How I like my Beans

5 28
Avatar for Ebony
Written by
1 year ago

The scientific name of common beans is phaseolus vulgaris L, it is a leguminous crop which also makes it member of legume family. Beans are classified into a division Magnoliophyta, class Magnoliopsida, order Rosales, family Leguminosea. Common beans can also be referred to as french beans. Is a herbaceous annual plant grown worldwide for it's edible dry seed and unripe fruit or green seed.Rich in protein and providing moderate amounts of iron, thiamin, and riboflavin, beans are used worldwide for cooking in either fresh or dried form.

Most varieties of bean grow either as an erect bush or as a climbing plant, but a few important kinds are of intermediate form. Dwarf and semiclimbers are grown extensively. When the climbing type is grown for its immature seedpods, artificial supports are necessary to facilitate harvesting. Varieties differ greatly in size, shape, colour, and fibrousness or tenderness of the immature pods. In general, varieties grown for dry mature seeds produce pods that are too fibrous to be eaten at any state of development. Most edible-podded beans produce relatively low yields of mature seeds or have seeds that are of low eating quality.

Seed colours range from white through green, yellow, tan, pink, red, brown, and purple to black in solid colours and countless contrasting patterns. Seed shapes range from nearly spherical to flattened, elongated, and kidney-shaped. Pods are of various shades of green, yellow, red, and purple and splashed with red or purple; pod shapes range from flat to round, smooth to irregular, and straight to sharply curved; length ranges from 75 to 200 mm (3 to 8 inches) or more.As with other legumes, beans have a symbiotic association with nitrogen-fixing bacteria and can be rotated with nitrogen-intensive crops such as cereals to improve soil conditions

Beans is one of the favourite meal among all classes of people, most especially in Nigeria but the way each class have their beans being made is quite different. Beans can use used for different meal, it can be used as beans flour, it can be cooked with rice, it can be used as beans pastry, it can be used for beans cake and so on and so forth. I love my beans when cooked as porridge,it so easy to cook. what I do is wash my beans and pour it into already boiling water, once it changes colour to darkish brown, I then parboil it, then I add my onions and a bit of salt and I will continually add water bit by bit till I get the required porridge beans I wanted.

I will then fry my plantain and make sauce with different protein like ponmo, fried chicken, fish, shrimps, crayfish and I make sure my soft bread is ready. Then I rush into the bathroom to have my cool bath, change into something lighter and homely, I then moved then into the kitchen to have my meal dished, went back to the sitting room, sit on the floor and turn on Netflix and watch a good movie while I solve the equation before me, and I will like to have a bottle water and a chilled juice beside me, I will also appreciate if the ventilation in my sitting room at that time is super intact, my air-condition is turned on, my fan is working, and my door is shut so that no one disturb me. after my meal I will still like to take my bath and chill abit. isn't that awesome ?

Thanks for reading.

5
$ 0.00
Avatar for Ebony
Written by
1 year ago

Comments

I have never encountered a person who knows beans inside and out👏👏👏 Even your title made me curious!! haha Good on you!😁

$ 0.00
1 year ago

This is why I planted a lot of beans in our back yard hehe because it is delicious and nutritious..

$ 0.00
1 year ago

Oh really ! You do ?

$ 0.00
1 year ago

I can trade anything off for beans. It is my favorite any time any day. I like it prepared porridge but instead of plantain I prefer sweet potatoes in it.

$ 0.00
1 year ago

It is going to be too sweet with sweet potato, I rather prefer the sweet potato fried instead

$ 0.00
1 year ago