Learn a new language

14 56
Avatar for Dolores
3 years ago

For this article, I am going to teach some Ilocano (our language in our region) and Filipino (our official and national language) words to you. I will also provide some examples to make it clearer for you.

It is good to learn about this words if ever you want to visit our country, which is the Philippines, soon.

I live in Vigan and if you want to go here also, I just want to share with you some of the Ilocano words we usually say here.

I am not an expert in language and the translations I will provide are purely based on what I know. If you see a mistake, let me know about it so that I can correct it in the soonest time.

So, let's start!

First on the list is I love You.

In Filipino, it is translated as 'Mahal Kita.'

For example, Mahal kita Maria.

In Ilocano, it is translated as:

'Ay-ayaten ka.'

If you want to say 'I love you so much' in Ilocano, you can say 'Ay-ayaten ka unay.'

Next is, Good Morning, Good Afternoon, and Good Evening.

In Filipino, it is proper to say 'Magandang Umaga' if it is in the morning.

'Magandang Tanghali' if it is in the afternoon.

'Magandang Gabi' if it is in the evening.

In Ilocano, you can say:

'Naimbag nga bigat' in the morning.

'Naimbag nga aldaw' in the afternoon.

'Naimbag nga rabii' in the evening.

If you are in the road and you want to mannually hire a taxi or any transportation vehicles on the road, you can say 'Para!'

Next is, 'How Much.'

It can be used to ask for the price of a certain thing.

If you want to say it in Filipino, you can simply say 'Magkano?'

In Ilocano, you can say 'Sagmamano?'

Let's proceed to 'I'm Sorry'

In Filipino and Ilocano, you can say 'Pasensya.'

For example, 'Pasensya ka na, hindi ko sinasadya.'

In english, it means 'I am sorry, I did not mean it.'

Next is, 'Thank you. '

In Filipino, you can say 'Salamat.'

In Ilocano, you can say 'Agyamannak'

Next is, 'Yes and No'

In Filipino, Yes means Oo while No means 'Hindi.'

In Ilocano, Yes means 'Wen' while No means 'Saan.'

If you want to ask for the name of a certain place or the name of a certain thing, the following translations may help you.

In Filipino, you can say 'Anong pangalan ng lugar na ito?' if you are asking the name of a place.

You can also say 'Ano ang pangalan ng pagkain' na ito' or 'Ano ang pangalan ng bagay na ito?' if you are asking for the name of the food or the name of the thing.

Ano means What

Ang means The

Pangalan means Name

Ng (it is pronounced as nang and sounds like sang) means Of

Bagay means a Thing

Lugar means Place

Pagkain means Food

In Ilocano, you can say 'Aniya ti nagan na daytoy nga lugar?' if you are asking the name of a place.

You can also say 'Aniya ti nagan na daytoy nga makan' or 'Aniya ti nagan na daytoy nga bagay?' if you are asking for the name of the food or the name of the thing.

Aniya means What

Ti means The

Nagan means Name

Daytoy means This

Bagay means a Thing

Lugar means Place

Makan means Food

That's all for now.

You can ask some English words to translate in Filipino and Ilocano if you want. Just write it down below.

You can learn this words if you want, but if ever you want to go here in the Philippines and you don't know any Filipino language, don't worry because the people can understand you. The reason is that, English is one of our official language.

If you found this article helpful and interesting, thank you so much. I may also write a Part II for it in my next articles.

Thanks for reading!

Sponsors of Dolores
empty
empty
empty

Thanks to @Ashma for his words of encouragement.

Our growing community is open for you. So, if you want to join. Feel free to visit the community.

For more information, you can click this linkย https://read.cash/c/get-sponsored-2a0b

You can join if you want toย "Get Sponsored !!"

7
$ 0.01
$ 0.01 from @Her-bert
Sponsors of Dolores
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for Dolores
3 years ago

Comments

My father is Ilocano but I am not good in speaking Ilocano. All I know is Awan ti Kwarta haha. I want to learned Ilocano but when I heard the way they speak I am having ahard time haha.

I heard an Ilocano word but I dont know if its correct. Anyamutan? Its their expression hehe.

Also naimas. Mangan ta. And the word ngarud at the end of their sentences hehe

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Narigat talaga agsapul iti kwarta. Hahaha

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I didnt undertand it haha.

$ 0.00
User's avatar Yen
3 years ago

Thank you for appreciating this kind of post. I am inspired to make more articles like this๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This is great. May dugo akong ilocano pero di ako marunong magsalita ng languange nila hahaha. Laking tulong nito

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am glad na nagustuhan mo ito. Agyammanak๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Agyamannak for teaching us some Ilocano words. I even bookmarked it for future reference ๐Ÿ˜Š Before, the only Ilokano word I know is 'Ading' which means younger sister (If I'm not mistaken ๐Ÿ˜…) Now a new one is added on my vocabulary ๐Ÿ˜

I love learning different dialects and languages. I'm thinking about learning Bisaya or Ilokano once I'm done with the current language I'm studying hehe. So thanks much for sharing this 'tutorial' ๐Ÿ˜Š

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I am glad that you find it useful. 'Ading' also means younger brother.

You can say 'Manong' to older brother and 'Manang' to older sister.

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Thank you for appreciating this kind of post. I am inspired to make more articles like this. Carry on

$ 0.00
3 years ago

This article is worth sharing๐Ÿ˜Š It is very useful and informative. Make a part 2 please๐Ÿ˜™

$ 0.00
3 years ago

What is your IG handle ๐ŸŒŸ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜

$ 0.00
3 years ago

I don't have IG๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
3 years ago

Mahal kita๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿค—๐Ÿค—

$ 0.00
3 years ago