I Don't Have Empathy for "Spammy" Comments!

59 190
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago

I had to pause writing 10 articles for my client tonight because I got into a discussion, or "disagreement" as what he calls it, with another user here on readcash.

This article is not to shame anyone. I don't even intend to create tension, drama, or another issue on this platform. I just want to voice out my thoughts about "spammy" comments that are still scattered on every user's articles up to this day.

Spam comments were all over this platform when I got here, and that was about two months ago. I thought the reason why people were doing that is to somehow gain points for them to have higher earnings. Based on my experience, I received a lot of "spam" comments that are not even related to the article at all. They even copy-paste parts of the article.

When the new earning system was implemented, it was a relief because "spammy" comments will no longer exist on this platform. After all, doing so will not benefit anyone at all. However, I have observed that there are still some users who are leaving spam comments on someone's article.

I wonder what they get from it. Do they get rewards for doing so?

But before that, let me first share that what I define as "spammy" comments are words that do not have any relevance to the post or article being commented on. It includes, but not limited to, "nice article", " nice post", "good information", " thank you for sharing", and "I like it". It can also be "please visit my profile", " read my articles", "give me an upvote" and the likes.

During my "newbie" days, I tend to mark these comments as spam, I even block and report the user, and worst, I report them directly to readcash. But after the new earning system was implemented, I did not bother doing those anymore because it will not give them any benefit for doing such a thing.

But just 3 days ago, I was reminded about how to deal with these "spammy" comments when a user commented on my article saying:

"Please move to spam messages like a nice article, thank you for info dear, etc. It will be a huge help to the platform."

And after that, I immediately marked these irrelevant comments on my articles as spam.

But just this afternoon, I received a comment from a user saying:

"nice list...a lot of detail."

After reading this comment, I immediately replied with:

"Don't get me wrong, but if you don't have a meaningful message to say, just don't comment at all. This is considered a spam comment already. Hope you get what I mean. ☺"

And then he came back with another comment saying that he has been leaving constructive and encouraging comments on my past articles. That he makes an honest effort to engage with other users here on this platform. That he also receive similar comments like the one he commented on my article, but he is empathetic enough to those who leave them because he knows that English is not their first language, and they may also have other cultural barriers to communicating easily. He also disagreed that his comment is not spam. He said that he is tired, and he simply wanted to let me know that he was there to provide support. He also suggested that I should try to be more empathetic, and not expect perfection all the time.

Here is my response to that statement:

"Personally speaking, I'd rather have zero comments on all of my articles than to have "spammy" comments like "great information", " nice article" and all that. Those don't seem to be encouraging at all. It's like a mockery on my part. Again, that's based on my preference.

Yes, I don't forget that you somehow have left "constructive" and "encouraging" comments on my past articles, and I express my sincere gratitude for that.

I also have received "spammy" comments like these in the past and I was empathetic enough not to mark them as spam, or yet block them out of my profile, or worst report them. If you think that I'm not empathetic enough, then I respect how you perceive me."

And for my last comment:

"My definition of "spammy" comments are words that don't relate to the whole article at all. Leaving "nice article/post", "great information" etc. on someone's article is spamming, as it looks like you did not read the article. Having short comments like these don't contribute to the development of the platform. It just makes RC unattractive. "Nice list. A lot of detail." is something that I would not comment on someone's article because I find it irrelevant, and would not make a good discussion."

Yes, sure, call me "unsympathetic" but I stand with what I define as "spamming". And that I don't have empathy for spammy comments.

Let me just emphasize that everything I have said in this article is all about my understanding, my point of view, and my preferences. This is all based on my opinion on this matter.

P.S. I have deleted that article already, and I plan to republish it tomorrow as the robot hasn't noticed it yet.

PPS. I'll go back to writing the 10 articles project for my client now.

Please don't dare to drop any "spammy" comments on my comment box. You have been warned.

49
$ 6.12
$ 6.05 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.01 from @Lou1e
+ 1
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
3 years ago

Comments

Everyone is here for purposes of income some bucks, you believed it or not. There is a activity bonus available for some user, they are commenting for this, otherwise they don't have any interest in commenting, you will wonder to see before, I mean after comming random rewarder bot, the commenting section become zero, becouse there is no benefit in commenting, so why they comment? For starting commenting section again, the sytem update and take in the bonus activity. You should blame the system, not the people.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I do blame the system, and I can't help it but also blame these users who let themselves get eaten up by the system. I mean, if they really earn something just by commenting, atleast they show some decency and respect to the writer of the article they commented on. Not just leaving irrelevant comment to their comment box.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yeah, you also right. We are misused this system as well

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You comment very important thing.Here are activity bonus for this reason users are commenting to much.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe they have that ads points just like others here... And they are earning through comments.. There is nothing wrong about earning through comments actually . as long as it not spammy..and they are engaging with the content of the article... I wonder why the moderator implemented this new feature.. It actually just brought back the spammers.. Btw.. Are you working on a freelancing site? Can you share some info about that?

$ 0.01
3 years ago

I agree. There is nothing wrong with earning by just commenting on articles. However, I just hope that these lucky users who have activity bonus on their accounts should show some respect and decency to other users' articles by commenting relevant message. But by the looks of it, this activity bonus just brought mess into this platform again. 🤷‍♀️ I'm not working on a freelancing site yet, but I do have a client now.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

They are actually annoyin. If they want to earn, then give relevant comments.. About your client, sa pinas lng?

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sobraaa. Hahaha! Nawala pa ako sa focus kanina. Hays. Anyway, yes, dito lang sa Pilipinas. Hirap akong makakuha ng foreign client. Buti nakaisa ako nun. Haha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wag mo nlng pansinin ang spammers.. Downvote or move to spam k nlng.. Kita ko nga dto. Dami nka move to spam 🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes. Lalo na kapag naka'red ung notification bell ko tapos makikita ko nalang na spam comment lang pala. Paasa kasi eh. Akala ko ung robot na. Hahaha!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

🤣🤣 lahat tlga tyo gusto si bot laman ng notif 🤣..pro infairness binigyan k tip ni bot sa article na to 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kaya nga eh. Parang nagrant ako dito pero tinip niya. Samantalang ung mga previous articles ko, wala man lang kahit barya lang. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Kaloka tlga tong si bot.. Tas lately newbies and my most tips..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes she is a freelancer, she's been applying recently and got clients after many tries, I want to be freelancer too 😅😂

$ 0.00
3 years ago

So that's the reason why her articles are all related to business.. Maybe her client wants her to make articles from that topic

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes, it's her portfolio. I wanted to do like that too, kaso wla pa akong laptop eh haha nasira 😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Pag mag for good na ako.. Bili dn ako new laptop at bka mag freelancing muns bago apply abroad ulit .. Pahings muns.. My laptop ako dto useless.. Hndi ko maupdate

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Oo nga good plan yan, ako bili muna hahaha bago sumali sa mga ganyan..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Bili akopag uwi ko... Or bka dto nlng dn bago umuwi. .hanap mas mura..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sana all may pang bili haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nag iipon.. Gamitin mo ipon mo from rc 😁

$ 0.00
3 years ago

hahaha pang capital yun 😆 pag iipunan ko yan.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Sabagay haha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe her client wants her to make articles from that topic. Wag mo nlng pansinin ang spammers..

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Jane they love your comments. OMG. 🤣🤣🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What is wrong with these dudes. .can't they have something to say? 😅 indeed they are lazy to read

$ 0.00
3 years ago

All those "nice article, nice post", I don't see them as spam and they don't define spam if you check well. You only feel it's not OK for you, you want engaging listeners that's why you tag it as spam. The person you where talking of was right, not everyone knows how to type in English, so instead they type what they know.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Spam comments are comments that can be used to any kind of article. Google it please.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Again, this is based on my preference. I see them as spam because they don't contribute to a good discussion. And yes, I agree with that. But I doubt "nice article, nice post" is all they know. How can they write articles on their profiles if that's all they know? If you get what I mean.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Maybe they are using translation, they don't know English much some of them translate their articles. Just don't mind them, you will only Stress yourself. Anyway, your rant is fine the bot give you tips 😆😅

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Yes I wonder why the moderator implemented this new feature.. It actually just brought back the spammers.. Btw.. Are you working on a freelancing site? Can you share some info about that

$ 0.00
3 years ago

@Jane look at this one. She literally just copy-pasted a part of your comment. So funny and irritating at the same time. 🤣🤦‍♀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Downvote 🤣🤣

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Make it louder please! Aside from the fact that the spammy comments are very funny, they are not making any sense nor entertain the writer. I just hope that it will be eradicated. Thanks for sharing my friend.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Seen some of the users at your comment sectoion who do the spammy comments. Well, just here to downvote some. 😆

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I'm seeing that a lot in the article innthe main page. Even thosebarticle that has beautifully done and written. You know, they don't feel what the author may feel if they comment an unrelevant comment. I mean, the author wrote it for I don't know how many hours, they should also give feedback to it not spammy commenting. I am new here and i enjoy commenting here, I strat reading yeaterday and comment in some. If their comment is just nonsense, I'd rather not receive their comments.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

You have taken a very good step against such people, Such people must be advised not to waste their time. Because making useless comments doesn't benefit them or anyone else. To do so would be senselessness. Do your best to benefit from what others say If your goal is really to find good. Read what the people are writing and value them. So that the comment can have importance, to what you have written.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Am with you hundred percent i don't know the benefits of this spammy comments at all people should change for their own good in order to help the environment to be more convenient and interactive

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I 100% agree. I was planning on writing a similar article (and probably still will) about the same thing. It's lazy and trying to take advantage of the new activity bonus system. I'm sure these are the same people who used to game the point system when it still existed. The excuse of English not being their first language is a load of BS too. Google translate for a rough translation, plus Grammarly would be an easy solution to that.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I just learned that he has this "activity bonus" and I suspect that he is doing this "commenting" thing to take advantage of the system. His excuse for his comment was actually "he was just tired" that's why he ended up with only that kind of comment. Well, I don't know him, and his motives. Let's just give him the benefit of the doubt. 🤷‍♀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

During my "newbie" days, I tend to mark these comments as spam, I even block and report the user, and worst, I report them directly to readcash. But after the new earning system was implemented, I did not bother doing those anymore because it will not give them any benefit for doing such a thing.

Just asking do you only report the comment's if they are earning from them i mean what you've said that after the new implementation you didn't bother just because they are not benefitted from them. Please don't offend THANK YOU!

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I only report or mark comments as spam when I know that it is not relevant to the article. During my newbie days, all users were advised to come together to get rid with these spam users. And if they do earn money from their comments, doing these actions will be a good cause to the platform. Now let me clarify my statement regarding the implementation of the new earning system. I did not bother marking comments as spam for a fact that I seldom receive these kind of comments already, and I give them the benefit of the doubt that they don't know that spamming is not allowed here.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

That's because of activity bonus , that why some members are commenting too much although they are nonsense. Ang akin lang naman ay sana all my activitiy bonus. HAHAH

$ 0.00
3 years ago

well only I could say here is the issue is language barrier maybe but I could say he/she response means there is no language barrier in it it just he/she is lazy to comment or responding just to make him/his active on the part.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Just by reading his comments, you can say that his first language is English, and there is clearly no language barrier here. He was tired, that was his excuse, that's why he only got to comment that comment. I just wish he didn't bother commenting at all. 🤷‍♀️

$ 0.00
3 years ago

just don't bother yourself on this kind of person actually hehe but a little advice since you already entered in writing industry or social media then accept it already a "balat sibuyas" attitude wouldn't work on this kind of industry anyway also those people sometimes help you raise up more audience there is no "positive if there is no negative" so rather than bothering or wasting your time and emotion on that kind situation better look up on other way.

one of the positive effect that give it to you is already proven you get a topic to write down so keep your way straight up.and don't bother on negative but don't ignore it just use it to be point more in positive

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Wow. This is really good advice. I appreciate that. And I just had to let my thoughts out because I have been irritated about these irrelevant doings on this platform this past few days. I just hope these users who earn by commenting will not abuse the new update.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

honestly to say I can't much relate in this comments something updates so I can't comment on that part because I'm away for more than week here due to fact that I'm too much focus trade this past few weeks so no idea about this updates

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Louder please! When a comment can be used to any articles (universal), it is considered as spam. I've been a user for a day now and i've noticed those comments. Wth? Are they even reading the articles? Please respect Users who writes creative contents. Please leave comments that is related to the article.

$ 0.01
User's avatar V1
3 years ago

Very interesting

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Its some kind of disappointing if some one do spamming comments. But every one here for make some extra cash and also they don't have a huge backup so they have to work for make some money. That's why so many user always try to comment so fast. I also faced this kind of spamming comments. But never being so upset, because they are here for a purpose also. I never blame them.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Ive seen you spamming comments several times you comment a lot and its very short many people on this platform might have observed.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Well article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The great information

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Nice article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

The great article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Very interested article

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Great information about this article my Dear

$ 0.00
3 years ago