The Evil Eye.

20 63
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

Remembered the story I wrote two days ago about a terrible dream I had? I have had recurring dreams since then and prior to then. I soon realised it wasn't something that could be treated medically after knowing that I was been haunted by djinns. It happens you know, most especially in the northern part of Nigeria. You can call them evil spirit if you want, but whatever they may be, they didn't allow me any respite for the past week. This affected my productivity in my day to day activities a lot and I almost questioned my own sanity.

I have a very strong presence of mind. Despite the belief that women get easily freaked out, I don't. I don't get easily scared by things like that and my family know that. When they saw that I screamed in my dreams and murmured some inaudible things in trances, they knew something was amiss.

In Islam, when a person is afflicted with the Evil Eye(a belief that when a person who's envious of you can send djinns to haunt you), they are some medicines that's been prepared. Among those are the ruqyah(a series of recitations from the verses of the Quran and prophetic traditions), rubutu( blacked ink washed off from slates), incense and olive oil. All these come with prescriptions just like normal medications. In dealing with such problems, the first thing that's solved is knowing why the djinn chose to possess you. Some give really ridiculous reasons and then they are cast out. The exorcism sometimes isn't easy as it may go on for years. In the state of exorcism, the possessed one is hypnotised and remains in a trance until they are cast our or imprisoned within the victim's body. Luckily for me, mine was cast out for good yesterday as it hadn't taken complete control over me and because maybe I have been very prayerful about it. They didn't tell me anything about what happened when I was hypnotised as that's the normal tradition. Do not tell them! Sometimes the two parties go as far as engaging in a fight where the exorcists always win.

The evil eye can take different forms that might, at first look like a medical ailment. You see a person complaining of severe chest pains that could suggest a heart or lung problem but when a Catscan or X-ray is taken, you see they are just fine. Even when extensive tests are taken, you see that everything is within the normal range of a healthy individual. What then do doctors do? They can't do anything. Sometimes when the evil eye expresses itself in a physical form, like a terrible swelling in the leg or arm, medications that could have worked had it been a normal medical situation lose their efficacy.

I know, a lot of people do not believe in these kinda stuff and label them superstitions, especially the western people, but then if you look closely you'd see that these problems are more common in Africa. I have heard about it from the west. The way the occurrences happen here leaves you no option than to believe that these forces are real. There was a friend of mine that was possessed, in the process she lifted to bunk beds, one in each hand, collided them together leaving then completely disoriented. This is a girl who normally has difficultly in even carrying a small bucket of water from the tap area to the hostel. So... One just has to believe. There are many more instances I can site.

How did I draw the Evil Eye upon myself?

I really do not know. From what I was taught, one can prevent them by praying constantly. I have always done that. Although there are tons of people who don't pray but they haven't been attacked by djinns. I think it's not just about praying, true, prayer can ward them off but despite these prayers, it might serve as a test for you.

Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty

I don't wanna sound too religious or spiritual, but seriously my belief in the existence of supernatural beings has being reinforced. I sometimes have wavering doubts about those entities, sometimes even about God, despite having seen some really scary stuff. Now.... well I don't really know what to say. I need time to process my thoughts and feelings. I guess I just need to rest.

Thanks for reading guys.

Yours Layly,

❤❤❤❤❤❤

13
$ 4.80
$ 4.28 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @Jane
$ 0.05 from @Olasquare
+ 13
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

Comments

I am a doctor but I put this aside when it comes to God. He has been my guide throughout my existence. He also did not leave aside the bad minds of some people who, wishing for evil, manage to harm and make a person sick. constant prayer and faith is what has freed me from so many evils in life. The presence of God in my life has allowed me to make better diagnoses for my patients. I hope you manage to get out of yourself all the evil that they throw at you.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks ma'am. Indeed evil is very muvh out there. There're does to whom our very existence are a threat to. May God keep being with us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Two of my lady coworkers before have their third eye the strongest when they are pregnant.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Wow that's new information!

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Actually I do believe in this kind of things as I once suffered from the exact situation maybe my case was more fatal. But by the grace of Almighty I'm totally alright now, doing good and living my blessed life. Don't worry as you said you regularly do your prayers. Keep faith on Almighty, no one and nothing can harm you not matter how much they try. Be strong and brave.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

By God's grace. Thank you very much Nightbired. May God continue to protect us.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

This made me scared of the evil eye. Anywyas, it's glad to see you again. It's been a while.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yeah. Thank Sequoia I am much better now. Remain steadfast in God.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Layla, I'm glad to see you again. I'm sad about what happened to you, my friend. Thank God you are better now. Take care dear. The evil eye can sometimes do bad harm to us and those around us.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thank you very much Ellen-he. Layla is vey much better now. Love❤❤

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I only believe in the evil eye among what I see as superstitions.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Yes. Many superstitious beliefs are attributed to evil spirits, but still there're some real life situations where you can't rule out their possibility, speaking from experience.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Are you dealing with some kind of problems? You can share.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Well yes. Thanks Luci I am much better now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

That kind of stuff is quite familiar here in my country. Old people believe they exist and they can really possess people. Honestly I had witnessed that kind of scene to my very own niece, she was been possess many times as an evil was trying to take her. It's quite unbelievable i know but it's true, I saw it through my very own eyes. My niece even turned into a scary witch that even her own voice change.

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Exactly! It's sometimes marked by a recognisable change in voice. Hope she's much better now?

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I'm scared to see The Evil Eye.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me too.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

So sorry about your plights... We pray we never encounter such again. It could be a very unpleasant scenario

$ 0.02
2 years ago

Thanks very much Bilqees. I am much better now.

$ 0.00
2 years ago