Fun Childhood Memories That I Miss

20 48
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago
Topics: Childhood, Memories

We only get to be a child once, and being a child is probably the best part of our lives.

If I were given the chance to go back in time, I'd choose to go back to my childhood days. I mean, who wouldn't want to be a child again where there are no worries about growing up, adulthood, and responsibilities, and all you have to do is just be a child, and keep enjoying every day that passes by with your friends, cousins, and playmates.

Looking at the kids of today who are more into using gadgets and playing mobile games than spending their time playing actual games in the streets, I can say that I am satisfied and happy that I was able to live my childhood days with so much fun, especially that when I was still a kid, there were still no high-tech mobile phones around, so I got to play in the heat of the sun, having skin rashes and sunburn, and went home with so much dirt in my clothes.

Now that I'm getting older, well, I'm not that old as I'm only 22 now but I feel so old already, sometimes I can't help but miss my younger years. I only had a simple childhood but those moments I had back then were really memorable. And here are some of the fun childhood memories that I miss and want to experience again if only it was possible to go back in time to relive those moments.

I miss bathing in the rain:

It's rainy season already, and every drop of the rain just reminds me of my childhood days when I, my brother, and my cousins would invite each other to go and play, and bathe in the rain.

Sometimes, we would even make paper boats and play with them as we bathe in the rain. And after we get tired of bathing in the rain, we would then go to the river and swim there while the rain is pouring, which was also the reason why we got scolded by our parents.

I miss June-beetle Hunting:

Since May is the start of the rainy season, the succeeding month would be good for June-beetle hunting. When I was still a kid, my cousins, brother, parents, and I would go to the farm next to the river, and we would bring with us our flashlights, plastic bottles, and broken branches of river tamarind or Ipil-ipil tree as our bait to hunt the beetles.

When the sun has come down already, it's the perfect time where the beetles would go out and fly in the open field and we, the hunters, would be running everywhere just to catch them and put them inside our bottles. When it's dark already, we would then go home and the insects we were able to hunt would then be fried and eaten as our snacks.

I miss playing Teks Cards:

My brother was fond of playing teks back then, and since almost all of my cousins are playing it, I was also into playing this card. I would buy a lot of this Teks card which was worth 5 pesos at that time. I would serve as the boat (Bangka) whenever we play the lucky-9 version of Teks. We would also play the game where someone has to toss the cards in the air. The trend back then was having the most number of teks cards and I remember I had a bag of it. Now, I don't know if there are still teks cards being sold for kids.

I miss playing Rubber bands:

I miss the time when I, my brother, and cousins would compete in different games that involve rubber bands. There was a game where we are 1 to 2 meters away and we would throw the rubber band in front of us, and whoever makes a moon, where a rubber band is on top of another, gets all of the rubber bands that were thrown. There was also a game where we would tie the rubber bands, and we have to untie them by kicking them.

I miss playing Chinese Garter:

My girl cousins, classmates, and I would also play Chinese garter games. I never got to jump over the head levels because I didn't have long legs and I couldn't jump that high. We also played different games that involved the connected rubber bands or the garter such as the 10-20.

I miss playing Video games:

Do you remember the video game back then where you have to insert a 1-peso coin inside just so you can play a video game? I was addicted to that game at that time because when I was still a kid, we used to have a sari-sari store, and my mother had rented 2 video games for students or kids who want to play the game. There was also a time I inserted a 1-peso coin but the timer went for 2 hours instead of just 2 minutes so I ended up leaving the game to my cousins.

I also miss playing Tetris/Brick Game and the games I used to play on my old Nokia phone, like the classic Snake, Bounce, and Space Impact.

I miss fighting with my brother:

Looking back, I can't imagine that my brother and I used to fight a lot and treat each other like cats and dogs to the point that we would end up getting knives in our own hands and act as if we were ready to kill each other. I remember, one time, when we were playing with fire and I accidentally pointed the stick with burning plastic on his knee, which hurt him so badly, so I ran as fast as I could just to get away from him but he ended up catching me that he beat me so bad at that time. It's a good thing that my mother was there to stop him. I can't believe that I've survived those days but those were still the days that add up to how awesome my childhood was.


Aside from these things, I also miss having a Family day, where my parents, brother, and I would all go to the city and eat Jollibee together. We would buy new clothes and shoes at the end of the year.

Time is really fleeting that when you reminisce the things you miss in the past, you would end up in awe that those were already from decades ago. So as much as possible, let's live our lives to the fullest.

10
$ 3.13
$ 3.02 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.03 from @TheGuy
$ 0.03 from @Olasquare
+ 3
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
1 year ago
Topics: Childhood, Memories

Comments

Andami ko din namimiss na laro gaya ng saranggola, bangka2 etc pero til now nagagawa ko pa din ang pag akyat akyat ng puno at maghanap ng malalaking gagamba hahah

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Ayy grabe po. Hahaha! Nakakamiss yang maghanap ng gagamba eh. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Binibigay ko kasi sa kapatid kong naglalambing tapos binebenta naman nya sa mga kalaro hahah negosyante mag-isip

$ 0.00
1 year ago

If only we can be a child forever, it will surely be just pure fun everyday.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

That's for sure. 🤧

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Heheh, I can relate with the fight with a brother, my brother and I are great enemies too before. . I'm his enemy number one.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same here. We're great enemies. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Gumagawa din po kami ng mga paper boat noon kapag naliligo kami sa online tapos pinagkakarera po namin hahhaha. Nakapaglaro din po ako ng brick game noon, kaso ang bilis lumabo kaya panay bili po ng battery. 😂

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Same samin dati. Hahaha! Ung brick game din. Hay. Nakakamiss talaga. 🤧😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Wahhh rain bath is such a very memorable part ng childhood talaga, also yung sa rubber band and teks haha talagang nabili pa ko at dumadayo para makipag laro haha, yung sa fighting sa siblings whahaa until now nangyayare pero di na yung parang ewan haha may meaning na talaga yung away hahaa pero minsan pag tinopak ng agkaisip bata hahaa alam na this.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Wala na akong kapatid na nakakaaway eh may pamilya na un. Nakakahiya naman kung mag-aaway pa kami. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Running around under the heavy rain while laughing is perfect. I also miss playing chinese garter with my sisters

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Good old days. 🤧

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Single Mom With 4 Kids Lost Her Job But Was Able To Stay On Top By Banking Continuously DOLLER 1500 Per Week With An Online Work She Found Over The Internet… Check The Details HERE… https://www.easywork2.com/

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Nakakamis talaga yung away bati ng mga magkakapatid .Yung away bata pero ngayon kunting tampuhan lang matagal mawala unlike nung kabataan natin ilang minuto na magkabati na agad😅

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So true. Ung kala mo hindi nag-iyakan eh tapos after kumain bati-bati ulit. 🤣

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Yung paglalaro ng tels card naabutan mo din pala yun. Hehe. The best talaga childhood days noon, lalo na ako batang 90's, halos graduating na ata ako sa high school nung magkaroon ng phone na 3315. Haha. Ngayon mga bata puro mobile gadgets ang kaharap. Magaling pa sa akin maglaro pamangkin ko at daming alam na online games.

$ 0.01
1 year ago

Yeah. Hahaha! Magaling na din mag-Facebook ung mga Elementary palang ngayon samantalang kami/tayo noon eh Chinese garter ang inaatupag. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Those were the days🧡😌, I experienced all of the things you have mentioned above. Nakakamiss maging bata🥰

$ 0.01
1 year ago

So true. Nakakamiss maging bata at walang pinoproblema. 😂

$ 0.00
1 year ago