Donating Blood at Red Cross for the 2nd Time

37 52
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Blood donation

One of my goals this year is to donate blood to the Philippine Red Cross and I finally achieved it before the year ends.

I wrote it as a goal because I consider it as a heroic deed or humanitarian act. It's something that I can do for others who might be in a critical condition that needs blood and to save a life. It's also my simple way of helping myself since donating blood has its own benefits. It includes free health checkups and pathology tests since before the blood donation, there is a medical check-up first to know if I'm a healthy donor. It also reduces the risk of heart and liver diseases, lowers the risk of getting cancer, develops new blood cells, maintains your body weight, lowers cholesterol levels, and improves your mental well-being.

My first time to donate blood was already almost 2 years ago, last January 08, 2020. I donated blood before as part of my community service, which is a requirement for my Academic Scholarship at that time.

Before that, I actually first visited the Philippine Red Cross- Ilocos Norte Laoag Chapter around December of 2019 to be a part of the bloodletting activity conducted by the Local Youth Development Office of our province but I was not allowed to donate blood at that time because of having low hemoglobin. And I suspect it was because I slept too late or due to my monthly period.

My first-time experience of donating blood last year made me want to donate blood again and do this every year as a commitment to myself and for others. But when the pandemic came and the year 2021 was quite a challenging year for me, I thought it would be impossible to donate blood again this year.

But last December 23, 2021, one of the leaders of our organization sent a link to a Facebook post about a bloodletting activity in partnership with the Philippine Red Cross to celebrate National Volunteerism Month. And after reading it, I immediately sent my details to confirm my participation.

And yesterday, December 29, 2021, when I went to the city, I took the chance to donate blood again and fulfill my goal so I went to the venue after doing some of the things I needed to do in the city.

When I got there, I filled up the blood donor interview sheet and honestly answered all of the questions in the form. There were more than 20 donors yesterday and when it was my time to be interviewed by the medical staff there, I just had to answer all of the questions again, and she asked for my temperature and weight, and she checked my pulse, blood pressure, and blood count using aย pathology test.

And when it was already my time to donate blood, I just had to lie down on the chair and rest my arm as the medical staff is doing something on my arm to find the nerve or whatever it is where she will inject the huge needle where the blood will flow out of my body. When she was done with it, she told me to take a deep breath as she inserted the needle and it didn't hurt that much. It was only like a huge dinosaur was biting me. Lols!

I had to squeeze the ball every 5 seconds or whenever I had the energy to do it so that the blood will continue to flow out of my arm. And when the blood bag was already full, the medical staff then removed the needle in my arm.

After that, I just had to rest for about 5 minutes, which was supposed to be about 30 minutes or even up to 1 hour. And after standing for only 5 to 10 minutes, blood started to come out of my arm and I almost passed out but it's a good thing that I was still at the venue and the people there assisted me until I already gained my energy back.

Donating blood is really risky so you should be extra careful and don't move too much after the procedure or you will totally pass out.

If you are also interested to donate blood, you must:

  • Donors aged 18-60 years old

  • Acceptable weight: 50 Kg

  • Acceptable blood pressure: 90/60 up to 140/90

  • Acceptable heart rate: 60-100 bpm

  • Acceptable after 1 year of conduct: (Tattoo, Undergo surgical procedure, Travel abroad)

  • Must have 6-8 hours of sleep.

  • No intake of alcoholic beverages in the past 12-24 hours.

  • No cigarette was smoked for the past 4 hours prior to donation.

Cheers to donating blood to save a life!

12
$ 3.40
$ 2.75 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.50 from @JustMyRambles01
$ 0.03 from @Eybyoung
+ 6
Avatar for Eirolfeam2
2 years ago
Topics: Blood donation

Comments

Sound good keep it up dear ..always help people and keep praying...soon there will be an exchange of your good deeds

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I also wanna donate blood but I'm afraid of detecting any medical issue

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. I think it's better to know if you have medical issues tho.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah!! I know but I'm afraid too

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I have never experience donating blood but if possible I can donate to those people need

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Aahhh that's great to think about needy

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes....being part of the globe we should help each other and maintain the good relationship with others ..we can do that by helping them

$ 0.00
2 years ago

An example in humanity. I haven't donated blood in a long time. But seeing your post I will follow the steps to donate blood.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

That true...friend...hope all of the people are the same

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yeah, you should try. ๐Ÿ˜น

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes I will do it when I have spare time to come the PMI (Indonesia Cross red)

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Congratulations on your blood donation. My Dad used to donate blood. He got cancer and I remember visiting him in the ICU and seeing the blood going into him after his surgery. I donated twice as much blood as the blood that was given to my Father over the years, the only reason I stopped was because of an iron deficiency which has now been corrected. People like you are so special, you save innocent people and I can tell you as a family member, thank you from the bottom of my heart.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Thank you for sharing your story. Now I'm more inspired to donate blood. Ehe!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I donated blood too last november, my friend badly needs as she is about to give birth.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. That's nice of you po.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

As if we should donate blood, it helps others

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah. ๐Ÿ˜น

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Di ko pa na try mag donate ng blood sis. I salute you for doing it sis. Sa pag-donate mo, May maisalba kang buhay

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Try mo din po kung kaya. Ehe! ๐Ÿ˜น

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Galing, ako kahit kailan di pa ako naka donate blood 90/80 lang kasi lagi bp ko kulang pa sakin dugo ko ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Baka after mo magdonate nyan eh ikaw naman sasalinan ng dugo. ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's a heroic act indeed sis. Haven't donated blood ever since kasi super payat ko noon. Also, takot din ako.hihi Pero now pag may mangangailangan at qualified ako for donation, I will do it.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yay. May minimum weight din po kasi talaga na need bago makapag-donate. Haha! ๐Ÿ˜น

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thanks for sharing your experience of blood donation, It is nice to know what is the benefits of it. In this simple way we help lives.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah, it's a good deed. ๐Ÿ˜น

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would like to donate blood, this helps others

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This is very beautiful

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would love to donate but I don't sleep up to six hours daily. What do you mean by the acceptable weight?

$ 0.02
2 years ago

It's the minimum weight you should have to quality as a donor.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That's really a heroic act but I don't have tried it yet.Maganda rin yan opportunity to help others.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Try mo din po. Ehe! ๐Ÿ˜น

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Nagtry ako before magdonate ero di ako naqualify, mbaba daw hemoglobin ko..

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Ganyan din po ako dati nung una kong mag-try. Pero nung 2nd try na, okay na. ๐Ÿ˜น

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Subukan ko nga ulit magdonate..

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Salute to you sis. Takot kasi ako ra injection kaya hindi ako nag dodonate.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Aww. Masakit nga siya. Parang kagat ng dinosaur. ๐Ÿ˜‚

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Akala ko langgam sis ahhaha

$ 0.00
2 years ago