I Paid for My Laptop Using My $600 Upwork Income

37 68
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago

Some of you are probably wondering, or maybe not, why I have been so inactive in writing articles on this platform lately. Before, I used to get to write and publish 1 article per day. But now, I couldn't do that anymore because as some probably know, I'm already working full-time as a Content Writer.

I decided to pursue being a freelance content writer as my career right after graduating from college because this is the path that I think will help me to achieve my ultimate goal, which is to be my own boss where I can manage my time and work anytime I want without anyone bossing me around. And if I get to make it big in this industry, I believe and I'm already claiming that this path I chose to take will lead me to my other ultimate goal, and that is Time and Financial Freedom.

Anyway, I have actually been working as a Freelance content writer since October of the year 2020, when I decided to start pitching my writing services to different potential clients and writing agencies who were looking for content writers to hire. And although I only got to work on several writing assignments from that client or writing agency that hired me before, I still consider that as my starting point in my freelancing career.

As some probably noticed, I have been using my 7-year-old laptop, which I only inherited from my older brother, to do my writing tasks. And since it's been serving its purpose for almost a decade now, it has become so laggy already that instead of getting to finish 1 task faster, it only slowed me down.

This is why after getting hired as a full-time content writer for a freelance writing agency here in the Philippines and also finding additional clients to work with on Upwork, I have decided to say goodbye to my old laptop already and just purchase a new and better one.

And so last August 13, 2022, I traveled to the city and went to Robinson's Mall to look for a good laptop that I can buy so I have something better to use for my freelance writing gigs.

And after looking at the different laptops available in the Acer store at the mall, this laptop unit caught my attention. At first, I only wanted to buy a laptop that was worth around 20,000 pesos to 25,000 pesos because that was my intended budget to buy a laptop at that time. But after careful thinking and consideration, I have decided to purchase this laptop, which cost me a peso less to make it 38,000 pesos ($665).

When I went to the city, I only had 8,000 pesos from my personal money so I decided to take 30,000 pesos credit from my piggery business so that I could pay for the laptop in cash. And so I did.

When I bought that laptop, I promised myself that I will really work hard and hustle so that I could pay off my debt or expenses in buying the laptop, which I consider my investment in my freelancing career.

And now, after more than a month of hustling and grinding as a freelance content writer for a writing agency and several clients in Upwork, I'm happy and delighted to share that I am now able to pay for my laptop using my income in writing all day, all night.

Yesterday, after receiving my salary from my client, I decided to withdraw $600 so that I could pay my debt off already. There was an almost $1 withdrawal fee and the exchange rate was only 56 pesos but I shrugged those off. After all, I'm still overly overwhelmed because I got a total of 33,572.25 pesos income.

And after a month of being employed as one of the content writers of a writing agency, I was able to earn 5,600 pesos from writing articles and blogs.

In total, I have already earned 39,172.25 pesos in just writing content on different topics for various companies.

Now, I can finally say that I paid for my laptop using my $600 Upwork income and almost $100 income as a freelance content writer for an agency.

I did not just get to pay off the debt I acquired in my piggery business that I spent on buying the laptop, but I also got to earn around 1,000 pesos more and recouped my personal money too.

Now, more than ever, I am more inspired and motivated to continue what I'm doing because I believe that the best things are yet to come in my freelancing journey as a content writer.

This article is not to brag but to encourage fellow writers and aspiring ones out there that there is an industry waiting for you to discover. You just gotta believe in yourself and your abilities.

Cheers to our small victories! ✨

19
$ 5.76
$ 5.45 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Laurenceuuu
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 10
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago

Comments

Congratulations! It feels great when you make money and pay to buy something. I also bought a laptop one month ago. The old one gets slower. I'm happy working from my new laptop.

Thank you for sharing this. It's inspiring!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you! Same here. And the new laptop gives extra motivation to work harder. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Tagal ko na sa upwork grabe pero never pa ako na hire huhu. life is unfair char

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Baka po may mali sa proposal mo? Try to watch tips on YouTube para mapansin ka ng mga clients. 😊

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Due to the low crypto market, I constantly postpone my shopping for the same product and although it is slow, I put up with what I have. The amount I have to pay for a good computer is approximately $ 1500 on average. I guess electronic products must be cheaper there than here!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's so expensive. Lols! Maybe you're trying to buy a high-end laptop.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

baka taga ibang bansa eto

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats eonnie, more clients and blessings to come sana mag tuloy tuloy yan.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. Sana nga magtuloy-tuloy na. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations. That is so remarkable. A whole month of grinding and hard work. I am super proud of you, my friend. That's a very neat and cool laptop... I hope you still have some pigs?

Glad you've paid it off and refunded the money from where you took it. Enjoy it... More success to come.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. I already have 21 pigs. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

21 pigs! Wow. That's a lot. Business is booming. I hope you have another brother that is getting married soon? πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yeah, thankfully. Hahaha! No, I only have 1 brother. The next wedding will be mine, after 10 years. 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£ 10 years is such a long time my dear friend πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ˜‚πŸ€£πŸ€£πŸ€£. You would have had a million pigs by then.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh my God! Congratulations to you. This is very huge. Make sure that you keep it up. I wish you more and more clients dear

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. Cheers to that! πŸ₯³

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Kudos to you.πŸ‘ Kagaling naman this gurl. More clients to come for better future and more incomeπŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ™‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you po. Sana nga more clients na galante sana. 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! Congratulations to you langga. Ang galing naman. Ikaw na talaga langga. Congrats to your new laptop. πŸŽ‰ Deserve mo talaga yan.❀️

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you po. 😹

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Walang anuman langga. πŸ₯°

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congrats, hard works are paid off and may tubo pa..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

True po. Thank you. 😹

$ 0.00
1 year ago

congratulations sis! way to go, ang sarp siuguro mayg type dun sa bago mong laptop.

ano po ba ang mga content na ginagawa mo dun sa upwork? hehe Ill research din but I still have to ask you kasi may experince ka

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. More on SEO articles and travel blogs sinusulat ko. 😹

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wow! Congratulations... Well planned and executed...

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. 😹

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Congratulations πŸ‘ Idol talaga eh. Napakagaling. Ako epic fail yung Upwork ko hahaha. Pero okay lang, babalik na lang ako pag naka gain more experience.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. Hahaha! Okay talaga mag-gain muna ng experience from agencies bago sumabak sa direct clients para may solid portfolio na ipapakita.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Aha, congrats! Seeing someone climbing stairs of success is not a small deal to ignore in fact it's what most people want to see that will motivate them more to go into beast mode, haha!

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Thank you. Hahaha! Beast mode in hustling on. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

That's nice! Ang laking tulong ng freelancing no? Ang worth it ng mga challenging days and efforts mo ate.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So true. Buti nalang may freelancing. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakainspire talagaaaa. Wala pa din ako client hahahaha until now di ko alam kung saan ako nagkakamali hahahaha. Mag dm ako sayo sa tg hahaha may tanong ako hahahaha pero maya maya naπŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Okay lang yan. Makakahanap ka din. Hahaha! Sige lang basta alam ko ang sagot. 🀣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

So you were using your old laptop for last seven years. That's good you decided to buy a new one with your earing from upwork

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yes, it has served its purpose well. πŸ˜‚

$ 0.00
1 year ago