Of herbs.

21 41
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

The way the day started off for me is quite unusual: My uncle giving me an unexpected call telling me he wanted me to get some herbs for my sister and cousin who happened to have fallen sick at the same time and are now living with him. He's an old man, the traditional kind. To him, no matter the advancement of orthodox medicine in the future, it can never wipe away the great significance of traditional drugs. I agree with him on this one although I kinda have a problem with him when he opts for traditional drugs when the sickness could be easily cured with some tablets.

Okay so, he called me this morning about getting some herbs which include Neem leaves, mango leaves and lemon grass. These herbs can be found near a construction site in our area so I set out after doing some chores and got to the site after a short while. They've got guards there who look over the whole place, I sought their permission and set to work. I had difficulty procuring mango leaves because of how tall the tree had grown and there were no drooping leaves which I could pluck. With their help I finally succeeded in getting all the required leaves and I set off home, then transported myself to his house.

He would tell me to put each type of leaf in seperate bags. I have no time to waste so I joined them all! ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

These took me quite some time to acquire. The trees are so dusty, so were the leaves. I thank God that I hadn't taken my bath before the call otherwise I would have to postpone it or riun my afterbath sparkle. I looked so dusty after the whole thing.

Normally, this is something a guy should do but ever since I went voluntarily with my brothers to one of the herbs hunting spree, I plucked better looking leaves than them. I was praised of course and my ego was massaged. I was still a little girl at that time. Ever since then it became my task. ๐Ÿ˜‚๐Ÿ˜‚

This is how he prepares it:

-He washes the leaves in a big bowl, making sure that the dusts and sands are off. He puts them in a big pot, depending on the volume he wants to cook.

-He then washes moringa leaves bought from the market(we don't have the trees around otherwise I am sure I would be the one to pluck them), mixing it with the Neem, mango and lemon grass leaves in the pot.

-Water is then applied adequately and this is then cooked on the stove or gas.

-After about thirty to forty minutes, when the leaves extracts have all boiled out and is well cooked, the pot is brought down and the mixture is left to cool.

There you go!

Do you know that I dislike the medicine despite being the one to pluck the leaves? It has a taste which is a mixture of bitter, sour and a kind of lingering taste that I have no words for, note that "sweet" is not part of it lol.

Whenever he succeeded in cajoling me into taking it I gulp it all at once to avoid savouring the taste. I am quite sure it has a lot of health benefits because of the leaves involved. Moringa on its own is something else.

What do you think about herbal medicines? In Nigeria, they have recognition not only within the locals but also in our hospitals. In our teaching hospital, there's even a department for herbal medicine where you find herbal medical prsctituonals . This is to acknowledge that sometimes herbal medicines can succeed where allopathic medicine fails. Indeed! God never creates an illness except that he creates the cure of that illness first. It is up to us to discover it.

*******************************

Today is world water day!

Celebrating the importance of water in our lives.

_#worldwaterday_

*Tips on drinking water. *

๐Ÿ’งCarry a water bottle with you and refill it throughout the day.

๐Ÿ’งFreeze some freezer safe water bottles. ...

๐Ÿ’งChoose water over sugary drinks.

๐Ÿ’งOpt for water when eating out. ...

๐Ÿ’งServe water during meals.

๐Ÿ’งAdd a wedge of lime or lemon to your water. ...

๐Ÿ’งMake sure your kids are getting enough water too.

_Please rebroadcast to your respective MSAs, WhatsApp statuses, group chats_ e.t.c

Thank you๐Ÿงก

SCOPH-BUMSA.

Yours Layly,

๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’›๐Ÿ’›

14
$ 3.15
$ 2.81 from @TheRandomRewarder
$ 0.05 from @ARTicLEE
$ 0.05 from @Bilqees
+ 10
Sponsors of DocLayla
empty
empty
empty
Avatar for DocLayla
2 years ago

Comments

Natural medicines are widely practiced here as well but the younger generations are lazy to do the preparation and all lol! Also, resources are not that abundant anymore so resorting to drugs is the option.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Aww... I pray it doesn't get totally forgotten or wiped out. It's for our own benefit.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I would prefer traditional medicine to orthodox medicine because they are very effective. Though the herb is bitter, what do you expect? Lol, itยดs still has its own usefulness and cures all ailment immediately you take some of it.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Me too. There are situations when I will opt for herbs. Lots of side effects for orthodox medicine.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Reminds me of my mom and my grandma. The herbs may be the best medicine. They are cheap and all-natural and most of all efffective.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly. Another cool thing about hem is that one herb can cure lots of disease.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Thank you for this, reminds us about our water consumption and of course the magical properties of herbs.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

You're very welcome ma'am.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Very informative. Infact here they use more of leaves and roots to cure illness. Study of Ayurveda is quite famous here

$ 0.01
2 years ago

India right? That's cool.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Yes.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I am not particularly a fan of herbal medicine. Or drugs in general, I am usually forced to take them. I prefer injections, as I believe they are more efficient. On problem with traditional medicine is dosage. If we can get that right, more people will switch to it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

Exactly. Just like Talon said, if we standardise it its potential would increase m

$ 0.00
2 years ago

I think I agree with him too. Traditional medicine has such great potential,,only if we would just go a bit further and try to standardize it. It might even phase out orthodox drugs in this part of the world

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I agree with your point Talon. It's high time we gave it more attention.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Hehehehehe... Nothing can ever take the place of Traditional healing in the hearts of our elderly folks.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

I tell you. Nothing!! ๐Ÿ˜…๐Ÿ˜…

$ 0.00
2 years ago

Dear Layla, I really enjoyed reading how you collected the leaves. It is very good that herbal medicines are valid in your country and are even used in hospitals. I myself have always been a fan of herbal medicines. And as you said, God left us a cure in nature before He created a disease.

$ 0.01
2 years ago

It would be great if otje countries adopted the same thing. It's all about getting well regardless of the means.

$ 0.00
2 years ago

We still practicing some herbs as medicine, my partner boiled guyabano leaves and drink it

$ 0.01
2 years ago

They are timeless. Always be in use no matter what.

$ 0.00
2 years ago