that it's okay to talk behind other people's backs sometimes but don't make it into a hobby and become one of the certified "Marites" in the Philippines. Just mind your own business and stop gossiping about other people's lives.

10
$ 4.87
$ 4.72 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @kli4d
$ 0.05 from @ExpertWritter
+ 2
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago

Comments

Totoo naman yan sis, haha minsan maganda din yun yung topong nakakainis na siya pero hindi mo masabi sa kanya ng harapan. Like ng processor or yung mga tiyahin mo na pakialamera haha or yung kapitbahay mong walang magawa sa buhay kung hindi mamakialam ng buhay ng may buhay at yung boss na nakakairita magmando πŸ˜…πŸ˜… tama lang yun.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Hahaha! Diba po? Okay lang ung paminsan minsan pero huwag inaaraw-araw. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo sis, haha kasi hindi naman din tamang ugaliin na yun kasi, mamays niyan buamlik sayo yung ginagawa mo. Yung minsan eh sakto lang,basta yung tipong hindi mo na kaya yung ginagawa niya.πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same talaga ahhk best gurl munyeonggg grabe alam mo yung hindi talaga sya plastic sa mga bet nya like kahit ampanget pankinggan basta totoo yun talaga ang gagawin at sasabihin nya, ganyan namn talaga mas nakaka relieved ng stress kapag naka pang backstab haha di na ko mag papaka santo nu admitted ako na nasasatisfy at talagang nakakagaan sa pakiramdam yung ganyan ang mahalaga totoo talaga yun sinabi ko haha.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

True. Napaka-realtalkerist kasi ni Mun Yeong. Same sila nung kapatid ni Gang Tae, si Sang Tae. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well... I prefer to talk to someone directly if I have a problem. Things can get really muddled and complicated otherwise. Sometimes the person you trust and share an issue with can gossip behind your back or they might have good intentions and repeat what you say, and that is another tangled web altogether. I try to just treat everyone the way I'd want to be treated, and if their behavior is upsetting, let them know about it. If it persists over and over and over again, and I can't live with it because it's overbearing, I cut off our association and I simply don't speak on them again. That said, we are all human and we do have our moments when we need to vent. And I sure have had mine! lol So I understand completely what you're saying.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That's why I don't like sharing my thoughts with anyone because of Trust Issues. Lols! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Same girl same. I Prefer talking about the people I hate alone than sharing it to other people because i have trust issues to other people. Lol but, I am guilty too kasi minsan good listener din ako doon sa mg tao na nagtatalk behind their backs. Yung puro nonsenses at naiinis lang kasi naiingit sila sa iba pero di ako nagsasalita HAHA listener lang talaga kasi kaibigan ko yung tao ganyan talaga kapag kaibigan, supportahan nalang at hayaang marealize nya na mali ginagawa nya.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Halla. Same pala tayo. Hahaha! Listener lang din ako kapag nag-uusap kami ng mga friends ko pero minsan gumagatong din ako eh. Pero dahil may trust issues nga ako, limited lang ung mga nasasabi ko. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

You're right. We all talk behind people's back and it's okay. It becomes a problem when we make an habit of it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, I agree with that. 😹

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's Okay Not To Be Okay is one of my fave! Ko Mun Yeong is iconic hahaha. I do talk behind people's back to. I guess lahat naman kaso nga lang may iba talagang mga marites hahaha wala na sa tama kapag ganun.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Ang galing lang ng character niya noh? Hahaha! True, may iba kasi na inaaraw araw ang pagmaMarites eh. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I do the same sis. It's just I want to voice out what I really feel. I talk behind my roommates back with my sister only. My roommate was so inconsiderate and too lazy I do house chores. The only person I talk with about her over the phone is my sister. I don't like sharing it with our colleagues they might think that I'm backstabbing her.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. It's okay naman po kung trusted din ung sister mo. And true, kapag kasi shinare mo sa iba, parang backstabber ka na. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Wala talaga akong ibang makausap gusto ko lang gumaan pakiramdam ko 😁

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Well, I am one of the "most ppl" that talks behind someone's back because they're being too much grrr but not to the point that I will gossip everything about their life hahaha

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Haha! Basta huwag din kapag madaming kasama dahil magagatongan lang ng mga kasama mo ung sinasabi mo. Mas mapapasama pa lalo

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Oo hahah isa lang din talaga pinag sasabihan ko ng rants bout other ppl

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's okay to talk behind people's back in a positive way at pawang katotohanan lamang para iwas gulo hehe. Anyway, nice to meet you

$ 0.01
2 years ago

True din po at hindi dapat dinadagdagan or binabawasan ung kwento. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Totoo sis ,hindi gawing hobby para hindi ma member ngga marites🀣

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Kaya nga po. Kaso ung iba inuugali eh. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

It's actually okay to talk someone behind their back as long as you think what comes out in your mouth. Assuring that you didn't hurt that person

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Yeah, and it's better to talk about it alone than with someone else.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

this may happen a lot when someone close to us and that friend has an envious attitude then hypocritical things arise to bring us down and talk about inappropriate things from our lives. but it seems that another concept different from this description is how to get rid of nervousness and nervousness in times of pressure from superiors. maybe this can work to relieve the discomfort.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Or not being insecure of others. Ehe

$ 0.00
2 years ago

There are a lot of gossipers everywhere Langga. They are like CCTV. They immediately know and spread the news of a person. Like in our place, there are a lot what we called "Marites".

Yes Langga that's true. We are not perfect all of us can experience talking back other people but it should have a limit and it should have a reason. Don't be a Marites always because it's not good. It's a sin already to God.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Same here po in our place. They are like talking CCTVs. Lols! πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehe. Yes Langga totoo yan.

$ 0.00
2 years ago